Unsettling security issues
14/05/2018 NJFabFour, Lawrenceville, New Jersey
We chose to stay at this hotel for one night during a visit to OH for a family event. It's location is very convenient to I-70, it's a short distance from Columbus. Our check-in was rather unnerving... more
We chose to stay at this hotel for one night during a visit to OH for a family event. It's location is very convenient to I-70, it's a short distance from Columbus. Our check-in was rather unnerving, however. First, the front-desk clerk was very abrubt and adamant that I provide a license plate number. She stood steadfastly in defense, pointed to a sign on the wall and on the guest slip and said, "It's policy. I can not give you keys until you give me that number!" I explained that I was not opposed to providing the number but I'd have to go outside to get it and I had my hands full, my husband had just parked and was bringing in several large bags, and that no other hotel had ever asked us to provide this. But more unsettling was the fact that a local police officer approached our car in his cruiser and watched my husband unload. When my husband asked if there was any issue, he simply replied, "Just making sure everything is safe." This experience combined with the long list of safety precautions posted on the door made us extremely uneasy about staying at this location. We frequently stay in large cities such as Boston, DC, Philadelphia and others and have never experienced these concerns with security. We also found it odd that there was no elevator and found the breakfast area to be extremely small and overcrowded. less
revmgrdesiree, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review
I'm sorry that you had concerns during your stay. Although it is standard procedure to get the car license number we've spoken to the agent to ensure that we can assist you in getting the number and am sorry that it came across the way it did. Regarding the police cruise, I can understand how that may have made you have concerns about safety but their station is about a mile away and they pass by every couple of hours on there way too and from their station. With just 2 floors and our ability to provide accessible rooms on the ground floor we do not have an elevator but do allow guests to choose ground floor or 2nd floor when they book for their preference. We do hope you will give try us again in the future.