Overcharged & no free wifi
09/10/2017 Kristinereview, Brisbane, Australia
Based on the excellent reviews and photos showing great looking rooms I decided to book a room at this hotel for the weekend. The reviews were right the room was large, comfortable and very clean. I a... more
Based on the excellent reviews and photos showing great looking rooms I decided to book a room at this hotel for the weekend. The reviews were right the room was large, comfortable and very clean. I also appreciated the late check in. I expected to have to use a night box but instead there was someone there to welcome me and provide a rundown of how to access my room and where to find everything. But that’s were my positive comments stop.
I made my booking on September 26 and as I had found a cheaper price on booking.com, admittedly by only $1. I rang the hotel as per their advertised guarantee to beat any cheaper price by 5%. The lady who took my call denied any knowledge of the price guarantee and became quite rude when I mentioned that it was advertised on both their website and Facebook page.
I had some screen captures that I offered to email her but the lady was quite adamant that the price provided on their online booking system was their best price. I ended up agreeing to pay their online price. I also queried their cancellation policy and the lady again became hostile asking if I was thinking of cancelling, I told her no, I only wanted to know just in case.
I asked for a confirmation email but was told there was no need and my booking was guaranteed. On checkout I was then charged $8 more than what was agreed. When I queried this I was rudely told that the price being charged was their best price. As I did not have an email I couldn’t disprove her, lesson learnt.
Also on the first night there were no car parks available and I was required to park in the driveway. Would I stay here again? Perhaps but only if I got an email locking in the price, it’s not about the money it’s about the principal. You can’t advertise one thing and do another – It’s against the law. less
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kimba Lodge Motel, responded to this review
I am very sorry to read this review. I do feel that we kept to the quote as made to you when you booked and our reservation system should ensure that the tariffs are the same in all channels, although they will fluctuate up and down with demand. We did offer you a refund purely out of goodwill and I am sorry you did not mention that in your review. I would also like to point out that our WiFi is fast and 100% free of charge.