I booked this hotel for my family at around 12am on a Saturday night, the 22nd of September. I thought that I had booked it for Sunday, the 23rd, the next morning, with checkout being Monday morning. I didn't realize my mistake until we were about to leave the following morning. When I called the hotel to discuss the mistake and see what could be done about it, one of your representatives had me believe that she could discount the stay from the previous night, and discount the stay for that night when we would actually be staying, and that it would even out to the original price of around 200 altogether. So my family gathered our things, and went to the Best Western. Upon arriving there, the lady at the front desk told us to sign the form which showed how much we were going to be charged for the previous night, and said, "don't worry, obviously it's not going too be as much as it says there." So we signed. It wasn't until after we signed and went up to our room that she called and told me essentially that they were NOT going to discount the charge from the previous night, and that the most they could discount this night would be from 160 or so to 135. No matter how I tried to reason with them that it was a mistake, and that we were here the following day, they wouldn't budge. My brother had had a similar experience with the Stayridge hotel only a month before, and they simply moved his date. They were very good at accommodating their customer and doing what they could to help his situation. Meanwhile, your hotel did nothing but give me false information, telling me that they would most likely be able to discount it wildly so that we wouldn't pay much more than were originally charged. It was under this pretense that my family bothered to pack up all of our things and drive the hour and a half to your hotel. Had we known we were going to be charged the full 200 for the previous night, plus 135 for the night we were actually going to stay, we would have saved ourselves the trip. I feel that the Best Western we stayed at was extremely unreasonable, and had they wanted to, they could've accommodated us somehow. It isn't as if we chose to cancel and wanted our money back. We were still going to stay, and the very next day at that. We booked the hotel so late, that I doubt anyone would've wanted the room we had, therefore I don't think we took up unnecessary space. Even if that had been the case, the hotel parking lot was almost empty when we showed up on Sunday, so once again, we wouldn't have taken up space that other customers would've needed to occupy. Somehow, I'm sure that if they wanted to give us great customer service and help us out, they could've managed it. Instead, 200 dollars went down the drain, we wasted a trip to your hotel, and my mother's birthday plans were cancelled. This was a horrible experience, made worse by the fact that I feel your representative, Dana, tried to trick us into coming out there so this establishment could charge us, not only the 200 for the original date, but an additional 135 for the night in question. At no point did she try to call me back or contact me in any way to let me know that her original estimate was wrong, or to inform me of how much we would actually be charged. It wasn't until we had actually arrived there, signed the fee form, and checked in that they decided to inform us of this. I really feel that she tried her best to scam another 135 out of my family. I am very disappointed in the inflexibility of your establishment and the sheer dishonesty, false promises, and lack of communication on the part of your representatives. Because of this experience and the horrible customer service we received, no one in my family will stay at a Best Western again. I think that it's a shame, because if things had gone differently and we had received the customer service that I believe we should had, my review would've been the opposite and the relationship each person in my family would have had with Best Western would've been a positive one. I would've been much more encouraged to continue as a loyal customer, yet with the way I was treated, I doubt I will ever do business with Best Western again, unless this situation is somehow remedied. It was truly a disgusting experience for me. I will definitely be leaving a 0 star on the review sites that I can, with my experience attached, as a warning for other people to avoid the terrible customer service at this establishment. less
Steven K, General Manager at Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites, responded to this review
We do appreciate your review and the perspective on the situation with your non cancelled reservation. I do want to apologize for any misunderstanding, however, our Hotel does enforce its’ cancellation policy strictly as every business that holds reservations for a product or service should. With that said, we will always be honest and communicate our policies through various mediums and channels of information to our guests. I truly wished this didn’t occur as we certainly don’t like our guests to be unhappy. We did not know there was going to be a no show on a credit card guaranteed reservation and yes we were full the night of your reservation. At the same time, we always try to make it right and make our customers happy. Best of Wishes to you and I hope to gain your business in the future. If possible, we can be in contact again to discuss moving forward. Thank you graciously!