• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western John Day Inn

AAA - 2 Diamond

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

At our John Day hotel, we welcome outdoor lovers from around the world in town for hunting season or to visit the stunning Painted Hills.

The John Day Fossil Beds are a short drive away and a family-friendly activity everyone will enjoy. The Grant County Fairgrounds are also nearby, and there are exciting events happening year-round, whether its amusement park rides or epic rodeos. Were the only branded hotel in John Day, and we take hospitality and your comfort seriously.

Were also the closest hotel to the Fossil Beds and are a clean, well maintained property. Many repeat guests say that our John Day hotel is the best in town. Whether its the 62 Days Celebration, the Kam Wah Chung Museum or hiking on the Painted Hills that brings you to this part of Oregon, staying in a cool guest room can make your stay even better. Theres plenty to explore, including water recreation at the nearby river.

Located on Highway 26 and 395, our location cant be beat. Motorcycle tours and the BMW Rally pass through town, and were happy to accommodate groups and bikers. The area is one of the stops on the Gun Show SolWest Fair, and the Truck and Tractor Pull of America by Bicycle is a beloved local event. If you really want to get away from it all and soak up the natural beauty of the region, staying at our John Day hotel ensures youre always comfortable while doing so.

Of course, if youre lucky enough to be here on business, our John Day hotel also caters to out of towners here for work. Civil servants with the Forest Service especially enjoy the homey atmosphere of our property. Workers with the Oregon Department of Transportation also frequently stay with us. When traveling for business, you need peace, quiet and updated amenities. Once youve punched out, its the perfect time to kick back and enjoy some leisure activities, like the high school rodeo.

Book your next stay at Best Western John Day Inn today and prepare for a relaxing getaway.

View more

Location

315 W Main Street
John Day
Oregon
97845-1028
United States
AAA - 2 Diamond

Summary

Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00:00 | 11:00:00

Facilities

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type 97845-1028

Send to Tom Tom

Address
315 W Main Street
John Day
Oregon
97845-1028
United States


What's nearby?

Recreation

  • 0.50 mile(s) from Canyon City

  • 6.00 mile(s) from Mt. Vernon

  • 6.00 mile(s) from Prarie City

  • 25.00 mile(s) from Seneca

  • 40.00 mile(s) from Long Creek

  • 60.00 mile(s) from Sumpter

  • 60.00 mile(s) from Burns

  • 60.00 mile(s) from Hines

  • 80.00 mile(s) from Baker City

  • 80.00 mile(s) from Fossil

  • 100 mile(s) from Condon

  • 110 mile(s) from Pendleton

  • 120 mile(s) from La Grande

  • 120 mile(s) from Prineville

  • 140 mile(s) from Redmond

  • 160 mile(s) from Bend




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 331 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 125
Rating: 4 140
Rating: 3 45
Rating: 2 14
Rating: 1 7
Rating

Near the Fossil Beds

12/05/2018 retiredfilly, Boise, Idaho

Good location, good breakfast. Very comfortable beds. Near the John Day Fossil Bed sites. Several good places to eat nearby. Motel staff called to make reservations at one local spot. Stayed there a ... more

Owner Response
Deborah H, General Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for writing your review. We are glad to hear everything was good during your stay and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time your in John Day.
Rating

Nice place

12/05/2018 bbendocchi, Spokane, Washington

Seemed understaffed. Checkout was slow, had to wait for someone to come back to the desk for quite a while. I was not offered bonus points or a goodie bag even though I'm a diamond member. I also was ... more

Owner Response
Deborah H, General Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us. I apologize checkout was slow and you were not offered bonus points, snacks, or express checkout. The front desk definitely should have asked you all of these questions. However, I assure you that you did receive the points for your stay. I have brought this to the attention of all our staff in order to prevent a situation like this in the future. I hope you give us another opportunity the next time your in John Day.
Rating

Amazing pet friendly lodging

09/05/2018 O8571LVjonb, Colton, Oregon

Super clean, relatively quiet, decent breakfast and very affordable. Couldn't be happier with our stay. Tammy was very nice and got us into the perfect room. Definitely the best place in John Day to s... more

Owner Response
Deborah H, General Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review
We are grateful for your kind words and are honored by your continued patronage. Thank you for writing your review, as it helps us get even better and helps others make choices. We hope to see you again soon!
Rating

Amazingly CLEAN

08/05/2018 tammy h,

Amazingly SPOTLESS room. We had room 215, a king. Fridge was ON, keurig machine with two of regular coffee, decaf, and green tea. Microwave (low wattage and doesn't pop popcorn very well FYI). Rooms h... more

Owner Response
Deborah H, General Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review
Thanks from all of us here at the Best Western John Day Inn. We try to provide the best for all our guests, and are especially proud to receive such kind words from you about your stay. We hope you choose to stay at our property again. Your posting on line means a lot to those looking to choose a place to stay and means the world to us. Have a safe and happy summer.
Rating

Expensive for small town, but nice place

07/05/2018 HadleyKayley, Hillsboro, Oregon

Rates were high at close to 200.00 a night. But hotel maintained well, beds comfortable, rooms clean, friendly and helpful staff. Accepted pet with a small fee. Our room was either exceptionally clean... more

Owner Response
Deborah H, General Manager at Best Western John Day Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western John Day Inn. We are glad you chose to stay with us and everything was pleasant during your stay. We hope to see you again the next time your in John Day.