Poor start to my holiday.
04/01/2019 Julian S, London, United Kingdom
I have just returned from an 8 day holiday in Naples, Italy, where I stayed in the Best Western JFK hotel on the outskirts of the city. This is my honest, fair and balanced review of the hotel. Wherea... more
I have just returned from an 8 day holiday in Naples, Italy, where I stayed in the Best Western JFK hotel on the outskirts of the city. This is my honest, fair and balanced review of the hotel. Whereas there were a number of redeeming features at the hotel, the rooms were clean, quiet and well appointed and there was a good breakfast, there were other aspects of the hotel that sadly marred the beginning of my holiday.
The name and cover pictures of this hotel suggest a rather glamorous place to stay. In reality the hotel is a long way out of Naples and in a rough part of the city, sandwiched between a gas station and railway tracks. Please see my picture! There is a lot of litter and graffiti in Naples and this area is no exception. There is however a wonderful zoo right opposite the hotel, but strangely the hotel never recommended this jewel right on their doorstep. I therefore assumed it was closed, but thankfully I visited the zoo on my last day and it was the highlight of my holiday in Naples!
When I arrived at the hotel I unpacked my case but later discovered that the TV in my room did not work. As I was staying over Christmas and am a solo traveller, I wanted to watch some TV as the hotel advertises that it has English speaking channels in the rooms. I contacted reception and they tried to fix my TV but were unable to do so. They said that I would have to pack up and change my room which I was reluctant to do because I had already unpacked my suitcase. I felt that it was THEIR responsibility to check the facilities in the rooms before the guests arrive! So for the first 2 nights I was unable to watch TV.
The next more serious problem I encountered was that the thermostat in the room did not control my room temperature. I woke up in the middle of the night sweating as the temperature had climbed to 25C even though I had set the thermostat to about 15C (Please see my picture). I called reception but they had some difficulty speaking English and I did not speak Italian. This happened for the first 3 nights in a row. I had to get dressed in the middle of the night, go down to reception and plead with them to reduce the temperature in my room. The hotel receptionist told me to open my windows to reduce the temperature despite there being no screens on the windows and a busy road outside. They told me that the room temperature was controlled by the reception not by the guests in their room! Weird!
I also discovered a live cockroach on my bed in my room on my 2nd day which I killed and flushed down the the toilet. Whereas I understand that this was a Mediterranean country, I did not expect to see a cockroach in my room.
I asked my booking company to complain on my behalf in view of the poor service that I received at the beginning of my holiday which they did. For compensation the hotel offered me the snacks and fizzy drinks in the minibar (cool cabinet) in my room that I had been using. I had assumed that these were complimentary as there was no notification anywhere to the contrary.
I am therefore not able to recommend this hotel. Please note that I was a guest at the hotel and not an employee or a friend of an employee and this is an independent truthful review. less
JFKHotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western JFK Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback.
I would like to spend some words about what you wrote:
- we are in the business area of the city, well connect to the historic center and the train station by public trasportation. You'd find our location's information in every website where we are. Yes, the city is full of graffiti and it doesn't mean Naples's dirty.
-the tv in your room had a problem with the satellite's channels, it happened at Christmas eve and unfiortunately nobody could come and fix the problem. We offered to change room several time but you refused.
-We checked that the warm air worked in all the rooms you had; youwanted 15° degrees but in this time of the year works only the warm air, no the conditioned air. The air had no problem and it was perfectly working in all our room.
-You never mentioned cockroach in your room, if you'd said, the housekeeper would've come to check the room.
-We gave to you all the support you needed and you decided to stay with us one night extra: we din't allowed financial compensation but we offerered ALL the extra you had, nowhere you'll find they were complementary.
Very warm regards form Naples