Good Basecamp for Lots of Great Trips
We used Bandon/BW as our basecamp for the second half of our coastal roadtrip, accessing areas like Face Rock (5 minutes away), Blacklock and Cape Blanco (25-30 minutes away), and Boardman (90 minutes... more
We used Bandon/BW as our basecamp for the second half of our coastal roadtrip, accessing areas like Face Rock (5 minutes away), Blacklock and Cape Blanco (25-30 minutes away), and Boardman (90 minutes away). We stayed in a king suite - and did use the sofa-bed in the living room. The living room was big enough to reconfigure things in a way where we could keep the sofa-bed open and position sitting chairs in view of the deck/partial ocean view. While it is correct that COVID has reduced a lot of services (esp breakfast), BW did a good job serving folks each day - providing a fair number of choices. All staff and guests seemed to be wearing masks and practicing social distancing. We had a small kitchenette and were able to do some meal preparation (including grocery order/pick-up less than 10 minutes away) - but there was no dishwasher or glasses, and very limited silverware. My only negatives about the room were: (1) the deck sliding door lock was broken and some creative carpentry had been done to make an odd but not obvious new locking system that was sort of funky/loose; (2) when we arrived, there was a towel hanging on the bathroom door that seemed to have been used by the previous guest that wasn't picked up; (3) there was a real fireplace in the room but they only gave you 1 Duraflame log (when I asked for another, I was told - just one, they had no others and couldn't recommend any sources in town where we could buy our own). So - I do understand some of the other/recent reviews (since this was a fairly pricey room given comparisons to other places we stayed that had more to offer), but I think BW did their best given regional limitations. less
John Mackin, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Face Rock, responded to this review
Hello Sarah B, Thank you for your review as we truly appreciate it.
And thank you again for letting us know about the maintenance issue on our door.
I want to apologize for any confusion on on the dishware in the rooms. In a nutshell we don't keep them stocked due to sanitation concerns, but we have solutions if you were to contact the front desk. As for the fireplaces we normally have the specialty logs for sale at the front desk, however our local supplier was not able to keep up with demand and we wiped out all the other local stores. The issue has since been resolved
If you have any more question or concerns please give me a call at the hotel.