Never stay here
02/01/2018 CaliforniaGirl2107, Sacramento, California
When we arrived to check in the power was out, not the hotel's fault and I am not mad about that. The desk clerk allowed us to check into our rooms, so we dropped off our stuff and headed for the boa... more
When we arrived to check in the power was out, not the hotel's fault and I am not mad about that. The desk clerk allowed us to check into our rooms, so we dropped off our stuff and headed for the boardwalk.
We were only staying one night and we got in late so we went straight to bed.
When we used the bathroom the next morning, we noticed there was dried blood on the outside wall of the shower by the toilet, the toilet seat was broken, and that there was only one towel. We were getting ready for our day and packing to check out so I figured I would tell the front desk of our issues when we checked out.
WRONG! The front desk person was nice at first and offered - on her own - a $20 refund for our trouble. Then she called her cleaning crew, who checked out the room and the cleaning crew said the blood was fresh and accused us of making the mess. And then we were told that there was nothing they could do because we should have reported the problem within ONE HOUR of checking in. We told the clerk that the power was out when we checked in so we dropped our stuff off and left. Her reply was "its not our fault the power was out!" We asked for our card back, told her we will never stay in their hotel again and left.
I am upset that the hotel has the policy that any issues need to be reported within ONE HOUR of checking in, but they don't tell anyone that when they check in. A customer's complaint should matter no matter how long their stay has been.
Also, it is VERY rude of the cleaning staff to blame a customer for their lack of doing their job effectively. I wish I would have taken pictures of the room, instead of trusting the management to handle the situation.
Do not stay at this hotel. less
Ana D, General Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this review
I remember the incident and of course we were and we are very sorry for the inconvenience.
You are right at your arrival before 2:00 pm and part of Santa Cruz area had a issue with not power and I checked in you and the rest of your family at the rooms and you access to your room and stay for a little while and I saw both or families in and out of the two rooms it was a small group.
We do not have specific time for our guest to report any incident that happen at the rooms but if our guest find blood in some place at our rooms is so disgusting that I think our guest has to report it immediately , because we check you in early and the issue was addressed at the check out time next day it is not easy for us to fix the problems for that reason we only gave you $20.00 back because it was to late for us to find out about the spot of the blood at the wall , my housekeeper went to the room as you mentioned to the front desk the next morning and she found the blood spot wasn't dry.
We usually provided for a room with one bed 2 towels, 3 hand towel and 3 wash cloths but if our guest need more towels just has to call the front desk and we provide it.
And I have to tell you that the toilet seat was fine. At your check out you only mentioned the incident with the blood at the wall we didn't know until I read your comment today that you had issue with the toilet seat and with our towels.
If our guest report any incident at the rooms we have to check it because we need to find out what of my housekeepers cleaned the room and we have to take a action for fix the problem and prevent similar or different issues to happen again to our futures guest.
Please accept our apologize. Thank you,