Misleading room photos:
To be honest, I was not happy with the fact that I was assigned an old non-renovated room, which was not shown in their website room gallery of my room type.
They gave me a room which faces to the Piazza, which I had requested and appreciate; however, the room was not what I saw in their website ‘Standard Double Bedroom’.
Room - a dark and small room (not like the pictures I saw in their website):
4 nights to stay in this dark, non-renovated, small room - I didn’t want to. So, I asked the reception to change the room. I showed their website where they put all renovated rooms and more spacious rooms photos as ‘Standard Double Room (my booking room type). Then, one of the receptionist advised me these pictures were not really ‘Standard’, but ‘Superior and Family room types’. Well, that means the person in charge of their website put the wrong pictures, which misled me 100%.
Requesting room change:
I explained about my choice of the room type based on these misleading pictures, but what they told me was that I need to pay extra money to change my room.
I did pre-payment for the entire 4 nights, so they wouldn’t return the money anyway even if I wanted to move to another hotel.
Real pictures of <> I stayed:
I include some of the photos of the room I was assigned. A very dark (yes, it is facing to the Piazza but also facing ‘north’, so no sunlight is coming in at all), small for double (even though I was a solo traveller, I found it small), non-renovated room.
Clean, but tired. Please see my pictures. Very narrow path to get to the shower. Taller or bigger people will find it troublesome to sit down on the toilet or to pass through to the shower. Again, it was clean, everyday cleaned to no dust, the towels were changed every day, great, but the space was not a good layout for tall/big people.
Several discussion about the room change:
After my request to change the room, at least they offered me a Family room, which I had to pay extra 60 euros for 2 night room upgrade. I refused the offer.
I think that putting misleading pictures was their fault, but I didn‘t argue to get stressed, which would ruin my vacation. I rather accepted the situation that the hotel was fully-booked and they couldn‘t do anything to move me to one of their pictured renovated rooms without extra cost.
The weather was super great during my stay in Genova that I was happy to go out of the hotel to do a lot of activities during the day time.
Tip for booking this hotel - Standard Double Room:
I suggest that you should contact the hotel directly before making your reservation and ask them to assign you a renovated room. <> sounds great, but the pictures are what you would get.
My suggestion to the hotel:
They should put the all real <> room pictures rather than Family Room or Superior Room pictures, which could avoid to mislead your possible customers int he future.
After all, the staff was nice, room was cleaned every day, although the bedsheet was not changed for 4 nights, the towels were replaced every day. The hotel location is great. If their advertised pictures had not misled me, I would not have been so unhappy. Given that the wifi network was quite weak and dropped often in my room, it didn’t affect much if one had your own 4G connection.
Thanks for your hospitality during my stay. You are always smiling and polite whenever I needed something. Your kind and helpful hospitality mitigated my disappointment. If you had not been that wonderful, I would have changed my hotel giving up all my pre-paid money. less
Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review
thank you for the compliments and the nice words spent for the staff. I understand your point of view and that is why we tried our best to help as much as we could during your stay.
I am really sorry you left with a bitter/sweet taste because in the end, from your words, it really seems like you had a nice stay. I made sure all the pictures listed on the websites we have access to, are true as well as the descriptions and trust me, they are.
I wish you all the best for the future and maybe we will meet again someday.
Superior Customer Care.