14/09/2017 Betweenthebars, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
I was relatively familiar with this hotel as I had family stay here a year and a half ago. The price is right, it's conveniently located (next to the motorway; not terribly far from SHAPE/Mons, etc.),... more
I was relatively familiar with this hotel as I had family stay here a year and a half ago. The price is right, it's conveniently located (next to the motorway; not terribly far from SHAPE/Mons, etc.), clean, and there's breakfast and internet. Can't beat that. That being said I booked myself a room here for a solo trip to wrap up some loose ends after moving from the area. I checked in with ease, was told about breakfast, etc., and made my way to my room. Much to my surprise my room was nothing like my family's room a year+ prior. The room smelled musty, as if it were a smoking room at one point and they attempted to cleanse it of the odour, plus it was quite dark, even with curtains open or all of the lights on in the room. Fortunately I wasn't planning on living in the room, as I really only needed it as a place to sleep. However, when it came time to sleep, I noticed stains on the side of the bed and was glad that I brought my own pillow, as the pillows given were rock hard. I've stayed in hotels that were a thousand times worse and this was my only real complaint- that my room contrasted so differently with that of the room my family had. Dark, uncomfortable, and musty. Not bright, clean, and ... well, comfortable. BUT, being the only hotel in the area, it's good. It may not sound like it, but it is. The price is right, the location is decent, the internet and breakfast are great, and the staff fantastic. I suppose like any hotel it really depends on the room you're given. I'll definitely stay again the next time I'm in the area, without any hesitation. less
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Horizon, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
First of all, I am happy to read that you are loyal to our hotel, as a great number of our other customers.
About our pillows, we have a pillow menu with two kinds : one is firm, the other is soft, so pretty surprised you didn't see the little "poster" near your bed.
Finally, the musty smell in the room, which is very exceptional, is due to the full cleaning of the room, after a former customer smoked in the room, although not allowed. Always a big problem when hotel is 100% full...
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience
Didier De Weerdt