Very disappointing stay.
20/04/2018 CS K, Singapore, Singapore
Checked in 16 Apr 2018 for 6 nights. Room on 1st floor which was newly renovated so it looked good at first glance. But aircon was faulty. Had complained about it to 4 different front desk staff on 4 ... more
Checked in 16 Apr 2018 for 6 nights. Room on 1st floor which was newly renovated so it looked good at first glance. But aircon was faulty. Had complained about it to 4 different front desk staff on 4 occasions - but NOTHING was done. Had 1 particularly rude man who described my faulty aircon as "your problem". It is not my problem. It is the hotel's problem and it is their responsibility to solve it! He also told me to open the windows -- where I had the aural pleasure of enjoying incessant car honking and people talking, as well as enjoy 2nd hand smoke (my room is just above the Carrefour entrance).
To add to the misery - WiFi is unstable, and there was no WiFi at all for 1 night.
Pictures of the roof 'restaurant' look good, but it is very small with seating for perhaps 30 people. Breakfast is miserable with only 1 type of hard boiled egg, 2 types of ham slices and 1 type of slice cheese. But to be fair, the kitchenette staff are very friendly and they do try their best to do a good job despite the limited setting. less
Hotel A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Astrid, responded to this review
Dear CS K,
we are so sorry we have disappinted you and you did not like your stay! Our main purpose is to give our guests the best possible experience.
First of all there was a lack of comprehension: rooms on the first floor are not renewed but brand new. Your room had a problem with the A/C system. We called the electrician but he could not solve the issue because it was due to the installer, who could not come during your stay. We could have changed your room but, as you smiled and told us it was no big deal, we did not understand it would completely ruin your stay, considering that it was not so hot in Rome during your stay. We bag yuour pardon also to be just next to a 24 hours supermarket and if their clients smoke on the street. We are also sorry about the breakfast choice if it did not suite your needings. Best regards,