Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Ewenny Road, Bridgend, Cardiff, Mid Glamorgan, CF35 5AW, Wales
based on 1045 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VW Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Be our guest in Bridgend.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is a fantastic place to stay near Swansea. The hotel is delightfully located in a semi-rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. You'll be near both coast show more

New contemporary bedroom refurbishment is underway. This should not affect your stay however we apologise should you experience any disruption.
Please note: Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details
Please Note - weddings/functions held most weekends (increased noise levels and busy public areas).
Breakfast is a grab & go delivered to the guests room
From 10th August 2020 our swimming pool and hotel gym will be open for hotel residents to use. Time slots must be booked with reception and are subject to availability. Our sauna, steam room and spa pool will remain closed.
From 14th August 2020 our hotel spa will reopen on Thursdays, Friday and Saturdays only. Our hotel bar is now open but our restaurant will remain closed until further notice.
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to all floors, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Spa Pool
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
By prior arrangement, £10.00 per pet/per night.
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 10:30
Ewenny Road, Bridgend, Cardiff, Mid Glamorgan, CF35 5AW, Wales

Restaurants & Bars

Bridgend restaurants don't come any more welcoming than at the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa.

Chef Simon Willows
  • Crane Restaurant
  • Ewennys Bar & Grill

Crane Restaurant

Our restaurant provides an exquisite dining experience, with unique Welsh charm always on the menu. We serve traditional and continental food to order, complemented by an excellent wine list. Our menu changes seasonally and our expert chef uses locally sourced ingredients where possible. We welcome residents or non-residents - so if you're looking for a great place to eat near Cardiff, the delightful Crane restaurant is the ideal choice.

Please note the Crane Restaurant is only open at lunchtime for Sunday lunch.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Ewennys Bar & Grill

Whether you come here to catch up with friends and colleagues over a drink or two or just to enjoy your own company, you'll love the refurbished Ewennys Bar & Grill. The bars relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a pre-dinner drink or a light snack. Anytime you're feeling peckish during the day, come join us and choose from a variety of foods from our comprehensive new bar menu. We welcome residents or non-residents.

Opening hours
11:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

At the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, we add the personal touch to every wedding we host, making this hotel a great wedding venue in South Wales. You'll enjoy attention to detail and first-class service from the first canape to the last dance.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Registrar

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of excellent rooms available for a wedding celebration:

Ibis - A splendid air-conditioned suite that accommodates a maximum of 160 guests for an evening reception, or 240 when used with the Crane restaurant

Kingfisher - Glistening with crystal chandeliers, this suite accommodates a maximum of 160 guests

Heron, Boardroom and Mallard - these smaller suites are perfect for a more intimate celebration and can accommodate 40-50 guests.

Catering

We offer wide range of options for wedding packages in Bridgend that include both main meals and evening buffets. Wedding breakfast menus are selected with great care and all meals are planned with the utmost attention to detail - from a four or five course banquet to a simple buffet. Rely on our professional wedding planners to ensure your wedding is everything you dreamed it would be.

Registrar

Registry office:
Bridgend Registration District
The Register Office, Sunnyside, Bridgend CF31 4AR
01656 642391

Golf

Southerndown Golf Course is a hidden gem, unique in offering part sandy links and part acid-heathland. Due to its terrain, it is one of the driest courses to be found throughout the land. The club offers all-year-round golf and is rarely closed to members and visitors. Southerndown is the nearest championship links-style course to the Celtic Manor resort.

  • Southerndown Golf Course
  • Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Southerndown Golf Course

Southerndown Golf Course is a hidden gem, unique in offering part sandy links and part acid-heathland. Due to its terrain, it is one of the driest courses to be found throughout the land. The club offers all-year-round golf and is rarely closed to members and visitors. Southerndown is the nearest championship links-style course to the Celtic Manor resort.

5.00 miles away in Southerndown

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6034 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes £25.00
18 holes £50.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £20.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £20.00
Driving Range £1.00

Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Royal Porthcawl has a status that puts it among the world's top golf courses. There have been many prestigious professional and amateur events held at the club over the years. Ranked No.22 in the UK and Ireland, the chance to play this superb course is not to be missed and its just eight miles from the hotel.

8 miles away in Porthcawl

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6303 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

18 holes £115.00
Trolley hire £12.50
Club hire £35.00
Tuition £25.00
Driving Range £4.50

Spa & Leisure facilities

With an excellent range of facilities, the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. If you're looking for a great gym in Bridgend, we welcome non-residents by offering affordable membership packages.

  • Spa Facilities
  • Treatments

Spa Facilities

There's nothing quite like a pampering session to relax your mind, body and soul. In this great spa hotel near Cardiff, you can enjoy a treatment or two that will leave you refreshed and invigorated.

With a range of facilities including our spa pool, sauna, steam room, indoor heated pool - complete with mood lighting - the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. We also offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Please note: Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details

  • No. of treatment rooms: 2
  • Minimum guests per booking: 1
  • Maximum guests per booking: 1
  • Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult but are not allowed in the gym. There are special access times for children under 16 years.

Opening Times

Monday - Sunday: 09:00 - 18:00

Treatments

We offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Health & Beauty
From £20.00 / Treatment
Massage
From £30.00 / Treatment
Health & Beauty
From £20.00 / Treatment
Facial
25 mins
From£30.00
Manicure
30 mins
From£29.00
Pedicure
35 mins
From£29.00
Tanning
20 mins
From£20.00
Waxing
45 mins
From£35.00
Massages
From £30.00 / Treatment
1 Hour Full Massage
50 mins
From£50.00
Back, Neck Shoulder Massage
25 mins
From£35.00
Hot Stone Massage
50 mins
From£55.00
Indian Head Massage
25 mins
From£30.00

Make the most of our leisure facilities and enjoy some down time

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Meetings & Events

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events atte...

  • Ibis Court
  • Huckleberry Suite

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events attended by anything from 2 to 200 delegates in our larger Ibis and Kingfisher suites. In addition, we have smaller suites that can accommodate more intimate meetings of up to 50 guests. All rooms benefit from natural daylight and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is also ideally situated between Swansea and Cardiff, within easy reach of Junction 35 of the M4.

Packages

Our experienced events management team will be on hand to ensure your event runs smoothly. We offer a range of packages to suit your budget, which include everything you might need from flipcharts to audio-visual and conference equipment. Throughout your meeting, you'll be supplied with constant refreshments. Should delegates wish to stay over, we offer excellent rates, inclusive of meals and with full use of all hotel facilities.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Ibis Court

Our newly refurbished Ibis Court Suite is now equipped with the latest audio visual equipment built into the room.

Huckleberry Suite

Our Huckleberry Suite is equipped with modern meeting desks and 8 hour conference chairs.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Kingfisher 180 65 45 45 130
Boardroom 50 20 20 25 40
Bittern Room 35 18 18 20 30
Ibis Court 200 80 50 50 170
Mallard Suite 45 18 18 20 40
Huckleberry Suite 35 18 18 20 0

Reviews of Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 1045 reviews
Excellent 28%
Very Good 31%
Average 19%
Poor 11%
Terrible 8%
Rating

davidS1200YJ, wrote review 12/09/2020

My opinion

Although we are in the middle of this covid outbreak I believe this hotel and it's staff are doing an excellent job given the restrictions placed upon them, the hotel is undergoing a refit and you wil... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you can see the effort being made to keep all our customers and staff safe in these trying times. I am also pleased to read you like the newly refurbished bedrooms. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

leannepennuk, wrote review 02/09/2020

Leanne

No hot water so couldn't wash hands properly cant have a bath. Food at bar not nice or good value for money. Very noisy rooms could her other guests. I wouldn't not want to be there when they had a pa... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review , I am pleased to read you thought the staff were nice, we pride ourselves on the team we have and their friendliness. I apologise for the hot water system not being fully operational during your stay, an engineer was called immediately and a temporary boiler fitted until the new boiler arrived. I am sorry if this effected your stay. With the new COVID 19 risk assessments and social distancing we are limited to the number of guests who access our pool area, this is why we have introduced a booking system and have needed to limit this to 30 minutes swim times, so all guests have a fair opportunity to use the area. I hope you will stay again in the future so we are able to meet your high expectations of the hotel and its services. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

garethprosser, wrote review 01/09/2020

Dated and dissapponting

We stayed here for a weekend to meet up with family staying at a local holiday park. First issue was the wardrobe door came off its hinges in our hand. Looked as though it had come off previously but ... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed our pool area but sorry you were disappointed with your bedroom. I can confirm the bedroom refurbishment is due to restart in October following the competition of our restaurant. I hope you will stay in the future, possibly in one of our newly refurbished bedrooms. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

stephaniewH8988VA, wrote review 30/08/2020

Average

Stayed here for 4 nights. Staff were very nice. Room was ok, view was of metal storage containers! Some of the COVID rules baffled me, no tea or coffee left in your room, but you are given a cardboa... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you slept well and thought the staff were very nice. The COVID rules put in place were part of our COVID risk assessment which we attained the CLEAN, SAFE, LEGAL accreditation for prior to opening. Tables have to be booked in our bar and restaurant due to the limited numbers we are able to accommodate due to the social distancing rules and for the required track and trace. I hope you will return in the future for an enjoyable stay. kind regards General Manager
Rating

mrlswillson, wrote review 29/08/2020

not the best on this occasion

long wait for food in restaurant, food tepid, room nice but cold water, dead insects on floor on arrival trays in hallway where people had eaten and not cleared. reception people had left breakfast pa... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read your thought your room was nice and the staff friendly. I can confirm the hotel had a boiler issue in one section, a temporary boiler was set up immediately until the boiler could be replaced. I will confirm the training to reception concerning the tea / coffee service. I hope you will stay again in the future. Kind regards General Manager