Terrible customer service after promised shuttle that was no longer available.
I booked this trip through Booking.com (thankfully, booking.com was able to assist me with my issue). I only booked it because there was an offered free shuttle service and this was going to provide ... more
I booked this trip through Booking.com (thankfully, booking.com was able to assist me with my issue). I only booked it because there was an offered free shuttle service and this was going to provide me the cheapest way to get to and from a concert at the local pavilion. The theater I had planned to go to was not actually as close as it was to many other hotels but I imagined this would be cheaper than an Uber. It turns out that this service was no longer provide and when I approached the customer service to request it I was told that they no longer provided it AND that I was responsible for checking the BW website and not "trusting" a third party booking agency.
I was incredibly reasonable and asked what other compensation they could provide me considering the shuttle was the only reason I booked with them in the first place. After having the customer service rep at the front desk make several trips to a random back room to "speak with her manager" and her consistently telling me that it was my fault, I asked to speak to the manager. I was told "she was busy". There was clearly never a manager there that was a woman at that time. A man came up to my room and knocked on our door, which I thought was sort of unprofessional. He then told me I could cancel my reservation for that night with no charge. I found another hotel and again went to confirm this with the staff at the front desk- she handed me a sticky note and told me they would email me and then walked off. Nobody emailed me anything. In fact, after booking this hotel I was then thrown around the ringer and had to call booking.com (per the advice of the guy at the front desk) to request the did not charge me. The guy told me that they had asked booking.com to remove the shuttle service multiple times- booking.com told me that was a lie. Then, booking.com called and spoke to the hotel on my behalf. It took the agent several hours to even get the "manager" to reply claiming they would not charge me for the night (despite what this other guy had told me) and they refused to compensate me. Eventually, booking.com had told me that they were unreasonable and awful to them (so it was not just me) and booking.com provided me a credit of 25 dollars toward my transportation.
I will never stay in a BW again due to this one experience. I was treated very poorly. I understand mistakes happen but it is all in the way it is dealt with. This was dealt with in the worst possible way- they blamed me- the customer. less
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review
I am saddened to hear this was your experience. I was present for every exchange you had with the team here I do exist I promise. You were speaking to Nancy our Front Office Manager the whole time she is not an agent she is a manager. We stand by our website 100% and it does not state we have a shuttle. We have not had a shuttle for quite some time now. Booking.com was asked to remove the offering from their website and they did not I am terribly sorry, I am not however shocked they would state this is not true as the department that handles such things is not the department you would have called. I have taken this up with them and since had the website fixed. The issue in question was providing you a service we do not offer. Unfortunately we were unable to provide you an amenity you needed therefore I had my Ops Manager knock to let you know that if you wanted help booking at a hotel closer to your concert venue we would refund your money. I spoke to booking.com and contacted them not other way around. Perception here can sometimes be confusing I know and for that I am sorry.
We made the decision to refund you not booking.com. We thank you so much for your feedback and hope your concert went well and are happy we were able to provide you a refund. I may suggest booking direct with a hotel in the future to be provided the proper amenities I again apologize on behalf of booking.com and for our service flaws.
Have a nice day,