15/04/2019 jackie60363, Watertown, Wisconsin
In February I reserved a two room suite for six nights in April. Upon arrival at the hotel we were told the building with the suites was not available as this was the first day they were open for the ... more
In February I reserved a two room suite for six nights in April. Upon arrival at the hotel we were told the building with the suites was not available as this was the first day they were open for the season. We asked if this was just for our first night and we could move into the suite the following day and the clerk said, 'no, we don't even have the water turned on yet in that building' and again repeated this was the first day they were open. Was April 5th a surprise to them that they were opening? We received a phone call an hour before we arrived with no message left that was from them. Why not leave us a message? We could have had time to check other hotels and decided what to do instead of it being dropped on us at check in. I spend a lot of time reviewing hotels before reserving them. One of the things we want is a place other than a bed to sit. The room we ended up with had one desk chair. This being the off season with few restaurant choices we had brought provisions for making a few meals. No such luck in the room we received. Why were the suites even listed on their website for that week? So buyer beware. If you're going to this hotel call ahead of time to make sure the room is ready for guests. We have no complaints about the cleanliness of the room we received, it was a very nice room, just not the one we wanted! less
jankramer0215, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you so much for staying with us. I am so sorry for the inconvenience with your stay. This is not the normal experience of our guests. Unfortunately we are a seasonal property and close down during the winter months. We were also going through a change in management with the new season starting up and we did not get the rooms blocked from being booked in the building that did not have the water turned on. By the time we realized it, a couple of rooms had been booked. As soon as we realized it we went in and changed the available dates on that building. I realize this does not help with your experience but I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and let us show you that that is not the normal in our Hotel. It is our hope that every guest has a wonderful experience and I am so sorry that your was not as you had planned. If you would like to discuss this with me please feel free to call in and visit with me personally. Please accept my apology.
Best Western Golden Spike