I and a friend came here for a three night weekend stay from March 23rd to 25th in order to attend the nearby Arizona Renaissance Festival. At $601.10can, the room was expensive compared to other Best Western stays but we were willing to bite the bullet for the proximity to the Festival.
We really admired the Southwest look of the building and decor of the lobby, not to mention, real, living cactuses twice our height, something neither of us had seen before in person. The room was typical size for a two queen, clean and had a cute little balcony. The windows all had shutters with narrow slats that let in little natural light but this is likely more of a feature than a bug as the sun is relentless during the day. The mountain view was gorgeous.
We ate the complimentary breakfast all three mornings and it was better than average for this type of meal. They had texas toast for all three days, added peppers to the scrambled eggs one morning and offered turkey sausages another. This demonstrated an imagination we haven't found at other places. However, they offered either bacon or sausages each morning instead of both which I thought was chintzy.
Having a Walgreen right next door was a life saver for picking up snacks, alcohol and forgotten items like sunscreen (how did I forget that!) as the hotel is it is out in a rural area.
The staff was friendly but provided poor service which is why the rating is low. Because the hotel is so far away from anything that could be called urban life, I called ahead before booking the reservation to make sure we could get taxi service from the hotel to the festival and back to avoid drinking and driving. I don't know who I spoke to but they assured me, yes, taxis do service the area.
Our first night I double checked that the front desk would be able to call a cab for us in the morning and she said, while she would be too busy, it would be a local call and therefore free, and handed me several cards. When I called each place the next morning, they informed me they were car services, it would be quite costly for a short trip down the road and I needed to book in advance. One of them was kind enough to give me the number to Yellow cab, which did agree to pick us up and said it would be about twenty minutes.
Due to traffic, the pick up took about forty-five minutes with the cab driver contacting us frequently with updated ETAs. In the forty-five minutes we sat in the lobby waiting, the woman at the counter serviced a total of two parties of less than four people so she clearly could have called us a cab herself, a service I have never been denied at any other hotel. (At the Best Western in Castle Rock, Colorado they told us when we called to inquire about transportation to the Colorado Renaissance Festival we would need a car service in order to get to the festival and upon our arrival they called and booked it for us, no problem.)
When the our first day at the festival ended, Yellow cab refused to return to get us. They told me they do not service that area and the nice gentleman that delivered us in the morning never should have agreed to take our fare. We went to the first official people we could see, which turned out to be the first aid personal, and they went above and beyond trying to find us a ride. No service, including Uber, would come and get us but they spoke to our hotel and a gentleman there (Eugene?) agreed to pick us up if we could not find alternate arrangements. We could not (and it turned out we were only one of several parties stranded by Yellow cab that day) so we called the hotel and were told the person we spoke to was gone home for the day and, basically, we were on our own. Special shout out to the lovely sheriff who took pity on us and kindly drove up back to the hotel.
As we usually do when attended these festivals, the second day we drove ourselves and limited our drinking. Upon returning to the room, we discovered it had only been partially cleaned. My friend's bed was made, mine was not. The towels were replaced but not the toilet paper or the plastic glasses and our bath mat was missing. The empties were gone but the wastebasket was still full. We called down and the woman on desk duty offered to take care of it. We were tired and didn't wish to have someone bustling around the room as we were trying to relax. Instead I went downstairs and got the missing items myself. Worst of all, about four dollars in change I had wrapped in a plastic bag and buried in my luggage, since there was no safe, was missing, something I didn't discover until I returned home and unpacked. Good thing the rest of our valuables were locked up in the rental.
When we checked out the next day, before the check out time of eleven, the woman at the desk refused to give me a final statement. She told me the system had already checked us out and she could not recall the statement. This was not our experience at the Best Western in Castle Rock, Colorado or the Best Western in Shakopee, Minnesota (stayed while attended the Minnesota Renfest and they had free shuttle service to the festival!). I have since checked and they did not add any fraudulent changes to my stay but I do not like not having a final statement for my records.
These things did not ruin our trip but they did ruin our hotel stay so I cannot in good conscience recommend this hotel. less
GoldCanyonINN, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thanks for your review and detailed description.
We are glad that you enjoyed the fun Renaissance Festival.
We have tried the shuttle service for the Fair in the past years but have found this not be a viable option. The main reason is that there is not much demand for the shuttle. We get at the most 5 people annually who request the service and this is not worth the time and effort put into it. We are sorry that you had trouble with getting a cab back to the hotel. Unfortunately, we were extremely busy at the hotel too and did not have anyone free to send out to rescue you.
We apologize for the housekeeping issues you had and will be providing additional training to improve our services. The reason why you were not provided a receipt was that you had a prepaid reservation made through a third party. The receipt therefore would only be available through them.
Thanks for your stay and we hope that you will us another opportunity to provide with a superior experience.