Pleasant, shame about the breakfast
26/07/2016 12a, Birmingham, United Kingdom
All very nice, I had stayed before. I paid £20 extra per night for a "larger" room. Not sure what that's about, as it was just a little larger than the regular sized double bed. But the hotel had just... more
All very nice, I had stayed before. I paid £20 extra per night for a "larger" room. Not sure what that's about, as it was just a little larger than the regular sized double bed. But the hotel had just had a refurb, and it showed.
The tap tops (hot / cold) were on the wrong taps, and this was reported within an hour, but still wasn't fixed when I checked out 40 hours later.
Breakfast - the big disappointment. The "full English" is one item if each, and on the plate, looked somewhat sparse and mean, for what should be a hearty meal. The first morning, it was almost stone cold, and "had the taint of a heat lamp" - in a restaurant with maybe only 15 guests, at around 8:30.
It was mentioned to a nice waitress - the staff were very good - who said she'd tell chef. The next morning, it had improved very, very slightly - and was only tepid, which was a shame, as it was obviously quality food.
A pleasant stay, it's a great location for St. Anne's, but there is a lot of competition in the area. less
VictoriaC72, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of your time spent with us, I am least glad we got some things to your satisfaction. It is a shame that I don't know which room you were in as I have never heard of an issue with the taps being the wrong way around, and for that I must apologise.
I will also have a chat with kitchen re the lack of heat to your breakfast as this is something we usually pride ourselves on and I want to make sure it is absolutely spot on.
So thank you for bringing these points to my attention and I will action all that you have mentioned immediately.
I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.