Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

799 Old Norwich Road, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP1 6LH, England
based on 243 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel.

Ideally located in Ipswich.

The Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is a charming and secluded country house retreat on the outskirts of Ipswich. A real hidden gem, built in the Regency style, the hotel offers peace and tranquillity in over three
show more

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Luke Bearne
  • Gatehouse Restaurant
  • Hotel Bar

Gatehouse Restaurant

Come in, make yourself at home. The relaxed and sociable atmosphere in our restaurant inspires our Chef to create dishes full of flair and imagination - not to mention award-winning flavour!

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Hotel Bar

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don't disappoint.

Opening hours
07:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

This beautiful hideaway hotel is set in 4 acres of gardens and is perfect for the smaller wedding.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering

For any enquiries please call Frankie Manners on 01473 741897

Wedding service and reception venue

However you want to celebrate your big day, we'll help you arrange the entertainment. You can even provide your own if you prefer!

Catering

We'll cater for up to 40 guests, with fine dining and a number of buffet options on the menu!

Reviews of Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 243 reviews
Excellent 38%
Very Good 38%
Average 11%
Poor 7%
Terrible 2%
Rating

clinton w, wrote review 20/01/2020

A Weekend Escape !

Booked online. Easy to find off the main road but yet only a short drive or taxi ride to the centre of Ipswich. We arrived late but Marina was fantastic. Our room was clean, very tidy with comfortable... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for reviewing the Gatehouse hotel it was a pleasure to have met you, it is always good to receive positive feedback from our guests and we really appreciate that you took the time to do this. I will pass your regards to Mariana and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

joseptu, wrote review 08/01/2020

Odd

I found this place very strange to stay in. I was showed to a Room in a small outbuilding, this seemed to back on to the kitchens which I could hear lots of noise from. I can hear every manner of nois... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review I can only apologise for the experience you had to endure; we clearly did not meet with your expectations. On the night in question, the hotel was fully booked, unfortunately, the room allotted to you was one of our older style rooms yet to be refurbished. We apologize for the inconvenience, and your feedback will most certainly be used to make improvements for the future. Kind regards Frankie Manners – Operations Manager
Rating

rellek10, wrote review 02/12/2019

An overnight stay with great service and food

A rather old hotel with needed facilities. building screams for an overhaul - mainly outside and roof. Dinner was really excellent.All employees were very kind and service minded. Be aware that there ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for reviewing Best Western Gatehouse Hotel. Your comments are valued, the issues regarding the outside roof, etc is due to be reviewed in the new year, and we hope to continue to make improvements throughout. We hope you will consider using us again in the future, many thanks Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

LionOfKama, wrote review 28/10/2019

A wonderful spot to stay

I was passing through the area and only stayed one night, but it was perfect for my needs. My room was comfortable, and a bit spacious compared to what I expected from other English travels. The bed... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Gatehouse hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed some parts of your stay, I am pleased the team were able to assist you so efficiently and i will pass on your comments to them. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Frankie Manners - Operations Manager
Rating

sbccolin, wrote review 29/09/2019

Querky but great customer service

Stayed here regulary and the standard of customer service never fails. always a friendly greeting and nothing too much trouble. the staff are joy and so friendly. The evening food is excellent value... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and the lovely Marina, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to use us in the future. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager