Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel.

Ideally located in Ipswich.

The Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is a charming and secluded country house retreat on the outskirts of Ipswich. A real hidden gem, built in the Regency style, the hotel offers peace and tranquillity in over three acres of beautiful, mature gardens.

A small yet perfectly formed hotel, our home away from home is perfectly placed to offer a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The surrounding conservation area certainly adds to the air of relaxation! On the edge of town, the Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is ideal for a weekend getaway in the heart of Suffolk.

The small, friendly nature of the hotel, with its extensive gardens, also offers the perfect venue for those guests wanting to stage intimate weddings or private celebrations!

View more

Location

799 Old Norwich Road
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP1 6LH
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6264*
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Frankie Manners

gatehouse-hotel-dining-13-83883-OP

Gatehouse Restaurant

Come in, make yourself at home. The relaxed and sociable atmosphere in our restaurant inspires our Chef to create dishes full of flair and imagination - not to mention award-winning flavour!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

This beautiful hideaway hotel is set in 4 acres of gardens and is perfect for the smaller wedding.

gatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-02-83883-OPgatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-04-83883-OPgatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-01-83883-OPgatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-03-83883gatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-06-83883gatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-05-83883-OP

Wedding service and reception venue

However you want to celebrate your big day, we'll help you arrange the entertainment. You can even provide your own if you prefer!

Catering

We'll cater for up to 50 guests, with fine dining and a number of buffet options on the menu!

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Heather Billing on 01473 741897

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP1 6LH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J53, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Ipswich, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (20 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
799 Old Norwich Road
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP1 6LH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Ipswich Football Club (2 miles)

  • Ipswich Speedway stadium (3 miles)

  • Norwich Football club (30 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Christchurch park and mansion (2 miles)

  • Ipswich waterfront development (3 miles)

  • Ipswich museum (2 miles)

  • Suffolk ski slope (4 miles)

  • Aldeburgh Suffolk coastal town (28 miles)

Shopping

  • Ipswich Shopping Centre (3 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (25 miles)

  • Norwich (30 miles)

Our meeting room is situated in the grounds of the hotel. It's suitable for small boardroom style meetings, so you and your colleagues are more than welcome to join us here in Ipswich.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 144 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 43
Rating: 4 68
Rating: 3 18
Rating: 2 12
Rating: 1 3
Rating

Disappointing

19/04/2016 354christine, Peterborough, United Kingdom

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel with Tesco Clubcard and was charged just over £44 more than the usual rate for a 2-night stay, so be warned if you intend to book with Tesco Clubcard. We were also ... more

Owner Response
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. I do feel that i need to explain that all promotion rates are generated between Best Western and the corporate business and not dictated by the individual hotels which are all privately and independently owned. However i am sorry that you had some problems with the room during your stay and i will be looking into this to see what i can do to make improvements. The hotel was very busy last week and there would have been no option to upgrade you but i am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Kind Regards Heather Billing - Operations Manager
Rating

Good base for visiting the area

06/04/2016 Tvordlj, Halifax, Nova Scotia

We were in Ipswich mainly to visit family who lived just a couple of streets away from the BW Gatehouse so that was the most logical choice for us. The Hotel was a very reasonable 69 pounds a night wh... more

Rating

Good location and value

06/04/2016 Paul H, Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom

The hotel is best placed for visiting the area without the increased cost at hotels in the popular tourist areas of Woodbridge and other south Suffolk tourist spots. Direct and uncomplicated route to ... more

Rating

A gem of a small hotel

28/03/2016 Charles S, Hastings, United Kingdom

A lovely little hotel situated within easy access of Ipswich and the pretty market towns of Suffolk. We had a good sized room with a very comfortable bed and en suite bathroom. Superb fine-dining menu... more

Rating

A very comfortable overnight stay

25/02/2016 Mhr001, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom

Comfortable, clean, well furnished room. First class service by attentive staff. An excellent and reasonably priced evening meal and a super breakfast. Great wifi.Highly recommended. I look forward ... more

Owner Response
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Heather Billing Operations Manager