• 8.6 /10 Fantastic
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel.

Ideally located in Ipswich.

The Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is a charming and secluded country house retreat on the outskirts of Ipswich. A real hidden gem, built in the Regency style, the hotel offers peace and tranquillity in over three acres of beautiful, mature gardens.

A small yet perfectly formed hotel, our home away from home is perfectly placed to offer a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The surrounding conservation area certainly adds to the air of relaxation! On the edge of town, the Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is ideal for a weekend getaway in the heart of Suffolk.

The small, friendly nature of the hotel, with its extensive gardens, also offers the perfect venue for those guests wanting to stage intimate weddings or private celebrations!

View more


799 Old Norwich Road
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6264*


Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00


Dining and Bars

Chef Frankie Manners


Gatehouse Restaurant

Come in, make yourself at home. The relaxed and sociable atmosphere in our restaurant inspires our Chef to create dishes full of flair and imagination - not to mention award-winning flavour!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary


This beautiful hideaway hotel is set in 4 acres of gardens and is perfect for the smaller wedding.


Wedding service and reception venue

However you want to celebrate your big day, we'll help you arrange the entertainment. You can even provide your own if you prefer!


We'll cater for up to 50 guests, with fine dining and a number of buffet options on the menu!


Registry office:

For any enquiries please call Heather Billing on 01473 741897

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP1 6LH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J53, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Ipswich, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (20 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

799 Old Norwich Road

What's nearby?


  • Ipswich Football Club (2 miles)

  • Ipswich Speedway stadium (3 miles)

  • Norwich Football club (30 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Christchurch park and mansion (2 miles)

  • Ipswich waterfront development (3 miles)

  • Ipswich museum (2 miles)

  • Suffolk ski slope (4 miles)

  • Aldeburgh Suffolk coastal town (28 miles)


  • Ipswich Shopping Centre (3 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (25 miles)

  • Norwich (30 miles)

Our meeting room is situated in the grounds of the hotel. It's suitable for small boardroom style meetings, so you and your colleagues are more than welcome to join us here in Ipswich.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 193 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 64
Rating: 4 83
Rating: 3 26
Rating: 2 15
Rating: 1 5

Overnight stay

12/03/2018 Rusters, Gillingham, United Kingdom

Just visiting Ipswich for Mother's Day weekend, this hotel is 5 minutes walk from mother-in-law so we booked for the Saturday night. Situated by a quiet dead end road, although we had a ground floor ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks you for your feedback, I am pleased that in general your stay was pleasant. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if I can be of any further assistance, many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager

May as well have been a shared dorm

14/02/2018 Jenny S,

I’ve stayed in three rooms in this hotel now. The first room was lovely, nice big, airy double. Second room was horrible, a pokey single room much like student halls. Third time, this time is by far t... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jenny Once again thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, however as discussed we are sorry the room you occupied was not suitable for you. We are due to start work on a program to review our rooms for refurbishment with in a few months. And we apologies once again for any inconvenience caused to you. My offer made to you over the phone still remains open to you, please do not hesitate to get in touch if I can be of any further assistance,many thanks. kind regards Frankie Manners-Operation Manager

Friendly but flawed

11/02/2018 Mark R,

For a cheap to mid-range hotel this is ok, quick into central Ipswich by taxi, and so and my expectations were not that high therefore. Nice bed, very friendly reception and helpful but score let dow... more


Great Hotel

21/12/2017 BBTravelling4Some, Blackburn, United Kingdom

This place really is a little Gem, staff are Wonderfull, food very nice Perfect for a stop over Of course it could have a lick off paint but don’t let the first impressions of this old Georgian house... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to fill in the response review; we appreciate positive feedback, we look forward to receiving you again in the future, many thanks. yours sincerely Frankie Manners Operations Manager


26/10/2017 ,

The hotel was like faulty towers. Dirty rooms, various hairs found in and throughout bathrooms. Old used plasters found in room that had clearly been there for a long time. Shower units tired and warn... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologise that you occurred problems during your stay, in particularly issues with the cleanliness of the bath room. I would like to assure you our rooms are maintained to the highest standard however I appreciate problems occurring from time to time, I do hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again and I would be pleased to offer you a complimentary dinner in the hotel restaurant should you choose to do so. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01473 830382. Sincerely Frankie Manners Operations Manager