• 8.6 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel.

Ideally located in Ipswich.

The Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is a charming and secluded country house retreat on the outskirts of Ipswich. A real hidden gem, built in the Regency style, the hotel offers peace and tranquillity in over three acres of beautiful, mature gardens.

A small yet perfectly formed hotel, our home away from home is perfectly placed to offer a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The surrounding conservation area certainly adds to the air of relaxation! On the edge of town, the Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is ideal for a weekend getaway in the heart of Suffolk.

The small, friendly nature of the hotel, with its extensive gardens, also offers the perfect venue for those guests wanting to stage intimate weddings or private celebrations!

View more

Location

799 Old Norwich Road
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP1 6LH
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6264*
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Frankie Manners

gatehouse-hotel-dining-13-83883-OP

Gatehouse Restaurant

Come in, make yourself at home. The relaxed and sociable atmosphere in our restaurant inspires our Chef to create dishes full of flair and imagination - not to mention award-winning flavour!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

This beautiful hideaway hotel is set in 4 acres of gardens and is perfect for the smaller wedding.

gatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-05-83883-OPgatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-03-83883

Wedding service and reception venue

However you want to celebrate your big day, we'll help you arrange the entertainment. You can even provide your own if you prefer!

Catering

We'll cater for up to 50 guests, with fine dining and a number of buffet options on the menu!

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Heather Billing on 01473 741897

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP1 6LH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J53, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Ipswich, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (20 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
799 Old Norwich Road
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP1 6LH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Ipswich Football Club (2 miles)

  • Ipswich Speedway stadium (3 miles)

  • Norwich Football club (30 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Christchurch park and mansion (2 miles)

  • Ipswich waterfront development (3 miles)

  • Ipswich museum (2 miles)

  • Suffolk ski slope (4 miles)

  • Aldeburgh Suffolk coastal town (28 miles)

Shopping

  • Ipswich Shopping Centre (3 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (25 miles)

  • Norwich (30 miles)

Our meeting room is situated in the grounds of the hotel. It's suitable for small boardroom style meetings, so you and your colleagues are more than welcome to join us here in Ipswich.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 209 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 72
Rating: 4 88
Rating: 3 27
Rating: 2 17
Rating: 1 5
Rating

Lovely Atmospheric Hotel

23/09/2018 _ellecooper431, Bromley, United Kingdom

My mum and I enjoyed an extremely pleasant overnight stay at The Gatehouse Hotel. We were impressed with the interior of the hotel including dinky bar area and oak panelling throughout. Our bedrooms w... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Wonderful; delighted you enjoyed your stay; I will commend the team for their hard work and we hope you will return in the future. Many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners - Operations Manager
Rating

Awful

19/09/2018 NLocke, Wiltshire, UK

Stayed one night and if I had off been staying any more I would have checked out. Staff were not at all friendly and definitely not helpful. My room was not one of the new rooms, no air conditioning, ... more

Rating

Pleasantly surprised

18/09/2018 Sharon S,

Overnight stay for me, my mum and my daughter. Had contacted the hotel in advance to ask that the two rooms I had booked were together and found that the single we booked had been upgraded to a double... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. I will pass your comments on to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Yours sincerely Frankie Manners–Operations Manager
Rating

Nice one night stay

16/09/2018 gazza8888, essex

Stayed over for a night in ipswich just a get away from the kids !!! Easy booking and nice sleep. Had a fire alarm call about 7 a.m but maybe someone burnt the bacon !!!. No explanation which was stra... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, as we did not meet with all your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies. We have taken immediate steps to review our operations and introduced further training where necessary; we assure you we will do all we can to prevent a re-occurrence of this nature in the future, thank you for your time, kind regards. Yours sincerely Frankie Manners – Operations Manager
Rating

Friendly staff but hotel not great

01/09/2018 jooster, Singapore

Looks rundown from the outside and the inside is not much better. The rooms are small and old fashioned and could go with updating. The shower kept cutting out whilst in use, the grouting was dirty a... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are sorry on this occasion the room you booked was not to your desire; not all our rooms fit this criteria, please be assured your comments regarding hygiene issues have not gone unnoticed I can assure you this was a one off. However I will recommend some of our staff across the sector undergo further training; on your next visit to the area please inform me and I will endeavour to offer you an upgrade at either one of our two hotels. Once again please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. We hope you will continue to support us in the future, many thanks. Yours Sincerely Frankie Manners- Operations Manager