Explore Hotel

Best Western Gatehouse Hotel.

Ideally located in Ipswich.

The Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is a charming and secluded country house retreat on the outskirts of Ipswich. A real hidden gem, built in the Regency style, the hotel offers peace and tranquillity in over three acres of beautiful, mature gardens.

A small yet perfectly formed hotel, our home away from home is perfectly placed to offer a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The surrounding conservation area certainly adds to the air of relaxation! On the edge of town, the Best Western Gatehouse Hotel is ideal for a weekend getaway in the heart of Suffolk.

The small, friendly nature of the hotel, with its extensive gardens, also offers the perfect venue for those guests wanting to stage intimate weddings or private celebrations!

View more

Location

799 Old Norwich Road
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP1 6LH
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6264*
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Frankie Manners

gatehouse-hotel-dining-13-83883-OP

Gatehouse Restaurant

Come in, make yourself at home. The relaxed and sociable atmosphere in our restaurant inspires our Chef to create dishes full of flair and imagination - not to mention award-winning flavour!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

This beautiful hideaway hotel is set in 4 acres of gardens and is perfect for the smaller wedding.

gatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-02-83883-OPgatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-04-83883-OPgatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-03-83883gatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-06-83883gatehouse-hotel-wedding-events-05-83883-OP

Wedding service and reception venue

However you want to celebrate your big day, we'll help you arrange the entertainment. You can even provide your own if you prefer!

Catering

We'll cater for up to 50 guests, with fine dining and a number of buffet options on the menu!

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Heather Billing on 01473 741897

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP1 6LH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J53, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Ipswich, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (20 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
799 Old Norwich Road
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP1 6LH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Ipswich Football Club (2 miles)

  • Ipswich Speedway stadium (3 miles)

  • Norwich Football club (30 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Christchurch park and mansion (2 miles)

  • Ipswich waterfront development (3 miles)

  • Ipswich museum (2 miles)

  • Suffolk ski slope (4 miles)

  • Aldeburgh Suffolk coastal town (28 miles)

Shopping

  • Ipswich Shopping Centre (3 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (25 miles)

  • Norwich (30 miles)

Our meeting room is situated in the grounds of the hotel. It's suitable for small boardroom style meetings, so you and your colleagues are more than welcome to join us here in Ipswich.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 161 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 51
Rating: 4 71
Rating: 3 21
Rating: 2 14
Rating: 1 4
Rating

Miserble

06/11/2016 Gemma T, London, United Kingdom

Apart from the staff being friendly the best western gatehouse hotel leaves little to feel glad about! Rooms over priced at £59 per night considering the bed was a very small double, only enough mil... more

Owner Response
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Gatehouse Hotel, all room items are available from reception, these should have been replenished of course and i apologise if this was not the case but a call to reception would have made sure your supplies were topped up for you. We are also sorry that you were disturbed early but it is difficult to control the noise from other guests in the hotel. Your booking was for a standard room and we do not feel that £59.00 is over priced. Regards Heather Billing - Operations Manager
Rating

Excellent Service Brillant Food

05/11/2016 Richard L, Honiton, United Kingdom

Been staying here for the last two weeks. Absolutely brilliant in so many ways. Food was of such a high standard and plenty of it too. Dont be fooled by the entrance as it feels your going in the ba... more

Owner Response
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Heather Billing - Operations Manager
Rating

very poor

16/10/2016 anne w, London, United Kingdom

The rooms are a good size, but the beds are very, very uncomfortable. The breakfast was awful, everything was deep fried. When my breakfast arrived it was swimming in fat, and also had two hairs, at n... more

Rating

Dissapointing

16/10/2016 Lisa Richardson R,

On Arrival to this hotel first impressions were it seemed a bit run down from the outside , which is a shame as it is in nice grounds . But once inside it was lovely with a wooden panelling and a nice... more

Rating

Best Western

03/10/2016 Paula V, Gravesend, United Kingdom

This Hotel was in need of updating, i wont be using or recommending this hotel again, Food was good, Bathroom was tiny, I was working nights so due to my room opposite reception when i went bed in the... more