Terrible and horrible hospitality
19-09-2018 morgan f, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Arrived on my honeymoon and had booked this through my travel rewards. When I arrived they said best western had canceled my reservation and I would have to wait a couple of hours to figure it out. I ... more
Arrived on my honeymoon and had booked this through my travel rewards. When I arrived they said best western had canceled my reservation and I would have to wait a couple of hours to figure it out. I had not received a cancelation or anything so I was confused. After some attitude and refusing to show us the BW cancelation, they said we could have a room in 2 hours. My husband poured a coffee and they had the audacity to charge 2 euros during all of this. The room was crappy and small not what we had agreed to through the points program. Bed was tiny. The AC didn’t work - we later found out you have to tell them to switch on the circuit for the AC but they do with more attitude and eye roll. There was numerous times the card to the room would stop working and we had to wait about 15-20 min for someone to return to the desk to help us. Saw about 5 other guests go through the same thing. When we left, they charged us for 3 more coffees- (honestly, how cheap can you be???) and said tried to charge me full price for the room! I argued and said it had been paid for through my rewards and after arguing they said ok you are right. I said if they find a problem, CONTACT me and send me a bill before you charge me. They said ok. Did that happen? No!! Two days later, fully charged on my credit card. No bill, no contact ...nothing. They are sketchy thieves who will steal from you and hope you either don’t notice or won’t really fight it. Getting he response from BW in France has been difficult as they continue to investigate it. I should have known not to stay there but it was a horrible horrible experience and a terrible way to start our HM. Don’t stay here, don’t trust them, don’t waste your time. So many better places in the area for the price point, better yet, go to an Air BnB. The staff were so incredibly rude, the rooms sucked, amenities were non existent and they nickle and dime you for everything. Don’t waste your money. less
hotelgaillonopera, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera, responded to this review
Dear Madame FRESE
I was aware of your situation and nothing has taken place as you say. So you have made false statements regarding our hotel and the reason is the communication problems occured between you and Best Western group. What you have left on this site, is a total defamation and is itself a criminal activity. TripAdvisor is a site to give opinions not to do criminal activities.
Hope next time you assume what you say when you are full of hatred