09/04/2018 ExplorerMom8, Huntsville, Alabama
Manager Steve Schneider has to be the rudest man I've ever dealt with in a hotel and I'm an easy guest, just read my other reviews! Our "beachfront" room (reserved months earlier) was not beachfront a... more
Manager Steve Schneider has to be the rudest man I've ever dealt with in a hotel and I'm an easy guest, just read my other reviews! Our "beachfront" room (reserved months earlier) was not beachfront at all, but had a fabulous view of the overcrowded parking lot. When I expressed displeasure with this I was told that on day two of our stay we could be moved to a room with an ocean view. Okay, that's good, I thought. Nope! Day two I was called and told that to move myself and my daughter would cost an ADDITIONAL $100 per night! No mention of that was made beforehand or we would have left! Keep in mind that rooms here were already going for over $300 per night! The rooms are nothing special and very small. The refrigerator makes a loud hum all night long. The carpets looked worn and our door would stick when we tried to open it. When I asked to speak to a manager (Steve) about the "extra fee" he was shockingly rude! He told me I could pay the additional $100 or stay where I was, period. I told him it was unfair and I had been mislead, he said there was nothing he could do about it. I told him I would leave feedback online and he said - YOU DO THAT! I'm not kidding, this was the WORST experience ever! RUN don't walk from this property and you'll thank me later. The word HOSPITALITY is not in this hotel's vocabulary IMO. less
Paula E, General Manager at Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review
On behalf of me and the entire staff of our hotel, we are truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations during your most recent stay at our hotel .As much as we hate to see negative comments about a past stay, I appreciate your honesty and you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention regarding your room. We’re very sorry that you experienced an undesirable visit and I assure you we have addressed the problems you mentioned with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. Also please know that hospitality and efficiency are our top priorities and we take these issues seriously. I apologize that our Staff was less than accommodating. Please know that I do not take this lightly and have discussed this with the members of our Management team. I hope that you afford us a future opportunity to regain your trust, so that you have the true Best Western experience the next time you visit Fort Walton Beach. I would be happy to discuss this further with you. Please feel free to contact me 850-243-9444. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager.