Room not clean, amenities didn't work, and lied when I asked to switch rooms.
Ok. So it was a company paid King room with a jacuzzi tub. I walked in and was looking forward to using the jacuzzi. The first thing that I noticed upon inspection was that the jacuzzi was filthy, and the rest of the room wasn't much cleaner. It was getting late, so I decided that it was not a hill that I was willing to die on that night. I was going to be there a few more days, so the next morning, I asked that the jacuzzi be cleaned and she took a note. When I returned later that evening, I noticed that it had been cleaned, but frankly, it looked like that was the ONLY thing that had been cleaned. However, I was satisfied and ran the water. I got in and turned it on and.........NOTHING! I was a bit fed up at that point and went to the front desk to ask if they could put me in another room. At first she said that she could not do it without double charging the company. She also said, "Yeah, the jacuzzi doesn't work in that room." I said that "Yeah, I know." She then said that she couldn't switch me to another jacuzzi room, because they were all sold out of King/jacuzzi rooms for the night, but she could just switch me to a regular room with no jacuzzi tub and they wouldn't double charge the company. I said OK, and took the new key. The new room was clean, so that was good, but I then got curious and went online to the website. I looked and noticed that they did indeed have King jacuzzi rooms available online even though she said they did not. That's what we call a lie. Now, I should have gone back down there and demanded another room, but instead, I decided to write this review. I have NEVER complained about a room before, but I'm trying to learn to treat MYSELF with the same respect that I deserve from other people. If I was a businessman, I would not have been treated this way, but I happen to be a truck driver. That does not, however, mean that I deserve a room with a ratty mattress, that hasn't been cleaned, and has amenities that do not work without being told that they do not work, and then be lied to about the availability of another room. I deserve better than that, regardless of what I do for a living, and for a hotel with the word "Best" in the name, the Emporia Best Western definitely did not live up to its name. less
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this review
I'm sorry for your experience so far in our hotel. We treat everyone the same regardless of who is paying for the room. None of our Jacuzzis work because they are outdated therefore we sell the rooms as regular rooms. I'm sorry if my front desk did not inform you it was not working. The pictures are online but the rooms are not available to sell as Jacuzzi rooms because they have been taken off line as such. I do wish you had taken the time to speak to us as management of the hotel or even your company secretary as her and I would have been glad to resolve your issues instead of us finding out you were unhappy through the internet. I do hope the rest of your stay is better and if you have any more problems you will speak to us directly.