• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western El Rancho

AAA - 2 Diamond

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Discounts are available for any stay of three nights or more! Simply search for a three night stay and save!

Morro Bay and the Best Western El Rancho are ideally located at the midpoint between Los Angeles and San Francisco and boasts must-see attractions like Hearst Castle and San Luis Obispo.

When you spot Morro Rock, you know youre close to your home away from home at our Morro Bay hotel. The Best Western El Rancho is conveniently located on Highway 1 at the gateway to the scenic Pacific Coast Highway. Relax at our seasonally heated outdoor pool with sundeck, garden area and scenic views.

We have two restaurants within walking distance including the famous Taco Temple featuring California Fusion fresh seafood cuisine. This Morro Bay hotel features Motorcycle parking directly in front of your room. RV parking and bus parking is available.

Close to wineries and the Pacific coast, everything guests imagine sunny California to be comes alive here. Guests are close to the beach and Cal Poly. Centrally located, a world of adventure awaits, including, boat tours, spotting elephant seals and biking. Nature is right in the backyard of our Morro Bay hotel.

Our Morro Bay hotel has refurbished rooms, fast complimentary high-speed Internet, guest room ceiling fans and a free continental breakfast.

There are many local businesses that require employees to travel to our gorgeous region. A few common guests include employees of Cal Poly, Camp San Luis Obispo, the US Coast Guard and PG&E. It doesnt feel like youre on the clock when the great outdoors and great weather is calling.

Reserve your next escape at the Best Western El Rancho and start planning the first activity! The front desk is closed from 9 p.m. to 7:30 a.m. daily. On-site hotel personnel are available 24-hours a day via night bell at lobby entrance. After-hours check-ins are accommodated, please contact hotel prior to arrival to make arrangements.

View more

Location

2460 Main Street
Morro Bay
California
93442-1552
United States
AAA - 2 Diamond

Summary

Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00:00 | 11:00:00

Facilities

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type 93442-1552

Send to Tom Tom

Address
2460 Main Street
Morro Bay
California
93442-1552
United States


What's nearby?

Recreation

  • 5.00 mile(s) from Cayucos

  • 7.00 mile(s) from Los Osos

  • 13.00 mile(s) from San Luis Obispo

  • 21.00 mile(s) from Cambria

  • 22.00 mile(s) from Avila Beach

  • 25.00 mile(s) from Pismo Beach

  • 28.00 mile(s) from Atascadero

  • 29.00 mile(s) from San Simeon

  • 30.00 mile(s) from Arroyo Grande

  • 41.00 mile(s) from Paso Robles

  • 45.00 mile(s) from Santa Maria

  • 74.00 mile(s) from Lompoc

  • 79.00 mile(s) from Solvang

  • 119 mile(s) from Santa Barbara

  • 1.00 mile(s) from Duke Energy

  • 8.00 mile(s) from California Men's Colony

  • 10.00 mile(s) from Sierra Vista Hospital

  • 10.00 mile(s) from county of San Luis Obispo

  • 30.00 mile(s) from Atascadero State Hospital

  • 30.00 mile(s) from Mid State Fair

  • 10 mile(s) from Cuesta College

  • 15 mile(s) from Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo, California State University.

  • 45 mile(s) from Allen Handcock College

  • 60 mile(s) from Chapman University




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 605 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 252
Rating: 4 203
Rating: 3 81
Rating: 2 32
Rating: 1 37
Rating

Hotel was fine

03/08/2018 perijae304, Manteca, California

I wanna start this review saying i loved my stay at this hotel itself. We stayed two nights. Room was comfortable and clean. Loved that the restaurant was right there. The grounds were well maintain... more

Owner Response
twinsbaybw, Public Relations Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this review
Dear Perijae304, We are truly sorry for the inconvenience that you may have experienced. We have checked our reservation systems and it seems that you did make your reservation through booking.com and those charges that you are staying are from booking.com. I have learned in the past that it is better to book directly with any hotel so that you are guaranteed the room and no overcharges have been made. We understand that it takes time and effort to earn money, but it was not our intention to double charge or quadruple charge. Please contact Booking.com and see if they can resolve your issue. If you still can't, please contact the hotel and inform them of your dilemma to resolve this matter. Again, we are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you have experienced. Sincerely, The Staff at Best Western El Rancho
Rating

Don’t bother

03/08/2018 followcg, Denver, Colorado

It only took about 10 mins of me being there to get into an argument with the family that owns this hotel. The quality of the location was not up to what I expected as Best Western standards. The hote... more

Owner Response
twinsbaybw, Owner at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this review
Dear FollowCG, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. But I would like to take the time and discuss the comments you made in regards to my staff running this property. First, FollowCG, the property is Managed by a very nice and welcoming family. They have been with us for many, many years and they do a great job. Now, the room that you were in was of adequate size, you really didn't have to squeeze your way into the bathroom from where the bed is located. I understand that the furniture is a bit dated, but we are in process of renovating the entire property this year, but as you may or may not know, that this takes time. We are currently working diligently with Best Western Design Team to make the property a more modern look with eye pleasing furniture and fixtures. We just recently finished renovating the Swimming Pool as well as the Garden Area. In regards to your comments about the thin and extremely old windows, well Mr. Gaglioti I assure you that they are not thin and old. In fact they are Double Pane Noise Reduction Windows and they were installed just about a year or so ago. Again, FollowCG I am extremely sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced, But just to let you know, we never advertised that this property is equipped with any Air Conditioning Unit since the temperature here gets to be around 60 to 69 degrees maximum during the day and in the evenings it drops down to the low 40's and 50's. As a matter of fact this property never had any AC unit built in, it only had fans, but we are in the process of updating and upgrading the entire property, that includes adding an AC Unit in every single room as well as the Lobby/Breakfast Area because sometimes it does get a little bit muggy. Since we are only a Core Best Western, we did offer you a very nice Continental Breakfast which included the following: Hot Waffles (which you make yourself), with lots of toppings to choose from, your choice of breads (Potato Bread, Wheat, White, Sour Dough, English Muffins, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Fresh Organic Blueberries (when in season, of course), Organic Bananas, Organic Pears, Organic Oranges, Organic Apples, and of course Organic Kiwi when in season. We also offered you cereal (Raisin Bran, Cornflakes, Fruit Loops for the kid in you, and other Gluten Free Cereals. We also had hard boiled eggs, a variety of yogurts, a variety of juices, coffee, and a variety of teas. But most of all we have our Baked Goods delivered daily from a very nice family owned and operated bakery that is located right here in Morro Bay, California. The day you were there, we had Organic Fresh Baked Gluten Free Muffins, Plain Croissants, Ham & Cheese Croissants, Chocolate Croissants, Veggie Scones, and Ham & Cheese Scones. So I am not really too sure what more you would have wanted for us to offer you. But I am sure that you enjoyed eating there with your lovely companion. Lastly, they did not bark the cancellation policy to you, as you are stating. In fact, they were very polite and cordial. I am stating this, because I had one of my employees stay at the hotel just on Wednesday and Thursday night. As a matter of fact, Front Desk didn't know who my employee was. From time to time, I like to send out different employees to the property to make sure that my staff is running this property correctly and up to Best Western Standards. By the Way, The one thing that caught my employee's attention, was the beautiful pink hair of the lady that was accompanying you. Again, we are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. Sincerely, The Staff At Best Western El Rancho Property Owner
Rating

Incompetent management, locked me out of paid room, hotel staff stole my property, Do Not Stay Here!

26/07/2018 TimberBeast2003, Sacramento, California

Management screwed up my reservation and locked me out of second night of paid room, Hotel staff stole my property from room and refused to provide breakfast paid for in room rate. Manager called pol... more

Owner Response
twinsbaybw, General Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this review
Dear TimberBeast2003, Why don't we start off by really writing the truth since the property has 24 hour surveillance everywhere including inside the lobby/breakfast area-that is where all of this took place. First, we did not make your reservation, (we as in Best Western), your reservation was made through CalTravel @ a $90 rate from July 23rd to July 25th 2018, so your stay costed $205.20. That is an awesome rate since most hotels/motels rates would ran around $190.00 to $399.00 because it is the summer season and located near or on the beach. Second, Our management team are not incompetent. You sir are the only one that locked yourself out of your room. You most likely deactivated your key card with your cell phone. Why would we want to lock you out? Doesn't make any sense. When you came into the lobby you told the front desk agent, "I think there is a problem with my reservation since it was made through CalTravel, It is not your mistake or fault." Do you recall that, Sir? Third, Our hotel staff are not thieves. Why would they want to STEAL A $0.25 CAN OF DIET SODA?! I really find that hard to believe, since again, the entire property is on 24 hour surveillance. Also we provide our staff with refreshments at all times free of charge. Fourth, We did try to remedy the issue. We went out and purchased you an entire case of soda, but you refused because on our part, we did get the wrong one. Sorry. But we again tried to remedy the situation, we purchased a case of DIET SODA for you, but you refused and slammed the door and said, "FORGET IT. I AM JUST GOING TO LEAVE A BAD REVIEW". Fifth, our Housekeeping staff diligently deep cleans every single room after each use. That is our number 1 priority. So why don't we really write what actually happened on the day of your checkout which was on July 25th 2018. So you walked in around 7:45am on July 25th, 2018 ready to checkout. Our front desk staff had already prepared your Folio, meaning your receipt, the night before, so there shouldn't have been a problem giving you the receipt as you stated in your review (comments). You asked the front desk agent if he has a problem and the front desk agent said to you, "No Sir, I Don't Have A Problem." You then in a BELLIGERENT MANNER attacked the front desk agent and proceeded to use PROFANITY saying well I HAVE A "F***ING PROBLEM. The front desk agent asked you several times to calm down and stop, but you sir didn't. After the 3rd warning, the front desk agent kindly said to you if you don't stop then you leave us no choice but to contact the Police and have you escorted out. You then yelled at the front desk agent, and said, YES CALL THE POLICE. I AM GOING TO FILE A REPORT FOR STOLEN PROPERTY. You then with a massive rage took our cookie platter and slammed it on the counter. Poor cookies, what did they do to you! (Caught all on surveillance). Let's continue.... 20 minutes later the police arrived and asked what is the problem here. You stated to the police that our staff stole your property. The police asked you what was stolen. You informed them that the cleaning crew STOLE YOUR CAN OF DIET SODA. The police tried very hard not to laugh, Even 1 of the officer said to you, really, over a CAN OF SODA sir?! You were still in a raged manner, the police told you, if you do not calm down you will be arrested on INDECENCY (because you are using profanity and lots of it). You didn't stop. The officer came into the lobby and informed the Front Desk Agent if he would like to make a Citizen's Arrest, the Front Desk Agent proceeded and said YES to the Officer. That's when the officer told you, "If you do not leave the property immediately, then they will have to arrest you for TRESPASSING". You immediately changed your story and told the officer that the front desk agent did not want to give you your receipt. But in reality, you had your receipt and it was ready from the beginning. Sir what you did was not good for your health nor for the guests including their children to witness this type of behavior. Sir you need to understand that your HEALTH is MORE IMPORTANT than a $0.25 can of DIET SODA. Just for your knowledge all the guests witnessed this FIASCO. If you would like, we will be more than happy to mail you the case of Diet Soda free of charge. With that in mind, We genuinely hope that you will change your behavior to suit your environment that you were in, in order not to harm the presence of others or yourself. With warmest regards, The Staff at Best Western El Rancho
Rating

Not the best

25/07/2018 Rory B,

Our stay wasn't the best. Arrival was problematic. There was a hand-written sign taped to the office door that said closed until 0730. We arrived before 1000 pm, so not too late. I rang the night bell... more

Owner Response
twinsbaybw, General Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this review
Dear Rory B, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Sincerely, Rekha Singh General Manager Best Western El Rancho
Rating

Poor value for the money!

19/07/2018 babblefishAlberta, Alberta

Stayed in July 2018. Converted to CDN price was $330 for ONE night booked in advance with a discount. Folks, this is a MOTEL with small rooms and far fewer amenities than a hotel room at a Las Vegas r... more

Owner Response
twinsbaybw, General Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this review
Dear BabbleFishAlberta, We are a small quiet hotel that is located off of Hwy 1 across from Morro Rock. We are definitely not Las Vegas. To start off, Las Vegas is a desert, it is very hot and intolerable, not many people are inclined to compare Vegas to Coastal Pleasant weather. As such the prices cannot be compared. In addition, at a Las Vegas resort, you have to pay a resort fee no matter what. Here at this location we do not charge a resort fee. And Our breakfast is delivered daily from a family owned and operated Bakery that is located in Morro Bay, California. Have a Happy & Sunny Day. Staff at Best Western El Rancho