15/10/2017 ChrisFeder, Whitstable, United Kingdom
The Hotel is very well located with its own car park. Old fashioned, traditional and elegant. Beautifully decorated and furnished in traditional style. We had 2 double rooms, both too small, and too h... more
The Hotel is very well located with its own car park. Old fashioned, traditional and elegant. Beautifully decorated and furnished in traditional style. We had 2 double rooms, both too small, and too hot. As a result we had to have our windows open. This let all the noise in from what sounded like a race track outside. Also our room was located under a busy corridor with the squeakiest floorboards. As a result we got almost no sleep. Had we been staying another night I would have demanded another room. Very disappointing.
I mentioned this to the receptionist in the morning she was sympathetic but unable, at this point, to help. She pointed out that the reception desk was open 24 hours but you don't want to change rooms in the middle of the night do you.
Breakfast was available at £12.50 but we chose the excellent Port O' Call 100 yards away at £4 for a bit of local colour!
If you get the choice, chose a room on the top floor at the back of the building. less
Leila N, Director of Marketing at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it.
We are sorry that you did not get a good night's sleep, this is so important to us and whilst we understand that you didn't want to move in the night, we would have done our best to get our porters to move you to cause you as little disturbance as possible.
The best option re booking is to come direct and we will do best rates on bed and breakfast inc VAT. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
The Duke Team