• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Dower House Hotel.

Best Western Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.

You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins

View more

Location

Bond End
Knaresborough
North Yorkshire
HG5 9AL
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6045*
VB

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Sauna, Solarium, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted On request at £10 per pet per night
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

dower-house-hotel-dining-07-83242

Storm Restaurant

This charming dining room is renowned for its excellent food and fine wines. Its little wonder, considering the southerly views across the walled garden that come with them!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
dower-house-hotel-leisure-16-83242

Bar

Our cosy bar has a roaring log fire during the winter months for you to relax by whilst enjoying your favourite tipple. In the summer months it provides a place to cool down in peace after a session in the sun on the terrace or in our garden.

Opening hours

12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Knaresborough

Knaresborough golf course is set in beautiful parkland and is 6,780 yards.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6780 Yards
No handicap required

Location

1.00 miles away in Knaresborough

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £20.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £22.50

Pannal

Pannal golf course is an Open Qualifier course. Set in parkland and is 6,614 yards.

Course information

Course Type: Open Qualifier
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6614 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in Harrogate

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £45.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £5.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £25.00

Spa & Leisure

Top of the range facilities make our superb Imagine spa a joy to spend quality time in with a range of stress busting treats to help you take full advantage of your calming North Yorkshire surroundings.
Prices are subject to availability, please check before booking by calling 01423 860111

dower-house-hotel-leisure-21-83242

Enjoy a relaxing day

Whether you join us for a full day or simply take a two hour time out during your break, the magic of massage will leave you feeling fantastic! We offer a range of day packages to suit varying needs (Discover, Enrich or Indulge to your hearts content!), while individual therapies offer an equally relaxing session (our Thermal Suite is the perfect place to take a break within your break!).
Prices are subject to availability please check before booking by calling 01423 860111

No. of treatment rooms: 4
Minimum guests (per booking): 1
Maximum guests (per booking): 4

Children under 14 years must be supervised at all times.

Opening times

Monday: 10:00- 18:00
Tuesday: 10:00- 18:00
Wednesday: 10:00- 18:00
Thursday: 10:00- 18:00
Friday: 10:00- 18:00
Saturday: 10:00- 18:00
Sunday: 10:00- 18:00

Leisure Facilities

  • Gym

  • Pool

  • Foot spa

  • Crystal steam room

  • Jacuzzi

  • Herbal sauna

  • 4 treatment rooms

  • Adventure shower

  • Ice Fountain

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

To help you focus your fitness activities we offer classes,one-to-one training, swimming lessons and training programmes. That way, you can work hard even when you're taking it easy!

dower-house-hotel-leisure-24-83242

Treatments

All of our therapists are trained to provide specialist face, massage, body and hand / nail treatments how and when you want them. Our treatments incorporate the finest products and are all delivered by our friendly, professional therapists in our beautifully appointed, state-of-the-art treatment rooms.
Prices are subject to availability please check before booking by calling 01423 860111

Type Treatment Time (mins) price (from)
Health & Beauty Acrylic Nails 0 £0.00
Body Wrap 60 £60.00
Cooling Leg and Foot Treatment 15 £19.00
Enrich Experience 4 £79.00
Eyelash & Eyebrow Tinting 30 £15.00
Facial 30 £35.00
Manicure 60 £35.00
Men?s Energy Release Facial 30 £35.00
Mens Treatments 30 £35.00
Mud Envelopment Treatment 60 £60.00
Pedicure 60 £35.00
Salt Scrub 30 £30.00
Sensational eyes 30 £30.00
The Discover Experience 2 £45.00
The Indulge Experience 6 £139.00
Total Spa Relax For Two 6 £55.00
Waxing 0 £0.00
Massage 1 Hour Full Massage 60 £60.00
30 minute Full Massage 30 £35.00
Aromatherapy Massage 30 £35.00
Back Massage 30 £35.00
Head Massage 15 £20.00
Imagine's Sensory Body Massage with Lava Stones 30 £35.00
Raindrop Massage 30 £35.00
Sports Massage 30 £35.00
Mind & Body Fitness Classes 60 £0.00
Personal Fitness Consultation 60 £0.00

Weddings

We give you the control without the responsibility here at the Best Western Dower House Hotel. You make the choices, and we'll make things happen!

dower-house-hotel-wedding-events-01-83242dower-house-hotel-wedding-events-02-83242dower-house-hotel-dining-08-83242dower-house-hotel-bedrooms-22-83242

Wedding service and reception venue

Because each wedding is tailored to suit each bride & grooms requirements, you can be sure that everything will turn out just the way you imagined. From the entertainment to the food and drink, the choice really is yours.

Catering

Our hotel is the perfect choice for great food. Take your pick from a variety of menu options, from full 3 course sit-down meals to hog roasts and barbecues for those looking for a wedding reception with a difference.

Honeymoon Suite

We have a variety of rooms available that would be suitable as a honeymoon suite - the choice is yours. We offer feature rooms with wooden beamed ceilings, large modern double rooms or traditional four poster rooms.

Registrar

Registry office:
Harrogate County council
31 Park Parade, Harrogate, HG1 5AG
01423 506949




For any enquiries please call Jonathan Summerton on 01423 863302

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type HG5 9AL

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J47, 4.00 miles
Nearest train station: Knaresborough, 0.25 miles
Nearest airport: Leeds/Bradford, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)

Address
Bond End
Knaresborough
North Yorkshire
HG5 9AL
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Headingley Stadium (14.1 miles)

  • Elland Road - Leeds Utd FC (22 miles)

  • York Racecourse (16.1 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Mother shiptons cave (0.2 miles)

  • RHS Harlow Carr (4.9 miles)

  • Harewood House (11.1 miles)

  • Knaresborough castle (0.5 miles)

  • Harrogate International centre (3.5 miles)

Shopping

  • Harrogate (3 miles)

  • Leeds (14.9 miles)

  • York (16 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

dower-house-hotel-meeting-space-05-83242

You name it, we can host it. From large residentials to small half-day meetings, there's room for all kinds of events at our delightful hotel.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Nidderdale

The Nidderdale Suite affords a cormfortable, quiet environment, overlooking pleasant patio gardens.
Max numbers 60.

Swaledale

The Swaledale Room is a beautiful small room in the original part of the building next to the front lounge.Next to the Swaledale is the Old Bar which is a small syndicate room for up to 8 delegates.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Nidderdale 60 35 30 30 60
Swaledale 25 15 12 12 18
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 613 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 225
Rating: 4 190
Rating: 3 102
Rating: 2 68
Rating: 1 28
Rating

Total disaster

15/04/2017 Chris C, Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

Worst night sleep in hotel room ever only saving grace we had only booked for the one night. Room 2 - Biggest problem with room foot steps/creaking floors from above, early evening till about 1.30am t... more

Owner Response
Jonathan S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I wish to pass on my apologies again for a disappointing stay. I can assure you that we do take the time to delight our guests and hate to disappoint which, I can clearly see has happened on this occasion. I am sorry that you were awoken from movement in the bedroom above. I was not ware of issues with your steaks, however I am pleased that our Head Chef Victoria took the time to check back with you. It is important to make us aware of any issues prior to departure, and I feel disappointed that you did not explain your issues more clearly, before quoting "Trip Advisor" and posting this review immediately after check out. I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. Best wishes, Jonathan
Rating

Comfortable Room, Restaurant Disappointing

14/04/2017 Skippy000, Melbourne, Australia

Stayed here overnight during a road trip through the UK. The hotel is on the edge of Knaresborough and although next to a fairly busy main road, was quiet. Our room was a good size, well maintained ... more

Owner Response
Jonathan S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that you were not impressed by the dining options. The restaurant frequently receives fantastic feedback and I would hate for this one occasion to deter you from dining again. We do hope that you will return and take the opportunity of staying with us in the future. Best wishes, Jonathan
Rating

Very good but.......

14/04/2017 Scootergirl2013, Preston, United Kingdom

Would love to rate this hotel higher as it had very many good points, but I have been fortunate to stay in some hotels which I could not fault at all and this hotel did fall short in some respects. ... more

Owner Response
Jonathan S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and that the staff looked after you so well. I will pass your kind comments on to the team down in Imagine Spa. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the occupants in the room above. We take on board all guest comments and can assure you that we will be rectifying the issues that you have mentioned. Please do not be strangers, we enjoy your visits. Best wishes, Jonathan
Rating

Wedding and Reception

03/04/2017 Anne T, Knaresborough, United Kingdom

The Dower House was the perfect choice of venue for our Wedding Ceremony and celebrations. The staff were attentive, efficient, very friendly, helpful and professional throughout their very long day a... more

Owner Response
Jonathan S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
CONGRATULATIONS again! Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you had a fabulous wedding day and that the team looked after you so well. They are truly chuffed with your response. The team really enjoy the weddings and all the preparations for the big day - we are pleased that the day went swimmingly. Come back and see us all again soon. Best wishes, Jonathan
Rating

Pleasant stay

02/04/2017 SJFarn, Hampshire

We have just returned from a pleasant 3 night stay at the Dower House Hotel which is ideally situated for both York and Harrogate. We parked the car when we arrived and did not move it until we left a... more

Owner Response
Jonathan S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay from start to finish. We have a secret location but minutes from everywhere. We hope that you will return and take the opportunity of seeing the hotel in a different season. Best wishes, Jonathan