Best Western Dorchester Hotel

70 Church Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia, V9R 5H4, Canada
based on 747 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Theres no better way to explore the beauty of a region than selecting a Nanaimo hotel thats right in the heart of all the adventure.

Other hotels in Nanaimo, BC might try to compete, but guests keep returning to the Best Western Dorchester H
show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out15:00:00 | 11:00:00
70 Church Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia, V9R 5H4, Canada

Reviews of Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 747 reviews
Excellent 29%
Very Good 35%
Average 19%
Poor 10%
Terrible 5%
Rating

Susana_canada, wrote review 22/02/2021

Great location - friendly knowledgeable staff

We had a lovely stay at this historic hotel. It's central location was perfect for touring the downtown area. Very clean with covid protocols in place. We were lucky enough to meet Kyle when we check... more

Owner Response
Julie Park, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind words! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to enjoy all that downtown Nanaimo has to offer! It was a pleasure meeting you, and I hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again, Kyle Guest Services
Rating

swampland2021, wrote review 15/02/2021

The Dorchester

It’s an old building with lots of history. Located downtown on the waterfront with lots of small restaurants and shops and places to walk and see the sites. The staff are friendly and helpful. Qualit... more

Owner Response
Julie Park, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very lucky to have not one but two "Top notch" restaurants in house. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the owners of Top Notch and The View. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the room, as well as your time taking in some of the local shops around the hotel. Please join us again at the Best Western Dorchester any time you are in Nanaimo Thanks, Kyle Guest Services
Rating

c3758, wrote review 21/01/2021

Great service

Great service at the front desk very pleasant and helpful, nice room was perfect for us and our two dogs as well as food from the restaurant was really good. Was in great location went for walk along ... more

Owner Response
Julie Park, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your positive review Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you and your furry family member enjoyed your stay with us. We love that we are able to offer pet friendly guest rooms. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us
Rating

raine498, wrote review 27/12/2020

Lack of organization- even when almost empty

For being so slow at the moment I was pretty disappointed with the service provided. The staff didn’t seem to care too much about the place, other than one friendly lady at the desk. I was told by mul... more

Owner Response
Julie Park, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Dear raine498, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate for sharing your experience with us. On behalf of our team, please accept my sincere apologies for miscommunications happened at the front desk. It looks like there has been misunderstanding of the payment method policy with our newly hired staff. We do take cash payment as long as there's credit card provided for the room. We've had some issues with the rooms that were checked in with cash only with no credit card, and some serious damages were done and we had no way to recoup the damage cost. To prevent this from happening again in the future, we have limited guests without any credit card. And this is norm from other hotels not accepting guests with no credit card to protect hotel safety and secure the safety of the public. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you and we will reassure to retrain staff with more detailed directions. We hope you consider staying with us again so that we can provide superior service in the future. Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to reach me directly. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager
Rating

cherylashby, wrote review 01/12/2020

Above and Beyond

We were blown away by the service and attention received from the Check-in clerk, Server and Chef of The View. Their ability to share in the celebration and excitement of our wedding night, made the ... more

Owner Response
Julie Park, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Cherylashby, Thank you very much for your business with us. On behalf of our entire team, I'd like to express my sincere appreciation for your kind compliments. Congratulations on your wedding and I'm happy to hear that our hardworking team served your needs well and you were satisfied with our service. Your feedback will be gladly shared with the restaurant team as well as hotel staff. We will look forward to welcoming you again in near future. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager