Best Western Dorchester Hotel

70 Church Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia, V9R 5H4, Canada
based on 719 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Theres no better way to explore the beauty of a region than selecting a Nanaimo hotel thats right in the heart of all the adventure.

Other hotels in Nanaimo, BC might try to compete, but guests keep returning to the Best Western Dorchester H
show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out15:00:00 | 11:00:00

Reviews of Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 719 reviews
Excellent 28%
Very Good 36%
Average 20%
Poor 10%
Terrible 5%
Rating

Grant M, wrote review 19/03/2020

Very good location

The hotel was dated but remodeled. Our room was acceptable with a million dollar view of the harbor. We got an early check which was appreciated.The covid virus impacted the hours of the restaurant an... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, Director of Operations at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Grant, Thank you very much for posting your comments on your recent stay at the Best Western Dorchester. Some of your guest rooms do have fantastic views of the inner harbour. With the current COVID 19 crisis, it is unfortunate that we had to close our restaurant due to social distancing requirements. The staff truly do care about providing excellent service to all our guests. Regards Erik Brook Director of Operations
Rating

Inspire82103, wrote review 17/03/2020

Great new restaurant in hotel.

The hotel is lovely. Room was on the smaller side but clean and well kept. The staff is pleasant. We were very impressed by the staff and food at the new restaurant Top Notch Burgers located on the ma... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, Director of Operations at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Good Day Inspire Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Dorchester Hotel Nanaimo. I will forward your fantastic comments about Top Notch Burgers to the owner/chef. They are a great addition to our hotel. Regards Erik Brook Director of Operations
Rating

PookyCake, wrote review 10/03/2020

Warm Room + Stiff Bed = No Sleep

We ended up spending a night at the Best Western Dorchester following a booking snafu at the Coast Bastion. Going in, I was actually looking forward to the brief stay because I kind of liked the Dorch... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, Director of Operations at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Good Day Pookycake Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Best Western Dorchester, yes we are an older historic landmark property in Nanaimo, having been situated as a hotel since the early 1900's. The style of guest room is of the old traditional style of cozy and compact space with all the amenities available. The hotel staff take great pride in providing great service, value and location for all our guest. I am so very sorry that you were not in one of the recently refurbished guest rooms where the new furniture is light in colour and very sleek and contemporary but not loosing the feeling of the hotel. With all older buildings of the early of the last century air conditioning and heating technology has vastly improved. I am so very sorry that the heat was set to high for your arrival and the air conditioning unit was not functioning in the early part of this month. I will have our maintenance look at situation. Thank you again for your comments about your stay, as guest feedback is always welcome. Regards Erik Brook Director of Operations
Rating

B8565GPnathaliec, wrote review 03/03/2020

Lovely Stay

The hotel is in the process of refurbishing as it is a very old hotel in the heart of downtown Nanaimo. The staff is wonderful and the breakfasts were terrific! We will return again this coming May a... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, Director of Operations at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Fantastic Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff are truly the back bone of our business, and they all truly care to provide the best possible accommodation and service. Having a great free hot continental breakfast and guest parking are nice perks as well for a downtown hotel. Thank you again for your comments Regards Erik Brook Director of Operations
Rating

tahnoobill, wrote review 02/03/2020

Wow!

Amazing renovation. The hotel looks great. Service was wonderful. Great breakfast,=. a poo land hot tub would be nice, if they can manage it during the next phase of renovations. We will definitly st... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, Director of Operations at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Good Day Tahnoobill Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Dorchester Nanaimo. Yes we are nearing the end of the room refurbishments, the new restaurant has opened, the hallway carpeting soon to be installed. Thank you again Hope to see you soonest Regards Erik Brook Director of Operations