• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Dorchester Hotel

AAA - 3 Diamond

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Theres no better way to explore the beauty of a region than selecting a Nanaimo hotel thats right in the heart of all the adventure.

Other hotels in Nanaimo, BC might try to compete, but guests keep returning to the Best Western Dorchester Hotel because of the impeccably friendly service, location, and amenities. This Nanaimo hotel is close to the convention centre. Just a quick three-block stroll will deliver you to many popular BC events. How much more can you ask for?

The Nanaimo Convention Centre isnt the only attraction that draws visitors here. The Nanaimo boat races are world-famous. Whether you prefer the Dragon Boat Race or Bath Tub Race, getting on the water (or watching from the bay) is a family-friendly must. Enjoy the views and the adrenaline pumping action of the races.

The Silly Boat Regatta is a much beloved tradition. However, maybe you want something even more exciting. How about a day of bungee jumping? Theres no better way to get your heart pumping. The best part is that this Nanaimo hotel is only a short drive to the best bungee spot in central Vancouver Island.

There are multiple arts festivals nearby if youre looking for a little culture. This harbour view location also means that youre right across the street from the Sea Plane Terminal. Close to BC Ferries, Departure Bay and Duke Point, youve never had it better. Take full advantage of the location of your Nanaimo hotel.

Conventions and meetings are the reason many guests book a stay at this Nanaimo hotel. Bring your appetite to the most important meal of the day, because steaming hot eggs and pancakes, fresh fruits and croissants, a variety of cereal and yogurt and our flavorful coffee are all featured for a nominal fee. We do offer a full a-la-carte breakfast (made to order).

Reserve your next vacation at Best Western Dorchester Hotel and get ready for a trip filled with sightseeing, water sports and fun events!

Recommended to check in through main entrance first, unload your luggage, and then park.

View more

Location

70 Church Street
Nanaimo
British Columbia
V9R 5H4
Canada
AAA - 3 Diamond

Summary

Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00:00 | 11:00:00

Facilities

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type V9R 5H4

Send to Tom Tom

Address
70 Church Street
Nanaimo
British Columbia
V9R 5H4
Canada


What's nearby?

Recreation

  • 60.00 kilometer(s) from Duncan, city of totem poles and native murals

  • 143 kilometer(s) from Victoria, the capital city of British Columbia




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 697 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 186
Rating: 4 254
Rating: 3 146
Rating: 2 73
Rating: 1 38
Rating

Best Western Dorchester in Naniamo

20/11/2019 gillianioco, Port Moody, Canada

Everything is very clean, staff is all very friendly and helpful. Beds and pillows are comfortable, lots of fluffy, white towels, great TV and WiFi. However, the furniture and the decor of the room is... more

Rating

Wonderful Location

18/11/2019 Bert C, Seattle, United States

This historic hotel is located right in the hub of Nanaimo's water front experience. Park your car in the hotel's lot and walk to great eateries or a casual walk along the waterfront. Request room 4... more

Owner Response
juliepD4686RN, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Bert C, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate for your time sharing your experience with the viewers on trip advisor. I’m glad to know that you’ve enjoyed our location and the panoramic view from the room you’ve stayed in. We’re also in the midst of updating our guest rooms and would be completed at the end of December. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Nanaimo and staying with us again. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager
Rating

Avoid this facility

12/11/2019 862swatson,

The lobby and breakfast area look nice and new. The rooms and hallways are very dated and very small. Even in my "family suite" I had to turn sideways to walk past the end of the bed and the dresser. ... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Watson, Thank you for staying with us and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced. As mentioned on my previous response to your another survey, our reservation history shows that the reservation came in the night before your arrival, and the room type and the rates were never changed after the time of your booking. I'm sure there must have been some miscommunication. We'll always honor the room type or rates after the booking is received unless if it's agreed upon or upgraded for a better view with same bedding configuration. Especially, we will never change the bedding configuration from a King room to a 2 Double with sofa bed suite with extra charge. Once again, I'm deeply sorry that we didn't meet your expectation this time and any inconvenience that this miscommunication have caused, and hope we can accommodate your needs with superior care on your next stay. Please feel free to let me know if I can be any further assistance. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager
Rating

DO NOT STAY HERE!!

05/11/2019 Jaguar5, Vancouver, Canada

I have to say the front desk staff is amazing but that’s where the good ends. Don’t let the lobby fool you! This hotel has not been updated since what looks like the 70’s and the rooms are horrible.... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jaguar5, I'm very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay and we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We've been working on property improvement for last 5 years progressively to accommodate our guest's needs better. So far, we have completed exterior renovation, public area such as lobby, restaurant, meeting rooms, and the hallway carpet was replaced 3 years ago, guestroom flooring were redone 2 years ago. The hallway lightings were all redone recently. We admit that it was not a good choice of carpet. But the good news is we're renovating our guest rooms with new furniture, new wall, and new hallway carpet will be replaced again soon and projected completion is by January. We hope you consider staying with us again near future and enjoy the newly updated rooms. I'm sure you're already aware. But for future guests, we also now offer free breakfast in addition to free parking. Please feel free to let me know if I can be any further assistance. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager
Rating

Showing its age

28/10/2019 Heidi M, Abbotsford, Canada

This hotel is quite old, and you can tell. The lobby is deceiving - it looks very modern and lovely Then you go upstairs and all you see is shades of brown. The carpet is old, floors are creaky, ceil... more

Owner Response
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Heidi M, Thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry to hear the inconvenience you've experienced. We had no intention to deceive our guests, we just have been taking steps for renovation every year. We've started 5 years ago with restaurant and lobby, and meeting rooms, and this winter, we're updating our guestrooms and hallways. We hope we can accommodate your needs with newly updated guest rooms in near future. Sorry about the condition of the bedding, and will assure with our cleaning team that any likely situation won't happen again. Please feel free to contact me if I can be any further assistance. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager