• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Dolphin Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Picturesque town of St Ives

Best Western Dolphin Hotel boasts (in its own humble way of course) 67 luxury bedrooms, a beautiful restaurant, bar areas and a wonderful location perched on the banks of the Great Ouse in the picturesque town of St Ives in Cambridgeshire. With spectacular views of beautiful meadows, the river and the amazing historic 15th Century bridge, youll have everything you need for a relaxing retreat.

View more

Location

London Road
St Ives
Cambridgeshire
PE27 5EP
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 08443 876079*

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Sauna, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted We offer accomdation for pets, in rooms 60 and 61
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

dolphin-hotel-dining-12-84229

Waterside Restaurant

The 150 seat Waterside Restaurant is elegantly furnished and has impressive views across the River Ouse and 120 acres of meadow land. We offer a tempting menu on lunchtimes and evenings which includes a wide variety of dishes to suit everyone's taste - with fresh local produce as well as more exotic dishes. Our very popular Sunday Carvery Lunch offers a variety of roast joints and vegetarian dishes together with a range of seasonal vegetables and accompaniments.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
dolphin-hotel-dining-15-84229

Lounge Bar

The Lounge Bar provides a pleasant atmosphere in a delightful riverside setting. A wide range of beers, wines, spirits and traditional ales are served with a smile and the bar also sports one of the best ranges of whisky in the area.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Best Western Dolphin Hotel is set in a unique location for your wedding, and is also perfect for any party or special occasion if you want to return for anniversaries or birthdays in future. Whether you arrive by car or by boat (which we can also arrange) our magical venue offers first class service and luxury accommodation in a peaceful and beautiful location. With its own private entrance, a dedicated bar, sprung wooden dance floor and private toilet and cloakroom facilities, the Meadow Suite is fully self-contained and can accommodate up to 150 people for wedding receptions, civil ceremonies or anniversary parties. We offer a range of catering options to suit your requirements.

Best Western Dolphin Hotel is licensed to allow civil ceremonies to be conducted in The Meadow Suite. Civil wedding ceremonies need to be arranged with the local registrar.

Registrar

Registry office:
Cambridgeshire County Council
Lawrence Court, Princes Street, Huntingdon PE29 3P
0345 045 1363




The Dolphin Hotel is probably the most popular venue for wedding receptions in the area.
Its main room is the self-contained

For any enquiries please call James Snell and Kyle Eaton on 01480 466966

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type PE27 5EP

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J26, 1.60 miles
Nearest train station: Huntingdon, 6.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 41.00 miles
Free parking on site (300 spaces)

Address
London Road
St Ives
Cambridgeshire
PE27 5EP
England


What's nearby?

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our friendly, helpful staff will be happy to assist with all of the arrangements needed for your event, including the supply of audio visual equipment, catering requirements and accommodation. Our Meadow Suite is a fully self-contained, purpose built banqueting and conference facility, equipped with a central sound-proof divider allowing the room to be split into two, giving maximum flexibility for your meeting or conference. For easy access as well as easy planning, the hotel is situated two miles from the A1 / A14 and is only 25-30 minutes from Cambridge and Peterborough.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Meadow suite 0 0 0 0 0
Terrace Bar 0 0 0 0 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 414 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 87
Rating: 4 103
Rating: 3 103
Rating: 2 63
Rating: 1 58
Rating

Overpriced

07/01/2018 Am1900,

Stayed here for a friends birthday party. We paid £125 for an executive room. The room was fine but nothing special. The bed was comfortable but nothing more than you would get in a chain budget hotel... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, Owner at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us three months ago, although I do feel it is a long time before providing feedback. I very much appreciate you praising our bar staff and will pass on your comments. I am also pleased to read that you found the room acceptable even though the bathroom had not been refurbished at your time of stay. You may recall we had notices at reception advising all guests of the refurbishment in progress. There is no excuse whatsoever for a crate of water to be in a public area and I apologise that this caused you concern. I have gone back through our diary and cannot locate any issue raised by you during your stay. I am sorry that you found the breakfast disappointing, but had you have spoken to our waiting staff we could have remedied that for you. The hotel does indeed have a lovely location and the new owners are putting substantial sums of investment into the refurbishment to realise the full potential. I hope that we can welcome you again in the future and I would ask that you make yourself known to myself or Kyle Eaton, the assistant manager. it is always good for us to have the opportunity to talk to guests face to face for feedback. James Snell - General Manager
Rating

Very disappointing stay

31/12/2017 RachPinn, Portishead, United Kingdom

We were staying at the hotel a we were attending a wedding in a nearby hotel. We were directed to our rooms - which whilst they looked as if they had been decorated recently, there were unfinished are... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the hotel – I appreciate your time in doing so. However, I was the on call duty manager for the entire weekend but you do not appear to have requested to speak to a manager or, lodged your concerns with the front desk during your stay – had you have done so, I am sure that we could have resolved some of the issues. It is never easy to address matters after the guests have left the hotel. I must point out that several other guests thought the property to be cold and I do believe that room temperature is very personal and I could most certainly have sorted it for you. I do not accept that we can be responsible for noise from the town if inconsiderate individuals choose to celebrate the New Year off site in the way in which you describe. However I would have endeavoured to move you to another part of the hotel had you spoken to me. Our refurbishment is ongoing as our notices at reception and in the corridors state so, I am sorry that your room was incomplete during your stay. Again, I apologise for the state of the breakfast room and will certainly deal with the member of staff concerned through our own internal procedures if this is what actually happened – obviously I am investigating this fully. I would like to invite you to contact me personally if you choose to visit us again in the future and would like to take this opportunity of wishing you all the best for the coming New Year. James Snell General Manager
Rating

Lovely location but hotel was tired, grubby and overpriced. Food was non existant

29/12/2017 PDF001, Lincoln, United Kingdom

There was no bar or restaurant on the night I visited. I was advised of this ( voicemail after I booked) but it was a surprise non the less. The room was clean and functional but the overall feel of ... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, Owner at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time review us. I am sorry that it was not made clear to you on booking that we were operating our bar and restaurant on restricted hours during the holiday season. The hotel is going through a complete refurbishment as our notices at reception clearly state - I am sorry that you were placed in a room that was not completed as we still have 22 out of 67 rooms to finish. Although our breakfast did not meet your expectations, we have received very positive feedback from other guests. Our car park was flooded as it is situated on a flood plain and it floods our car park and surrounding land when the gates are opened down the river at Bedford. It is at the discretion of the environmental agency when this happens; we only joined Best Western branding two weeks ago and we are now in the process with a very precise deadline of completing our refurbishment. The entire management team here at the Dolphin are looking forward to completion of ongoing work. James Snell General Manager
Rating

Nice location

23/12/2017 mrsnolly, London, United Kingdom

Went for works Christmas party. Lovely meal and great to have a dance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely give the restaurant a try in the new year. Haven’t had a works party like this ... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, Owner at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us; we look forward to welcoming you again. Happy New Year to you and your guests! James Snell General Manager
Rating

Save yourself the embarrassment!

21/12/2017 kallmebluff, Cambs

Decided to take our guests from America here for lunch as we knew the location was so lovely. Never have we been so embarrassed! The restaurant looked very tired and dated, our table and cutlery were ... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, General Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback following lunch yesterday. I do apologise for the staff shortage which was due to absence through sickness at short notice. I know that an apology was given to you for the slow service offering you drinks, and we gave you these complementary by way of an apology, which you appear not to have mentioned in your review. Coffee was also offered at the end of your meal, which again was not charged to the guest who accepted this gesture. As we could only offer you one vegetarian choice your two vegetarian guests meals were only charged as one. I have spoken to the staff concerned who you considered to be unhappy and abrupt, and I have dealt with this through our own internal procedures. On behalf of the management team and myself, I very much appreciate you taking the time to review your visit. James Snell (General Manager)