Best Western Dolphin Hotel

London Road, St Ives, Cambridgeshire, PE27 5EP, England
based on 644 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Dolphin Hotel

Picturesque town of St Ives

Best Western Dolphin Hotel boasts (in its own humble way of course) 67 luxury bedrooms, bar areas and a wonderful location perched on the banks of the Great Ouse in the picturesque town of St Ives in Cambridgeshire. With spectacular views of beautifu show more

Free parking is available on site for overnight guests of the hotel.
The hotel has 2 pet friendly rooms must be requested at time of booking. A charge of £25.00 per pet per day applies and a maximum of 2 small pets per room. £150.00 damage deposit which is refunded if no damage in room.
Hotels Gym will be closed until further notice for refurbishment
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Pets Allowed, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
We offer accomdation for pets, on request only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Terrace Bar

Terrace Bar

The Terrace Bar offers a quality venue for relaxing beside the river in the evening, and is furnished with luxurious leather chairs, leather sofas and Freeview television.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Best Western Dolphin Hotel is set in a unique location for your wedding, and is also perfect for any party or special occasion if you want to return for anniversaries or birthdays in future. Whether you arrive by car or by boat (which we can also arrange) our magical venue offers first class service and luxury accommodation in a peaceful and beautiful location. With its own private entrance, a dedicated bar, sprung wooden dance floor and private toilet and cloakroom facilities, the Meadow Suite is fully self-contained and can accommodate up to 150 people for wedding receptions, civil ceremonies or anniversary parties. We offer a range of catering options to suit your requirements.

Best Western Dolphin Hotel is licensed to allow civil ceremonies to be conducted in The Meadow Suite. Civil wedding ceremonies need to be arranged with the local registrar.

  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call James Snell and Kyle Eaton on 01480 466966

Registrar

Registry office:
Cambridgeshire County Council
Lawrence Court, Princes Street, Huntingdon PE29 3P
0345 045 1363

Meetings & Events

Our friendly, helpful staff will be happy to assist with all of the arrangements needed for your event, including the supply of audio visual equipment, catering requirements and accommodation. Our Mea...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Our friendly, helpful staff will be happy to assist with all of the arrangements needed for your event, including the supply of audio visual equipment, catering requirements and accommodation. Our Meadow Suite is a fully self-contained, purpose built banqueting and conference facility, equipped with a central sound-proof divider allowing the room to be split into two, giving maximum flexibility for your meeting or conference. For easy access as well as easy planning, the hotel is situated two miles from the A1 / A14 and is only 25-30 minutes from Cambridge and Peterborough.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Theatre
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Meadow suite 150 0 0 0 0
Terrace Bar 0 0 0 0 0

Reviews of Best Western Dolphin Hotel

Traveller Overview:
3.0 Rating: 644 reviews
Excellent 18%
Very Good 23%
Average 25%
Poor 14%
Terrible 17%
Rating

crazycas, wrote review 02/01/2020

Floods and Building Work!

We usually stay here whilst visiting family. We knew before we went that there was flooding and some building work. Our worry was the amount of parking space available as guests normally have to par... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, Manager at Best Western Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Due to the heavy rains, the flood gates were released causing flooding in the local flood plain areas. Our parking is free subject to availability. Unfortunately, due to this circumstance beyond our control, parking was limited on site and street parking had to be used. Thankfully, you did find parking space so I guess there was not an issue with parking. The hotel does have 2 restaurants and both are still in use. The refurbishments are ongoing in the old bar. Breakfast is not in the Meadow Suite but remains in the main restaurant. Evening meals are in the Meadow Suite. As for the entrance, the entrance to the Meadow Suite is a separate door to the reception but that has always been the case, even before the refurbishments. The entrance from the executive rooms to the restaurants (old bar) and the Meadow Suite requires a short walk outside--about 3 meters from the executive rooms to the door. We do look forward to have you re-visit us again in the summer.
Rating

621maryf, wrote review 01/01/2020

Don't judge a hotel by it's picture

Looks absolutely lovely online, should have closed down for refurbishing project. No consierge services, carpark flooded so had to sign car in daily to prevent fines, very inconvenient as we planned t... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, Manager at Best Western Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest It is unfortunate the car park is flooded. This is due to the heavy rains. We do have limited uphill parking available in the upper car park but it is subject to availability. The refurbishment project is only ongoing in the old bar and old reception. The rooms nor the restaurants as well as the Meadow Suite Bar are unaffected and thus, the decision to remain open. We do not have a consierge service unfortunately. However, we do not advertise nor state one would be provided. We do hope you do return as the refurbishments works will make this hotel a standard in the area.
Rating

507nicolat, wrote review 29/12/2019

Christmas gift

Bought as a groupon gift & after reading reviews that wernt particularly glowing I wasnt expecting much but though the hotel is unnder going redevelopment I was pleasantly surprised how lovely The Dol... more

Owner Response
Ravi G, Manager at Best Western Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments. They will be passed on to staff. The restaurant actually opens at 6 and closes at 8:45 for last orders. We are closed on Sunday evenings. If there was miscommunication from our park, we do apologise. We hope to see you back shortly.
Rating

488ROBERTH, wrote review 22/12/2019

Very good

Me and the wife had a one night stay for a works Christmas party. The hotel is very good, rooms are clean and tidy. Parts of the hotel are a little dated but work going on I'm sure it'll look great. T... more

Rating

MikeS9659, wrote review 12/12/2019

Take your overcoat.

Early last month I took friends to the Dolphin for a coffee and a sandwich in the lounge. We should have left as the place was freezing and then the sandwidges we had were pretty poorly made and prese... more

Owner Response
Managerproperty, General Manager at Best Western Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mike The heating pump in the Meadow Suite had broken down. We had called a technician in to repair and had to order a new one. A new one has now been installed and there is proper heating in the Meadow Suite. There is refurbishments ongoing in the old bar but that area is sealed off and does not affect any of the hotel operations.