Very disappointing stay
31/12/2017 RachPinn, Portishead, United Kingdom
We were staying at the hotel a we were attending a wedding in a nearby hotel. We were directed to our rooms - which whilst they looked as if they had been decorated recently, there were unfinished are... more
We were staying at the hotel a we were attending a wedding in a nearby hotel. We were directed to our rooms - which whilst they looked as if they had been decorated recently, there were unfinished areas or areas where corners had definitely been cut! There were wires poking out behind the mirror in the bathroom from the light, the light fittings had been moved, so there were unpainted areas of the ceiling, the door fitting for the catch was missing & the bathroom doors were old & dated in comparison to the rest of the bedroom. We went to the bar late afternoon, but was told it was closed due to the time of year - 30th Dec - Surely this is one of the busiest times of the year for hotels! The bedrooms were too warm - uncomfortably so. We were able to turn one radiator off, but weren't able to turn the other one off! We therefore had to sleep with the window open but the noise - drunken revellers walking home - made it difficult to sleep. We were told breakfast was served from 7.30am to 9.30am. We turned up at 9am and no tables were laid, no staff there to greet us and quite frankly, it was like a ghost town. A member of staff arrived eventually and told us breakfast was a bit of a 'mish mash' - Not really selling themselves! Overall, a very disappointing stay - we definitely won't be returning! Such a shame as the location is beautiful! less
Ravi G, Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the hotel – I appreciate your time in doing so. However, I was the on call duty manager for the entire weekend but you do not appear to have requested to speak to a manager or, lodged your concerns with the front desk during your stay – had you have done so, I am sure that we could have resolved some of the issues. It is never easy to address matters after the guests have left the hotel.
I must point out that several other guests thought the property to be cold and I do believe that room temperature is very personal and I could most certainly have sorted it for you.
I do not accept that we can be responsible for noise from the town if inconsiderate individuals choose to celebrate the New Year off site in the way in which you describe. However I would have endeavoured to move you to another part of the hotel had you spoken to me.
Our refurbishment is ongoing as our notices at reception and in the corridors state so, I am sorry that your room was incomplete during your stay.
Again, I apologise for the state of the breakfast room and will certainly deal with the member of staff concerned through our own internal procedures if this is what actually happened – obviously I am investigating this fully.
I would like to invite you to contact me personally if you choose to visit us again in the future and would like to take this opportunity of wishing you all the best for the coming New Year.