Really not my best choice of hotel
13/05/2017 claykicker, London, United Kingdom
I chose this hotel for a two night break in Cheshire based on our experience of BW's Castle Green Hotel in Kendal last year. Sadly this hotel was poor by comparison. On arrival in reception I didn't f... more
I chose this hotel for a two night break in Cheshire based on our experience of BW's Castle Green Hotel in Kendal last year. Sadly this hotel was poor by comparison. On arrival in reception I didn't feel the hotel had any character and although the reception staff were pleasant enough they did not match the Kendal staff for customer care. The lift to our room had quite a foul smell on entry and could be quite off putting when coming down in the morning for breakfast. The room itself (room 109) was quite nice and clean. The bed was squashed into an alcove which was so tight that it was a delicate balancing act to get out without smashing your toes into the the bed support or falling over the lagging on the radiator pipes. I did manage to kick the bed support one night which was extremely painful and the owners should think themselves lucky that I did not break a toe. Apart from that the room was quiet and I did manage to get two good nights sleep. The window overlooked a scruffy yard between two parts of the hotel so at least I had that to thank for a quiet night. Breakfast was a buffet style affair which was OK but not exceptional. I have coeliacs and during our stay in Kendal I was provided with Gluten free sausage and bread each morning. Here I was told sorry we don't have gf sausage and was only offered gf bread on one morning. Before using Best Western again I would have to look closely at each hotels reviews and not just go on name alone. In Kendal the staff would have a chat with us in the evening and ask what we had been up to that day. The staff in this hotel had very little interest or interaction with us it's customers often not bothering to say good evening when we returned from a day out. It was disappointing and I would not choose to stay here in future. Sorry less
Rachael B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review
On behalf of our team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
We are sorry that we did not get it right on this occasion but hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel Team