We have been staying at this hotel every time we come to Corpus Christi for years now. We haven’t been in a while and this was our first time back in a couple years. Unfortunately, this might have been our last stay.
To start, it seems that everything in the area was unreasonably expensive. We only stayed for only one night on a Friday in the beginning of June, and it was still nearly $275 including taxes and fees - and this was the cheapest option. I’m not sure if this was just some sort of post-pandemic surge pricing, but this seems extremely overpriced for what you get.
The hotel was problematic, as well. Check in was late - the staff was very polite, but we got a text saying our rooms were ready at 2:00 PM only to show up and be told we would have to wait until 5:00. When we did arrive, the entire floor that our room was on smelled like marijuana the whole time… not a pleasant smell.
After getting back from a long and hot day around town, we found out that there was NO HOT WATER in the bathroom once we all tried to take showers and clean up. I understand that we take a lot of things for granted in our society, but I don’t think it’s reasonable to expect hot water in a shower when you’re paying close to $300 a night.
Additionally, the free internet did not work, out air conditioner was stuck on a very hot temperature, the mattress was hard as a rock, and there are only two tiny elevators for a fully booked, eleven story hotel which made going up and down problematic. Finally, for some reason, the balcony doors are sealed shut and so you can’t even go outside to enjoy the beautiful views of the bay and marina.
On a positive note, the hotel is in a great location, the staff is friendly, and, while still dated, the rooms were clean. Unfortunately, there were just too many problems to recommend staying here. We likely won’t be back. At these prices, you’re better off just spending a couple extra bucks for the Omni, or staying at one of the newer chain hotels away from the waterfront. less
Gabe Pena, General Manager at Best Western Corpus Christi, responded to this review
I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short. At the time, you were staying with us, we experienced a boiler tank failure causing the water temperatures not to exceed 110 degrees. Due to shortages in contractors and parts the repairs took a little longer than expected. We will do all we can to ensure this does not happen in the future and hope you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to Corpus Christi.