22/02/2018 Derek H,
this hotel is not a 4 star hotel, scum in and on the walls of the Jacuzzi. a four foot pool that was so murky you couldn't see the bottom. rusty brown stains on the bath towel and on the pillows, Duri... more
this hotel is not a 4 star hotel, scum in and on the walls of the Jacuzzi. a four foot pool that was so murky you couldn't see the bottom. rusty brown stains on the bath towel and on the pillows, During my stay, on one night the room was not cleaned and the towels not replaced. On another occasion house keeping walked into my room without even knocking... the power breaker tripped in my room.. they told me I had too many electrical devices plugged in, I have only my computer plugged in. now with minus 20 temp outside the heater broke.. a terrible sound from the bearings, I turned it off. should I change rooms. its 2am now I need to be at work by 5am... another great night. I call a 1 800 customer service number... sorry the office is only open from 7am to 8pm. I called reservations, they are available 24hrs a day the lady couldn't help me but agreed and admitted that it was a terrible business practice. I will stay here for another 3 hrs then I will check out and never return... I hear the holiday inn across the road was a much better place. this hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel... to suggest this seems like a joke less
JunL941, General Manager at Best Western Cold Lake Inn, responded to this review
Dear Derek H,
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I value all of our guest’s comments, positive or negative, so that we can continue to make improvements to our hotel. I want to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at my hotel for an extended period of time over the past few months. I apologize that your most recent stay was not what you were expecting. From our discussion on the day you checked out, you were extremely upset and frustrated (and understandably so) when the heating unit in your room started making a loud noise. This happened when you returned to the hotel around early evening. As it was your last night you did not want the inconvenience of moving all your belongings and chose to accept a space heater to warm the room instead. As I was concerned whether the room would be warm enough and of the possibility of the electrical breaker being overtaxed, I had offered you and your colleague 2 options. The first was to give you 2 complimentary rooms so you would be more comfortable, while keeping all your belongings in the room with the noisy heater. The second was to have my Maintenance personnel replace the unit. Your colleague chose to move to another room, while you chose to stay but did not want us changing out the unit. Later on in the evening, my worst fears materialized, and the electricity in your room went out due to too many items being plugged in. You became even more upset and expressed this to my staff who were very apologetic. They were able to address this right away. As you felt we were not handling the situation to your satisfaction you requested the contact to Best Western Customer Care. When you called them, their office unfortunately was closed for the day. My staff were available, and have always been available, 24h to assist with any issues you may have had.
Throughout the time you stayed at my hotel, my Front Desk team and I felt that you had become part of our Best Western family. We did not know all the issues you were experiencing. You only advised us on the very last night of your stay due to the frustration over your heater. Had we known, we would certainly have addressed each and every one of your concerns. We want all guests to have a perfect stay, but sometimes this does not happen as we are human and we do make mistakes. We will take your comments and work towards making changes to improve our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope to provide a better experience in the future.