Best Western Clifton Hotel

The Leas, Clifton Gardens, Folkestone, Kent, CT20 2EB, England
based on 908 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Clifton Hotel

Best Western Clifton Hotel.

Are you looking for a fine place to stay in Folkestone? Then look no further. The Best Western Clifton Hotel in Folkestone is perched on the famous Leas, with views across the Channel to France. Celebrated as a Folkestone landmark, the hotel is fabul show more

No onsite car park . Hotel offers parking voucher for £3 per day for street parking, however availability cannot be guaranteed.
Breakfast is a pre-plated cooked breakfast delivered to the table
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to all floors, Restaurants
There is parking available nearby.
Pets not accepted
Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00
The Leas, Clifton Gardens, Folkestone, Kent, CT20 2EB, England
What 3 Words: sparrows.tribal.magazine

Restaurants & Bars

For fine evening dining or a light and informal lunch, visit our new Marco Pierre White Restaurant Bar and Grill restaurant and Ocean Bleu bar. We are proud to serve you some of the most exceptional food around that you would expect from a Marco Pierre White restaurant whilst you sit back and admire our impressive gardens next to the hotel

  • Marco Pierre White Steakhouse
  • Costa Coffee Lounge
  • Ocean Bleu Bar & lounge

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill treats guests to signature steaks, timeless English and French classics, and a comprehensive selection of premium cocktails. The menu is exclusively curated by Marco himself and is the perfect setting for any occasion from an intimate dinner for two to a family celebration. FREE car parking for all Marco Pierre White dining patrons subject to availability. Ask reception on arrival for details.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 11:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary

Costa Coffee Lounge

The Costa Coffee lounge overlooks the sun terrace where one can enjoy a nice coffee & pastry. The Pastry Chef at the hotel prepares a superb range of pastries and cakes daily. If you're feeling peckish, there is a varied selection of hot and cold snacks. Open from midday to midnight, you can enjoy a warm welcome and convivial company whatever time you visit.

Opening hours
Weekend times may vary

Ocean Bleu Bar & lounge

Overlooking the Famous Leas and the English Channel it offers a great place to relax. Open from 10 am each day the specialities available include seafood and a range of gins and champagne

Opening hours
Weekend times may vary


If you're looking for a wonderful wedding venue in Folkestone, the Best Western Clifton Hotel fits the bill. We have excellent facilities for wedding receptions, private luncheons or dinner parties, and can offer the perfect venue for parties of 6 to 100 persons.

For any enquiries please call Logesh Waran on 01303 851231

Meetings & Events

With its superb location and close links across the Channel, the Best Western Clifton Hotel is a great conference venue in Folkestone. Our function rooms feature stylish floor to ceiling windows, as w...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

With its superb location and close links across the Channel, the Best Western Clifton Hotel is a great conference venue in Folkestone. Our function rooms feature stylish floor to ceiling windows, as well as wall-to-wall hospitality from our attentive staff.

The Pleydell room is situated on the ground floor overlooking the garden area and is suitable for meetings and dinner dance parties.

The Romney room is situated on the ground floor, overlooking the garden area. It's suitable for training courses and can be used in conjunction with the Pleydell room, for some extra space.

The Garden room is situated on the ground floor and overlooks the garden area. The suite is ideal for smaller meeting and private dinner parties.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Pleydell 80 32 32 30 75
Romney 50 18 20 20 40
Garden 40 14 14 20 32
Bouverie 40 14 16 18 0

Reviews of Best Western Clifton Hotel

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 908 reviews
Excellent 30%
Very Good 33%
Average 20%
Poor 9%
Terrible 7%

Emmalrburton, wrote review 26/07/2021

Great stay

The location is great. Reception, shared hotel areas were really nice. Staff super efficient , welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was great. We had room 119 which has a lovely view and being over the f... more

Owner Response
neil lomas, Other at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Emma Thank you for your review and kind words regarding the location and our team, this is very much appreciated. I have to agree, there is a wonderful 'vibe' around Folkestone at the moment and I am so pleased you managed to enjoy it. We were scheduled to commence with a full bedroom refurbishment in April 2020, however, due to the pandemic and the hotel being forced to closed this was cancelled. We are planning to restart this as soon as restrictions have been lifted and our sector begins to regain it's confidence. This program will resolve all of the issues you have mentioned and I hope, should you return in the future, you will be able to see & enjoy the improvements we will be undertaking. Once again, thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read Kindest regards Neil

Charlotte E, wrote review 26/07/2021

Lovely hotel with friendly staff

Lovely hotel. Had a fabulous room with a sea view. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was great both breakfast and dinner. Close to everything. Check in and out was easy. Would recommend to... more

Owner Response
neil lomas, Other at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Charlotte Thank you for your review and the wonderful feedback therein, this was such a pleasure to read and on behalf of everyone in the hotel, thank you for your recommendation. I hope we have the chance to be of service to you again in the future Kindest regards Neil

597dilips, wrote review 24/07/2021

Terrible customer service

I was leading a Battle of Britain tour for ‘The Cultural Experience’ and stayed here for two nights. The hotel itself is a little above the average tired old Victorian seafront premises - but e end as... more

Owner Response
neil lomas, Other at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review and the comments therein, With the greatest of respect I wholeheartedly disagree with your comments. I have a great team of people working with me, who, as well as having to deal with the pressures of COVID and all the subsequent issues that raises, they also have to deal with a shortage of supplies, staffing & unruly guests all of which are beyond their control. I will therefore not be sacking any of them as you suggested but instead I will be praising them for being the kind, considerate & loyal individuals that they are, There is also another band from the 80's called Huey Lewis & The News who sang ' The Power of Love' which I would much rather my team pay attention to Regards Neil

Richard W, wrote review 21/07/2021

Lovely hotel but trip ruined by one of their contractors at the end

My wife and I had a short break at this hotel last week and greatly enjoyed our stay. Great location, really friendly staff and some lovely culinary options within the hotel (highly recommend the Marc... more

Owner Response
neil lomas, Other at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Richard Thank you for your email and once again our apologies for the distress your wife had upon departing the hotel. As discussed with both of you on the day, I will and have contacted the contractors employer to carry out an investigation into your allegations and for them to carry out whatever procedures they need to following the completion of this. Since the incident took place I have not seen said driver returning to the hotel. I can, in now way, influence their investigation and only partake or be involved upon their request. I have asked them to contact you with an outcome once this has been concluded. Due to the location of the hotel and the lack of loading bays provided, all our suppliers have special dispensation to park directly in front of the building for the purpose of loading/unloading. I am grateful to you both for your feedback and for allowing me to take it forwards and for your kind comments about all other aspects of your stay. Once again, thank you for your comments they have been very helpful Kindest regards Neil

Johnbrick, wrote review 19/07/2021

You can’t fault the staff here excellent staff and hotel.

I have been staying at the Clifton since February as I work in Folkestone during the week and stay 4-5 nights per week. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are very professional, polite, curious... more

Owner Response
neil lomas, Other at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear John On behalf of the team within the hotel thank you for your review and the kind words of praise & support therein, these are very much appreciated. I am really pleased you are enjoying your time in the hotel and I hope you continue to stay and savour the steaks & cocktails :-) Warmest regards Neil