• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Cedars Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

A lovely spot in Suffolk

Best Western The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant is a real home away from home. A 15th Century building perched on the edge of the Cedars Park and close to the A14 for easy access to anywhere you'd like to go. With Stowmarket as your base you have your pick of places to visit nearby, and yo'ull have the luxury of returning each evening to traditional English cuisine in our 60 seater Restaurant and a drink in the rustic oak beamed Cedars Bar.

View more

Location

Needham Road
Stowmarket
Suffolk
IP14 2AJ
England
To make a reservation please call 0800 393130 (Freephone). For all other enquiries please call 01449 612668

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 10:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Peter Bulkeley

cedars-hotel-and-restaurant-dining-03-84231

Cedars Restaurant

Offering a host of freshly cooked English dishes every day, our menu is as pleasant as our surroundings at the Cedars Restaurant. We can seat up to 60 guests, and when youre one of them you can choose from three courses of sumptuous traditional English dishes, including 'Proper' puddings such as Spotted Dick.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:15 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
cedars-hotel-and-restaurant-dining-13-84231

Cedars Bar and Lounge

The 15th Century Oak beamed Cedars Bar is all about serving up local beers and beverages in a welcoming atmosphere - with real ales to enjoy (from the Greene King Brewery at Bury St Edmunds just 9 miles away) and open fires in colder months. A bar snack menu is available every day and our Traditional Sunday Roast is very popular too.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Stowmarket Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Standard
Location: On Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 6114 Yards
No handicap required

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £36.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes

Woodbridge Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: heath / forest
Location: On Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6299 Yards
Handicap required

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

Whether youre planning a small intimate wedding or large wedding for up to 100 people, we have the facilities you need to guarantee big smiles on your big day.

The large Gainsborough suite is an ideal location for weddings with its private bar, entrance and cloakroom and doors leading to the beautiful gardens surrounded by Conifers. The suite can be dressed to impress, and a range of options are available including a traditional wedding breakfast menu, canapes, hot and cold fork and finger buffets. Discos, Bands, Magicians, Toastmasters, Guitarists, Singers and Comedians are available too, so please ask our events co-ordinator. For photos, the rear gardens are perfect as is our very own love bench.

Wedding Receptions at Th Cedars Hotel

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Sharon Haynes on 01449 612668

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP14 2AJ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J50, 1.00 miles
Nearest train station: Stowmarket, 1.40 miles
Nearest airport: Norwich, 39.00 miles
Free parking on site (90 spaces)
On site disabled parking (5 spaces)

Address
Needham Road
Stowmarket
Suffolk
IP14 2AJ
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Stowmarket Town Football Club (1.6 miles)

  • Ipswich Town Football Club (13 miles)

  • Stowmarket Rugby Union Football Club (2.3 miles)

  • Mid Suffolk Leisure Centre (2 miles)

  • Mid Suffolk Showground (7 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Museum of Anglian Life (1.5 miles)

  • Mid Sufolk Light Railway Museum (13 miles)

  • Rattlesden Gliding Club (1 miles)

  • PLayworld Ocean Adventure (3 miles)

  • Suffolk Owl Sanctuary (6 miles)

Shopping

  • Ipswich (12 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (17 miles)

  • Norwich City Centre (38 miles)

  • Colchester (27 miles)

  • Cambridge (46 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our well-equipped and welcoming hotel is perched on the edge of the cedars Business Park and attracts a lot of conferences for the large corporations in the area by day (our largest suite holds up to 120 people) as well as community meetings and functions by night. The Gainsborough Suite is a light, high ceiling meeting and function room with its own traditional wooden bar facility - and can be split into three separate function rooms. It also has its own entrance to avoid the hustle and bustle of busy Reception areas.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Gainsborough 100 60 40 40 100
Constable 20 12 12 14 14
Restaurant 0 0 0 0 50
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 238 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 104
Rating: 4 63
Rating: 3 36
Rating: 2 18
Rating: 1 17
Rating

Extremely Basic facilities

14/04/2019 Adventure-gremlin, London, United Kingdom

The standard of the rooms are poor and the bathroom was really tiny. The shower cable was broken and leaked whilst in use. We were awoken several times by staff moving furniture around late at night. ... more

Owner Response
JennyCK28, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review The Cedars. I apologise if you were woken by any noise in the hotel. Occasionally, if there has been a large event in our restaurant, we have to prepare the room for breakfast late at night. This is usually done in a quiet and timely manner and I am disappointed if, in this instance, it was not the case. As you will have seen by the plans in our reception area the hotel is scheduled to undergo an major building and refurbishment programme, I hope we can welcome you back when this is completed.
Rating

Good and Decent Hotel

27/03/2019 juliehF1545ZU,

In the area for business, nice comfortable hotel which is reasonably priced with breakfast included. The staff are friendly, the hotel has age (old coaching inn with extensions), clean and an ideal po... more

Owner Response
JennyCK28, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to review the Cedars Hotel. It is good to hear that you had a pleasant stay and I would agree with you about the sticky toffee pudding. I am sorry you had problems with the shower during your stay. Unfortunately we do occasionally have these issues mainly due to the age of the building as you said. later this year we are due to undertake a major building and refurbishment project which will address issues like the plumbing and power . We hope you will consider staying with us again when you visit the area and look forward to seeing you. Kind Regards,
Rating

Tired and dated - but renovation is on the way

18/03/2019 JonRankin, Brighton, United Kingdom

This hotel is the only one IN Stowmarket, so it is a shame it has been allowed to deteriorate to the extent that it is. Our bedroom had a particular odour which was not pleasant, and the entire buildi... more

Rating

Not the best

27/01/2019 runningoutofnames, Suffolk, United Kingdom

Formerly a fairly regular user of the cedars restaurant over the years, nothing super special, but normally good food, reasonable if sometimes erratic service. Recently became a Best western, revised... more

Rating

Fair price for the service provided

03/01/2019 Marykar, France

I had to stay for a night at Stowmarket and leave early next morning. The Cedars Hotel was a fair solution with free car park and a restaurant for dinner. I've got a standard double room somewhere up... more

Owner Response
Michelle198237, Front Office Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Marykar Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I'm sorry to hear that there was no offer to help with the luggage as this is usually a standard for any of the guests who stay with us. We also offer express breakfast so we will be looking to see why it was not offered on this occasion and to ensure that in the future any guests who wish to have breakfast can do so. The hotel is due for a major refurbishment this year and hopefully this will help with the noise that you mentioned within the rooms. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future. Kindest regards