Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Laid back breaks near Loch Lomond.

Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel and Spa offers a truly relaxing retreat within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, in the conservation village of Drymen. Just a few miles north of Glasgow, you'll be almost as close to hustle and bustle as you are the peace and quiet! Our picturesque location on the world famous Highlands Way makes this fabulous hotel a must-stay-in. From the bar to the spa, we'll give you a warm welcome night and day!

Whether you want to get out and about along Scotlands Central Belt, take a day trip to the coast or stay closer to your home-from-home and enjoy our beautiful surroundings, we'll be happy to guide you when it comes to things to do north of the border. Or even the best places to do nothing in if you simply want to relax!

View more

Location

22 Main Street
Drymen
Loch Lomond
G63 0BQ
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6112*
AA

Summary

2016 dinner inclusive rates offer a £22.50 per person à la carte allowance
Bars, Fishing, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Restaurants, Sauna, Squash, Twenty Four Hour Service, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

buchanan-arms-hotel-dining-06-83534

Salmon Leap Restaurant

From local bites to European platters, our newly refurbished contemporary restaurant is tasty in every way!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 18:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
buchanan-arms-hotel-dining-15-83534

The Conservatory

This relaxed restaurant is the perfect place to take time out as you enjoy a delicious dinner, al fresco if you wish.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12:00 - 18:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
buchanan-arms-hotel-leisure-26-83534

The Snug Bar

Aptly named, you'll be as comfortable as can be in our delightful bar. The place really does make you feel like a part of this historic hotel, so join us for a wee dram or two (from a choice of 60!), and enjoy some famous Scottish hospitality.

Opening hours

12:00-00:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Buchanan Castle Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6131 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in Drymen

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £31.50
Trolley hire £12.00
Tuition £80.00
Driving Range £15.00

Strathendrick Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 9
Par: 27
Distance: 0 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in Drymen

Prices

9 holes £5.00
18 holes £10.00

Spa & Leisure

Take your pick from 4 treatment rooms, or sink into serenity in our swimming pool, spa bath, sauna or steam room! However you choose to relax, our new Haven at Buchanan spa will leave you feeling completely content!

buchanan-arms-hotel-leisure-11-83534

Spa facilities

Our 4 rooms are literally a haven for relaxation. With a range of holistic and classic treatments, youll be spoilt rotten for choice.

No. of treatment rooms: 4
Minimum guests (per booking): 1
Maximum guests (per booking): 2

Supervised if under 8. No children under 16 in jacuzzi / sauna / gym

Opening times

Monday: 09:30- 19:00
Tuesday: 09:30- 18:00
Wednesday: 09:30- 18:00
Thursday: 09:30- 19:00
Friday: 09:30- 18:00
Saturday: 09:00- 18:00
Sunday: 10:00- 18:00

Leisure Facilities

  • steam room

  • sauna

  • spa bath

  • Gym

  • Spa treatment rooms

  • Relaxation room

  • 14 metre swimming pool

Gym and swimming pool leisure facilities

Take a dip in our 14 metre swimming pool or push yourself a tad harder in the gym. Either way, you'll feel fantastic on every day of your stay!

buchanan-arms-hotel-leisure-09-83534

Treatments

We offer a range of treatments to make your me time more memorable. From head to toe, we'll take care of you in style:

Type Treatment Time (mins) price (from)
Health & Beauty Facial 60 £50.00
Waxing 10 £12.00
Massage Aromatherapy Massage 55 £46.00
Head Massage 40 £40.00
The Exfoliating Savon Noir Scrub 40 £45.00
The maroccan Signature facial 45 £55.00
The Muscle Melt Massage 60 £60.00
The Sweetness in Bloom ritual fior Mums to be 60 £80.00

Weddings

We've hosted hundreds of weddings here in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Parkand each one has been truly unique. From ceilidhs and discos to string quartets and bands, we'll take care of everything on your special day and night!

buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-02-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-07-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-03-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-05-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-04-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-17-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-21-83534-OPbuchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-26-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-27-83534buchanan-arms-hotel-wedding-events-20-83534

Wedding service and reception venue

Steeped in history, yet full of contemporary character, the Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel and Spa is the ideal place to celebrate the happiest day of your lives. Stylish facilities such as our colourful lighting system combine with good old fashioned hospitality and superb service to ensure the perfect reception, and give you a whole host of memories to treasure.

Catering

A full range of flavours to suit all budgets can be found here in the beautiful village of Dymen. Nothing is impossible, so if you want dipped strawberries, canapes, a full wedding breakfast, themed event, barbecue or buffetjust ask!

Honeymoon Suite

With a choice of two honeymoon suites, you're sure to find your perfect match. Our first is traditional with an ornate, 7ft carved bed, while our second, more contemporary suite offers a super kingsize bed with Chaise-longue and seating area. Whichever you pick, it'll provide the perfect end to the perfect day.

Registrar

Registry office:
Balfron Registry Office
Balfron, Glasgow
01360 440315




Get in touch with Lindsey Haggarty on 01360 660588

For any enquiries please call Lorna Brown or Volker Steinemann on 01360 660588

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type G63 0BQ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M8, J16, 15.00 miles
Nearest train station: Balloch, 8.00 miles
Nearest airport: Glasgow, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (80 spaces)

Address
22 Main Street
Drymen
Loch Lomond
G63 0BQ
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • SECC - Glasgow (15 miles)

  • Hampden Park - Glasgow (20 miles)

  • Rangers FC - Glasgow (15 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Glengoyne Distillery (5 miles)

  • Blairdrummond Safari Park (15 miles)

  • Stirling Castle (17 miles)

  • Falkirk Wheel (30 miles)

  • Maid of the Loch (8 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

buchanan-arms-hotel-meeting-space-01-83534

We're experienced and passionate when it comes to laying on a successful conference, meal or reception here in bonnie Scotland. So, whatever your needs, we'll meet each and every one of them!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Clairinich Suite

Fully air-conditioned, garden access and unobtrusive staff, you and your guests will have plenty of breathing space during your time with us! With its own private bar, the Clairinch is perfect for meals, receptions, seminars and conferences.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Clairinich Suite 200 70 70 70 150
Clairinich 1 65 36 35 30 0
Clairinich 2 65 36 35 30 0
Clairinich 3 40 20 0 0 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 905 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 292
Rating: 4 358
Rating: 3 150
Rating: 2 59
Rating: 1 46
Rating

one night stay

08/02/2016 heleng190777, Lockerbie, United Kingdom

Poor initial impression. Worn carpet on vety creaky staircase. Telephone cables unprofessionally straddled wooden panelling and around doors in corriders. Room was small but comfortable. Bathroom huge... more

Rating

Great staff & food - pity about the cold rooms!

07/02/2016 Gemini911, Bathgate

Initial room above main entrance was so cold we had to be moved. The next room was excellent and a pity we weren't given that one first. All the seating areas were also cold and didn't make for nice... more

Rating

Poor servive

03/02/2016 Michele6668, Helensburgh, United Kingdom

Was here for spa and afternoon tea for my 13 year olds birthday with her friends. The pool area great as was the gentleman who looked after us in pool area. When we went up to have afternoon tea in th... more

Owner Response
BAH_management, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Michele6688, Thank you for your constructive feedback of BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa. After reading your review, I took considerable time and effort interviewing all staff on duty from the day of your visit. My findings are as follows: Your booking was taken by one of our food and beverage supervisors which is clearly legible within our restaurant diary. Prior to your arrival a brief had taken place by our supervisor for all staff to make them aware of your booking as well as the rest of the bookings expected. I have been unable to determine why you had been told they could not find your booking but I continue to investigate this as it is clearly apparent further training is required which will be carried out in the first instance. On the day in question, we had a Wedding Open Day. Both myself and our food and beverage supervisor were here on shift dealing with wedding appointments therefore I have a much clearer understanding of how the day took shape. I understand your frustrations however, write to advise that unfortunately you have been misinformed by the member of staff who told you only 3 members of staff were on duty. There were in fact 6 members of staff and although 90 people were booked in, at the peak of service I counted 57 guests seated which is more than adequate staffing as all 90 guests did not eat at the same time. I do take your points on board, and I am therefore in the process of restructuring the team to ensure that the correct quantity of staff and skill mix is in place to avoid a repetition in the future. After speaking with the member of staff responsible for the comment, I must apologise for the mis-information you were given. I have explained to the member of staff that by freely offering this information it is a fundamental breach of the hotel operational policy which I must accept accountability for and can assure that measures will be put in place so that this does not happen again in the future. In turn this infuriated you as you had been led to believe that the hotel understaffed. Your review does however, bring to light the necessity for a competent skill mix when we have busy days such as these and will re-train employees who are recognised as needing further assistance in the workplace. I cannot however, allow you to believe that the management is at fault as explained to you by a member of our team, when in fact there was more staff on duty than required for the numbers expected that particular day. This matter continues to remain open here at the hotel until I am satisfied that a recurrence by our team will not happen again in the future. Should you wish to visit the us again in order to experience the hotel at its best, please do contact myself or Kitti Kovacs direct where we will be delighted to arrange. Kind regards, Colin Henderson
Rating

Great staff and facilities

03/02/2016 Alasdair B, Uttoxeter, United Kingdom

First visit to the Buchanan Arms and would highly recommend it. Staff were very welcoming and attentive without being overly so. The room was a bit small for two adults and a child, but this was not a... more

Owner Response
BAH_management, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Alasdair B, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave a review of your recent visit. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass your comments to the team. For your next stay, please speak with our reservations team regarding upgrading to one of our superior or master bedrooms. We have various room types and sizes here at the hotel to best accommodate all guest requirements. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Colin Henderson
Rating

Poor service, overbooked, rubbish deal

01/02/2016 Kimberley M,

I visited here last spring for a spa and afternoon tea package which I received as a birthday present in March. Since receiving the voucher I called the spa consistently for weeks, never able to get t... more

Owner Response
BAH_management, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Kimberley M, Thank you for your review of BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa and please accept my apologies for the lack of service you received during your visit last spring. It is important that we maintain a consistent level of customer service, especially within our food and beverage division as this remains a crucial part of the business. It appears however, that on this occassion we let you down. I have recently only joined the hotel in the past 5 months along with our new Head Chef. The entire team are tirelessly working hard on the product to improve the services which we offer and I am delighted to say that the majority of reviews we have received recently both in terms of social media and via third party agents have had the positive result I had hoped for therefore we are taking great steps forward in the year since you last visited. I will also pass your comments to Eric & Debra who own and operate the Haven Spa. Although the Spa is located within our leisure centre facilities, this area remains a completely separate business entity and is not part of the hotel itself. Nevertheless, my comments above does not justify the lack of service received for your birthday treat and I would therefore be grateful if you contact me 01360 660 588 to discuss further. It is my aim to show you the welcome you should have received last year and to allow you to see the changes we have began to make. I look forward to hearing from you. Colin Henderson