03/02/2016 Michele6668, Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Was here for spa and afternoon tea for my 13 year olds birthday with her friends. The pool area great as was the gentleman who looked after us in pool area. When we went up to have afternoon tea in th... more
Was here for spa and afternoon tea for my 13 year olds birthday with her friends. The pool area great as was the gentleman who looked after us in pool area. When we went up to have afternoon tea in the restaurant, they knew nothing of our booking, even though I put in special requirements days before. I have to say shame on the management as we were told by a member of staff that the hotel had 90 people booked in the restaurant that day as it was the last day of the iris on voucher and only 3 members of staff on. They tried to do a good job with what they had but struggled. The management knows how many was booked and let the hotel down but not having enough staff on. I felt I wanted to help them clear tables for them. There was a lot of people not happy. They had to rope in the reception staff as there were no clean tables. Not a first good experience. I would like feedback from someone. My daughter felt let down as I did too less
BAH_management, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Thank you for your constructive feedback of BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa. After reading your review, I took considerable time and effort interviewing all staff on duty from the day of your visit. My findings are as follows:
Your booking was taken by one of our food and beverage supervisors which is clearly legible within our restaurant diary. Prior to your arrival a brief had taken place by our supervisor for all staff to make them aware of your booking as well as the rest of the bookings expected. I have been unable to determine why you had been told they could not find your booking but I continue to investigate this as it is clearly apparent further training is required which will be carried out in the first instance.
On the day in question, we had a Wedding Open Day. Both myself and our food and beverage supervisor were here on shift dealing with wedding appointments therefore I have a much clearer understanding of how the day took shape. I understand your frustrations however, write to advise that unfortunately you have been misinformed by the member of staff who told you only 3 members of staff were on duty. There were in fact 6 members of staff and although 90 people were booked in, at the peak of service I counted 57 guests seated which is more than adequate staffing as all 90 guests did not eat at the same time. I do take your points on board, and I am therefore in the process of restructuring the team to ensure that the correct quantity of staff and skill mix is in place to avoid a repetition in the future. After speaking with the member of staff responsible for the comment, I must apologise for the mis-information you were given. I have explained to the member of staff that by freely offering this information it is a fundamental breach of the hotel operational policy which I must accept accountability for and can assure that measures will be put in place so that this does not happen again in the future. In turn this infuriated you as you had been led to believe that the hotel understaffed. Your review does however, bring to light the necessity for a competent skill mix when we have busy days such as these and will re-train employees who are recognised as needing further assistance in the workplace. I cannot however, allow you to believe that the management is at fault as explained to you by a member of our team, when in fact there was more staff on duty than required for the numbers expected that particular day. This matter continues to remain open here at the hotel until I am satisfied that a recurrence by our team will not happen again in the future.
Should you wish to visit the us again in order to experience the hotel at its best, please do contact myself or Kitti Kovacs direct where we will be delighted to arrange.