Poor service, overbooked, rubbish deal
01/02/2016 Kimberley M,
I visited here last spring for a spa and afternoon tea package which I received as a birthday present in March. Since receiving the voucher I called the spa consistently for weeks, never able to get t... more
I visited here last spring for a spa and afternoon tea package which I received as a birthday present in March. Since receiving the voucher I called the spa consistently for weeks, never able to get through to anyone.
When I eventually got someone via the hotel reception, I still could not get through to the spa. When I got hold of the spa I was told their treatments were all fully booked until after the voucher would expire (1st June). Was told I couldn't use facilities either as the place was full.
Went for the afternoon tea which was booked - receptionist then told me we could have used the facilities which was upsetting as we had brought nothing with us.
The afternoon tea itself was awful with tar - like cold coffee and stale cakes. We also had to wait longer than many other tables on our food, by which time our fizz was finished and coffee like an iced drink. We were ignored by various members of waiting staff with only one woman who was rushed (appeared to be the only capable person) eventually catering to us.
It was the worst customer service experience I have ever had and a terrible waste of a birthday present. I definitely do not recommend vouchers for here. Just awful. less
BAH_management, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Kimberley M,
Thank you for your review of BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa and please accept my apologies for the lack of service you received during your visit last spring.
It is important that we maintain a consistent level of customer service, especially within our food and beverage division as this remains a crucial part of the business. It appears however, that on this occassion we let you down. I have recently only joined the hotel in the past 5 months along with our new Head Chef. The entire team are tirelessly working hard on the product to improve the services which we offer and I am delighted to say that the majority of reviews we have received recently both in terms of social media and via third party agents have had the positive result I had hoped for therefore we are taking great steps forward in the year since you last visited.
I will also pass your comments to Eric & Debra who own and operate the Haven Spa. Although the Spa is located within our leisure centre facilities, this area remains a completely separate business entity and is not part of the hotel itself.
Nevertheless, my comments above does not justify the lack of service received for your birthday treat and I would therefore be grateful if you contact me 01360 660 588 to discuss further. It is my aim to show you the welcome you should have received last year and to allow you to see the changes we have began to make.
I look forward to hearing from you.