• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

History and hospitality near Nottingham.

A former Royal hunting lodge set in the 700-acre Bestwood Country Park, just four miles from the city centre. The current lodge was created in 1863 in the Gothic style. There are 40 large, individually styled bedrooms, many with interesting architectural features. Fine dining is the feature at the elegant Parkside Restaurant and there's casual dining in the Foyer Bar . The hotel features its own Gothic Chapel and six other conference rooms.

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel in Nottingham. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual Best Western quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the Best Western International Quality Award. A global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world, this award shows that we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

View more

Location

Bestwood Country Park
Arnold

Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
NG5 8NE
England
To make a reservation please call 0800 393130 (Freephone). For all other enquiries please call 0115 9203011
AA

Summary

40 large, individually styled bedrooms, some with four-poster beds. Victorian manor house with many unique Gothic features. Situated in 700 scenic acres of Bestwood Country Park. Ornate restaurant with Gothic features serving locally sourced fine British cuisine. Free high speed fibre optic WiFi. Relaxing Foyer Bar serving an informal bar menu.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Nathan Greensmith

bestwood-lodge-hotel-dining-18-83668

The Parkside Restaurant

With its charming decor, unique hand painted ceiling and Gothic arches, the restaurant imbues a warm and elegant atmosphere. Our a la carte menu features sumptuous dishes that change with the season, using fresh locally-sourced ingredients. All accompanied by the magnificent views over the rambling parkland.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
bestwood-lodge-hotel-dining-13-83668

Foyer Bar

The Foyer Bar with its oak panelled walls, vaulted ceiling, Gothic arches offers a less formal menu of freshly prepared seasonal dishes to tempt the palate. There is a fine selection of real ales, lagers, wines and spirits to choose from and in winter, relax in front of the blazing log fire.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Bullwell Forest

The Heathland course is noted for its excellent fairways and fast greens and all year round. The course measures 5,726 yards, par 68 for men and 5,002 yards, par 69 for ladies and is a fair and enjoyable test for any level of golfer. The superb drainage makes play possible for 52 weeks of the year.

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 68
Distance: 5726 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3.00 miles away in Bullwell, Nottingham NG6 9LQ

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £7.50
18 holes £11.00
Tuition £15.00

Mapperley Golf Course

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5895 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3.7 miles away in Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 5LD

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £20.00

Weddings

Our range of suites and function rooms are the perfect settings for an unforgettable reception, whether you need space for over 100 guests, or a small intimate setting. Licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships, we'll host the whole celebration if you need us to, right up to the moment you set off on honeymoon!

bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-06-83668bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-08-83668bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-12-83668bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-13-83668bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-14-83668bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-18-83668

Wedding service and reception venue

Whatever you want to do on the big day, we'll help you organise it. Just use your imagination, and well use our contacts!

Catering

Our packages are created from the most popular dishes, but we can tailor one to suit your individual needs if required. Ask away!

Registrar

Registry office:
Basford Registry Office
Highbury Road, Bulwell, Nottingham
0115 927 1294




Get in touch with Emma Waring on 01159 203011

For any enquiries please call Stephen Atkins-Plant on 0115 9203011

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NG5 8NE

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M1, J26, 4.00 miles
Nearest train station: Bullwell, Nottingham, 3.80 miles
Nearest airport: East Midlands, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (120 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Bestwood Country Park
Arnold
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
NG5 8NE
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Nottingham Forest/Notts County (3.5 miles)

  • National Water Sports Centre (7 miles)

  • Nottingham Race Course (7 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Sherwood Forest (8 miles)

  • Nottingham Castle (5 miles)

  • Caves of Nottingham (5 miles)

  • Clumber Park (7 miles)

  • Newstead Abbey (7 miles)

Shopping

  • Nottingham City Centre (3.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

After a few changes, the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel is proud to be one of Nottingham's premier conference venues. From major presentations and training seminars to intimate interviews, we'll meet your expectations here and then exceed them!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ballroom 200 80 55 65 140
Chapel 70 35 35 40 60
Conservatory 30 20 20 25 40
Sherwood 30 16 15 28 0
Drawing Room 20 12 15 18 0
Boardroom 15 8 8 12 0
Garden Bar 50 35 30 34 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 596 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 140
Rating: 4 147
Rating: 3 136
Rating: 2 102
Rating: 1 71
Rating

Bad Practices and Treating Customers Fairly Is at the Bottom of This Hotels List

11/03/2019 MrFx1,

We have stayed in Best Westerns all over the world and the United Kingdom since 2004 and always been satisfied with the people and establishment. Including Bestwood Notts We stayed hotel at the Best W... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We apologise for the ladybirds in the room, as you mentioned on check out, during your discussions with our General Manager and in your review on TripAdvisor. As we are set in the country park, we do have a slight issue with ladybirds at this time of year, which is managed in a considerate manner. I must apologise for any distress the presence of the ladybirds has caused, and can assure you that your feedback has been taken on board and will be used to improve the experience for future guests. I have spoken with the Receptionist who informs that she apologised on the morning, and mentioned that she would pass on your comments regarding the ladybirds to our Housekeeping Team and for us to address accordingly. If she had been made aware that you was looking at a discount or some kind of refund, which you imply you was, she would have been able to have asked the Duty Manager to discuss this with you that morning. I spoke with her also regarding other points, however she cannot not recall you mentioning the 'rash on your forehead', therefore we are unable to comment on this. Had we be made aware of the ladybirds during your stay we would have happily moved you into a different room - we wouldn't expect you and your partner to have to suffer their presence. I understand you contacted asking for a refund because of the ladybirds in the room. I have spoken with our General Manager who I believe explained that as the presence of ladybirds in the room was beyond our control and not something that could intentionally prevented, we wouldn't be in a position to give you a full refund. As we weren't informed during your stay, and therefore not given an opportunity to rectify this for you, we apologise again for this, however as a gesture, I understand that he offered 30% discount off your next stay. I must apologise if you found the General Manager to be rude, however this was not his intention and on behalf of the hotel I apologise if this was the case. As a hotel, we feel that a 50% refund was sufficient as an apology and recompense for the ladybirds in your bedroom. You are correct in your understanding that all Best Western hotels are independently owned. We thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Rating

Lack of hot water

19/02/2019 malcolmdalley1, Pershore

Arrival was fine. Sat nav didn’t like post code. Speed humps are excessive. Pot holes are an issue. Wouldn’t want to do it in the dark. Beautiful building. Basin taps were loose. Toilet seat was very ... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, following your most recent stay with us. I am disappointed that you found that the bathroom in your bedroom, didn't meet your requirements and therefore this affected your overall stay with us. I have taken all your feedback on board and will address the concerns with the maintenance team & also highlight this to our Head Housekeeper. We do have signs in the rooms to indicate that on some occasions you may need to run the water for a short while, however I apologise if this wasn't visible in your room. I, again, have asked our Housekeeping Team to ensure they check and replace any signage missing, regarding the water, which would inform future guests. In relations to your comments regarding the excessive speed bumps, pot holes and approach to the hotel, this unfortunately is land which belongs to the council, as it is a public highway, therefore unfortunately we have little to with the drive up to the hotel. However, apologies if this affected your initial arrival. I am, however, delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful building in which our hotel is set. Thank you again for your review.
Rating

Excellent ambience but boy it was noisy

18/02/2019 Discover20125617576,

A beautiful hotel set in a fantastic location, tall trees, garden and victorian building dripping with history. Fantastic lobby with classical furniture and a bar, little did I know that it would be o... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our stunning setting and great building set within the country park. I am also happy to read that our lobby/bar area impressed too. I am, however, disappointed to hear that you were kept awake until the early hours due to a number of guests using the bar area. I recall the Duty Manager/Night Porter informing that they did speak with the guests regarding the noise levels in the bar area, however I apologise on behalf of the guests using the bar for the noise they may have caused. I do also note that the Duty Manager/Night Porter did close the bar earlier, at 1.30am, to assist you in the best way possible. I am pleased, however, that the room overall was large with comfy beds and the bathroom was clean.
Rating

Wonderful and relaxing stay

08/02/2019 PhilipCarman, Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom

Have just returned home from a 3 night stay here and couldn't have asked for anything better. The room was a lot bigger than expected, bed ever so comfy and it was so quiet. Breakfast was a buffet bre... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor. Its great to hear from our guests and finding that the experience was a memorable one. I am most delighted to hear that our team here looked after you during your stay and that you was especially impressed with the effectiveness of Simon - I will pass on your feedback to him. We look forward to welcoming you again next year
Rating

Wedding at Bestwood Lodge

04/02/2019 Mae H,

I got married here on 22nd December 2018. Myself and the wedding party stayed the night before the wedding and the night of the wedding. All of our rooms were lovely and I had a complimentary upgrade ... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for you review following your special day. We are most delighted that your wedding with us was memorable, special and everything you wished for. The whole team are privileged to have been a part of your day and would like to wish you every happiness in the future. We also look forward to you revisiting the hotel and keeping us up to date with your life together. I am most pleased that the team here looked after you and happy that you felt that Jodie, the Wedding Coordinator and the Management Team; Stephen, Simon & Tanya, ensured your day ran smoothly. We take pride in every wedding we conduct and are proud when couples revisit the lodge, share their experiences and most importantly add to the romantic history we have embedded in our royal roots. Thank you again for choosing Bestwood Lodge as your venue for your special day. Best Wishes for the future Stephen Operations Manager