• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

History and hospitality near Nottingham.

A former Royal hunting lodge set in the 700-acre Bestwood Country Park, just four miles from the city centre. The current lodge was created in 1863 in the Gothic style. There are 40 large, individually styled bedrooms, many with interesting architectural features. Fine dining is the feature at the elegant Parkside Restaurant and there's casual dining in the Foyer Bar . The hotel features its own Gothic Chapel and six other conference rooms.

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel in Nottingham. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual Best Western quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the Best Western International Quality Award. A global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world, this award shows that we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

View more


Bestwood Country Park

For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 034063


40 large, individually styled bedrooms, some with four-poster beds. Victorian manor house with many unique Gothic features. Situated in 700 scenic acres of Bestwood Country Park. Ornate restaurant with Gothic features serving locally sourced fine British cuisine. Free high speed fibre optic WiFi. Relaxing Foyer Bar serving an informal bar menu.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00


Dining and Bars

Chef Nathan Greensmith

blank image

The Parkside Restaurant

With its charming decor, unique hand painted ceiling and Gothic arches, the restaurant imbues a warm and elegant atmosphere. Our a la carte menu features sumptuous dishes that change with the season, using fresh locally-sourced ingredients. All accompanied by the magnificent views over the rambling parkland.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Foyer Bar

The Foyer Bar with its oak panelled walls, vaulted ceiling, Gothic arches offers a less formal menu of freshly prepared seasonal dishes to tempt the palate. There is a fine selection of real ales, lagers, wines and spirits to choose from and in winter, relax in front of the blazing log fire.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Bullwell Forest

The Heathland course is noted for its excellent fairways and fast greens and all year round. The course measures 5,726 yards, par 68 for men and 5,002 yards, par 69 for ladies and is a fair and enjoyable test for any level of golfer. The superb drainage makes play possible for 52 weeks of the year.

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 68
Distance: 5726 Yards
No handicap required


3.00 miles away in Bullwell, Nottingham NG6 9LQ


Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £7.50
18 holes £11.00
Tuition £15.00

Mapperley Golf Course

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5895 Yards
No handicap required


3.7 miles away in Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 5LD


Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £20.00


Our range of suites and function rooms are the perfect settings for an unforgettable reception, whether you need space for over 100 guests, or a small intimate setting. Licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships, we'll host the whole celebration if you need us to, right up to the moment you set off on honeymoon!

blank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

Whatever you want to do on the big day, we'll help you organise it. Just use your imagination, and well use our contacts!


Our packages are created from the most popular dishes, but we can tailor one to suit your individual needs if required. Ask away!


Registry office:
Basford Registry Office
Highbury Road, Bulwell, Nottingham
0115 927 1294

Get in touch with Emma Waring on 01159 203011

For any enquiries please call Stephen Atkins-Plant on 0115 9203011

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NG5 8NE

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M1, J26, 4.00 miles
Nearest train station: Bullwell, Nottingham, 3.80 miles
Nearest airport: East Midlands, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (120 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Bestwood Country Park

What's nearby?


  • Nottingham Forest/Notts County (3.5 miles)

  • National Water Sports Centre (7 miles)

  • Nottingham Race Course (7 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Sherwood Forest (8 miles)

  • Nottingham Castle (5 miles)

  • Caves of Nottingham (5 miles)

  • Clumber Park (7 miles)

  • Newstead Abbey (7 miles)


  • Nottingham City Centre (3.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

After a few changes, the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel is proud to be one of Nottingham's premier conference venues. From major presentations and training seminars to intimate interviews, we'll meet your expectations here and then exceed them!

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ballroom 200 80 55 65 140
Chapel 70 35 35 40 60
Conservatory 30 20 20 25 40
Sherwood 30 16 15 28 0
Drawing Room 20 12 15 18 0
Boardroom 15 8 8 12 0
Garden Bar 50 35 30 34 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40


TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 619 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 148
Rating: 4 150
Rating: 3 141
Rating: 2 105
Rating: 1 75

I should have slept in my car

16/07/2019 ian7615, Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom

Attitude of the staff almost comical such unwelcoming food disgusting complained staff not interested offered our meal For £20 complained about attitude no one interested then I went upstairs and hear... more


Anniversary Dinner

14/07/2019 deaniobeanio, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Thank you so much for offering us the facilities for our 1st anniversary dinner at Bestwood. Service and atmosphere is excellent as always and the food was superb. Melon starter, salmon and steak ... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for the superb review! I am not only delighted that you chose Bestwood Lodge as your wedding venue, I am also pleased that you chose to return for your wedding anniversary and wasn't disappointed. Thank you for your kind words...all the best for the future.

Disappointing stay

12/07/2019 cjephc660130,

We stayed one night, prior to a family event. The building is impressive and garden and grounds are lovely. However, once away from the main entrance /bar area, the hotel is shabby and dirty. Our 'sup... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you loved our building, garden and grounds; we are very lucky to be set in such a stunning Victorian building, within a country park steeped in history of Royal roots. I am happy to hear that you thought our main entrance and bar area were pleasant. In regards to your room, I am disappointed to hear that you weren't totally satisfied - had this been mentioned to a member of our team, during your stay, we would have done everything within our power to correct any disappointing aspects. In relation to your comment about the stairs, unfortunately, as mentioned when you came to the reception, we are an old Victorian building, which unfortunately is unable to have a lift fitted.

Can’t Open Windows, Noisy

04/07/2019 SillyFizzy, London, United Kingdom

I reluctantly booked to stayed at this hotel because it’s very close to where I needed to go for a business trip. I have had so many bad experiences in Best Western hotels in the UK I tend to try to ... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that although you have bad experiences in other Best Western hotels, you decided to try Bestwood Lodge. As I'm sure you're aware all Best Western hotel s are independently owned and operated, however operate under the BW banner. I am pleased that you loved our grandeur and surroundings. We aim, with our business guests, to keep check in swift and prompt - however I apologise if you felt something was missing. I have spoken with our Reception Team and advised them again of the check in procedures. Thank you for your comments regarding the position of the TV, I have asked out Housekeeper & Maintenance to look at this, as all our TV's should be on a bracket with rotates - thank you for pointing this out to us! I have also asked them to look into the windows and why they do not open. We will now be able to rectify this for other guests. Our breakfast times are 7am until 9.30am (weekdays), however we do offer a continental breakfast earlier than this, should you wish. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your findings.

Car Park RIP OFF - even if you've paid for parking!

02/07/2019 jaykaydoubleyou, Nottingham, United Kingdom

In June I visited the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel - use it all the time - the park is great to walk the dog. I noticed there were new cameras installed and big signs informing people that they ... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that the company who manage our car park incorrectly issued a parking fine, however I am certain that if they were contacted they would have dealt with this accordingly. I have fed you feedback back to the company and am confident that they will look into this further for future guests. Car parking for our guests and those using the hotel to dine, drink or stay with is complimentary, the parking (pay per hour) is for non-hotel users. Thank you again for highlighting your points - I hope this doesn't stop you visiting the hotel in the future