Best Western Premier Collection
  • 7.4 /10 Great
  •  
  • From

Explore Hotel

History and hospitality near Nottingham.

A former Royal hunting lodge set in the 700-acre Bestwood Country Park, just four miles from the city centre. The current lodge was created in 1863 in the Gothic style. There are 40 large, individually styled bedrooms, many with interesting architectural features. Fine dining is the feature at the elegant Parkside Restaurant and there's casual dining in the Foyer Bar . The hotel features its own Gothic Chapel and six other conference rooms.

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel in Nottingham. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual Best Western quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the Best Western International Quality Award. A global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world, this award shows that we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

View more

Location

Bestwood Country Park
Arnold
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
NG5 8NE
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6146*
AA

Summary

40 large, individually styled bedrooms, some with four-poster beds. Victorian manor house with many unique Gothic features. Situated in 700 scenic acres of Bestwood Country Park.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted £20.00 per dog
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Nathan Greensmith

bestwood-lodge-hotel-dining-06-83668

The Parkside Restaurant

With its charming dcor, unique hand painted ceiling and Gothic arches, the restaurant imbues a warm and elegant atmosphere. Our a la carte menu features sumptuous dishes that change with the season, using fresh locally-sourced ingredients. All accompanied by the magnificent views over the rambling parkland.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
bestwood-lodge-hotel-leisure-02-83668

Foyer Bar

The Foyer Bar with its oak panelled walls, vaulted ceiling, Gothic arches offers a less formal menu of freshly prepared seasonal dishes to tempt the palate. There is a fine selection of real ales, lagers, wines and spirits to choose from and in winter, relax in front of the blazing log fire.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Bullwell Forest

The Heathland course is noted for its excellent fairways and fast greens and all year round. The course measures 5,726 yards, par 68 for men and 5,002 yards, par 69 for ladies and is a fair and enjoyable test for any level of golfer. The superb drainage makes play possible for 52 weeks of the year.

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 68
Distance: 5726 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3.00 miles away in Bullwell, Nottingham NG6 9LQ

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £7.50
18 holes £11.00
Tuition £15.00

Mapperley Golf Course

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5895 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3.7 miles away in Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 5LD

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £20.00

Weddings

Our range of suites and function rooms are the perfect settings for an unforgettable reception, whether you need space for over 100 guests, or a small intimate setting. Licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships, we'll host the whole celebration if you need us to, right up to the moment you set off on honeymoon!

bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-04-83668bestwood-lodge-hotel-wedding-events-05-83668-OP

Wedding service and reception venue

Whatever you want to do on the big day, we'll help you organise it. Just use your imagination, and well use our contacts!

Catering

Our packages are created from the most popular dishes, but we can tailor one to suit your individual needs if required. Ask away!

Registrar

Registry office:
Basford Registry Office
Highbury Road, Bulwell, Nottingham
0115 927 1294




Get in touch with Emma Waring on 01159 203011

For any enquiries please call Stephen Atkins-Plant on 0115 9203011

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NG5 8NE

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M1, J26, 4.00 miles
Nearest train station: Bullwell, Nottingham, 3.80 miles
Nearest airport: East Midlands, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (120 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Bestwood Country Park
Arnold
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
NG5 8NE
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Nottingham Forest/Notts County (3.5 miles)

  • National Water Sports Centre (7 miles)

  • Nottingham Race Course (7 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Sherwood Forest (8 miles)

  • Nottingham Castle (5 miles)

  • Caves of Nottingham (5 miles)

  • Clumber Park (7 miles)

  • Newstead Abbey (7 miles)

Shopping

  • Nottingham City Centre (3.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

After a few changes, the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel is proud to be one of Nottingham's premier conference venues. From major presentations and training seminars to intimate interviews, we'll meet your expectations here and then exceed them!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ballroom 200 80 55 65 140
Chapel 70 35 35 40 60
Conservatory 30 20 20 25 40
Sherwood 30 16 15 28 0
Drawing Room 20 12 15 18 0
Boardroom 15 8 8 12 0
Garden Bar 50 35 30 34 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 364 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 85
Rating: 4 105
Rating: 3 84
Rating: 2 59
Rating: 1 31
Rating

Lovely setting

28/04/2016 Trish B,

This is an old country house hotel that would have been magnificent in it's day. However, it is now quite tired and in need of some TLC, but the upkeep must cost a fortune. We stayed one night whils... more

Rating

Work Trip

27/04/2016 Durks65, Herefordshire, United Kingdom

The hotel is in a very nice setting for sure, little bit dated on the outside and a bit tired too, the hotel inside is a little tired in areas too but overall a nice hotel. The bar area is quite nice ... more

Rating

Faulty towers

24/04/2016 Karen C, Newcastle, England, United Kingdom

Attended a family wedding and this place was SO bad it was actually comical. The funniest part is how much they charge for this awful experience. Our room had to have the seat changed as the spindles ... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for leaving your comments. It is disappointing to hear that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, as so many guests stay with us and comment on they're great experiences. We apologise for you needing the chair in your mothers room replacing, however I am happy to hear that our team were prompt in replacing this for you. We have looked at the bed in your room and are unable to find the problem with this, however we have asked the Housekeeping Team to monitor this, and will address immediately. Our Breakfast is a self-service buffet style breakfast, which is served from a Hot Counter, therefore can only apologise if you found the food to be cold. Again, your feedback is vitally important, therefore I have asked our Maintenance Team to look into this for us, as we would want to improve this for future guests, and can only apologise that you found this the case during your stay. As some of the comments weren't mentioned during your stay, we'd like to apologise that your experience wasn't a pleasurable one. We have taken all your feedback onboard and will address the issues raised in the interest of future guests.
Rating

Overnight s

24/04/2016 Paul R,

I have visited this hotel on a regular basis when I used to work in Nottingham. The staff were always very friendly and whilst there is a lack of food menu options I.e. bar menu or restaurant the food... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay(s) at our hotel. We thank you for your comments and are pleased to hear that your experience has been a positive one. We are also happy to hear that, on the odd occasion, when an issue has arisen, our team have been proactive in correcting this for you. We look forward to seeing you soon
Rating

Wedding

23/04/2016 Susan C, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Attending a family wedding , paid extra to upgrade room , paint falling of wall , phone not working etc. This hotel is in need of some serious refurbishment .Breakfast was absolutely awful , food & c... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to hear that your recent stay wasn't great, and will take your feedback onboard to improve the experience of future guests. We have fed back your feedback regarding breakfast to our Head Chef and Kitchen Team, who will use this to improve their standards and service going forward. Thank you again for you comments.