• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

History and hospitality near Nottingham.

A former Royal hunting lodge set in the 700-acre Bestwood Country Park, just four miles from the city centre. The current lodge was created in 1863 in the Gothic style. There are 40 large, individually styled bedrooms, many with interesting architectural features. Fine dining is the feature at the elegant Parkside Restaurant and there's casual dining in the Foyer Bar . The hotel features its own Gothic Chapel and six other conference rooms.

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel in Nottingham. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual Best Western quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the Best Western International Quality Award. A global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world, this award shows that we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

View more


Bestwood Country Park

For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6146*


40 large, individually styled bedrooms, some with four-poster beds. Victorian manor house with many unique Gothic features. Situated in 700 scenic acres of Bestwood Country Park.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted £20.00 per dog
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00


Dining and Bars

Chef Nathan Greensmith


The Parkside Restaurant

With its charming decor, unique hand painted ceiling and Gothic arches, the restaurant imbues a warm and elegant atmosphere. Our a la carte menu features sumptuous dishes that change with the season, using fresh locally-sourced ingredients. All accompanied by the magnificent views over the rambling parkland.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary

Foyer Bar

The Foyer Bar with its oak panelled walls, vaulted ceiling, Gothic arches offers a less formal menu of freshly prepared seasonal dishes to tempt the palate. There is a fine selection of real ales, lagers, wines and spirits to choose from and in winter, relax in front of the blazing log fire.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Bullwell Forest

The Heathland course is noted for its excellent fairways and fast greens and all year round. The course measures 5,726 yards, par 68 for men and 5,002 yards, par 69 for ladies and is a fair and enjoyable test for any level of golfer. The superb drainage makes play possible for 52 weeks of the year.

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 68
Distance: 5726 Yards
No handicap required


3.00 miles away in Bullwell, Nottingham NG6 9LQ


Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £7.50
18 holes £11.00
Tuition £15.00

Mapperley Golf Course

Course information

Course Type: Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5895 Yards
No handicap required


3.7 miles away in Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 5LD


Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £20.00


Our range of suites and function rooms are the perfect settings for an unforgettable reception, whether you need space for over 100 guests, or a small intimate setting. Licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships, we'll host the whole celebration if you need us to, right up to the moment you set off on honeymoon!


Wedding service and reception venue

Whatever you want to do on the big day, we'll help you organise it. Just use your imagination, and well use our contacts!


Our packages are created from the most popular dishes, but we can tailor one to suit your individual needs if required. Ask away!


Registry office:
Basford Registry Office
Highbury Road, Bulwell, Nottingham
0115 927 1294

Get in touch with Emma Waring on 01159 203011

For any enquiries please call Stephen Atkins-Plant on 0115 9203011

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NG5 8NE

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M1, J26, 4.00 miles
Nearest train station: Bullwell, Nottingham, 3.80 miles
Nearest airport: East Midlands, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (120 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Bestwood Country Park

What's nearby?


  • Nottingham Forest/Notts County (3.5 miles)

  • National Water Sports Centre (7 miles)

  • Nottingham Race Course (7 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Sherwood Forest (8 miles)

  • Nottingham Castle (5 miles)

  • Caves of Nottingham (5 miles)

  • Clumber Park (7 miles)

  • Newstead Abbey (7 miles)


  • Nottingham City Centre (3.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

After a few changes, the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel is proud to be one of Nottingham's premier conference venues. From major presentations and training seminars to intimate interviews, we'll meet your expectations here and then exceed them!

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ballroom 200 80 55 65 140
Chapel 70 35 35 40 60
Conservatory 30 20 20 25 40
Sherwood 30 16 15 28 0
Drawing Room 20 12 15 18 0
Boardroom 15 8 8 12 0
Garden Bar 50 35 30 34 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 513 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 111
Rating: 4 135
Rating: 3 121
Rating: 2 90
Rating: 1 57

Great one night stay

16/03/2018 Laura B, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom

Great friendly service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The room was huge and had everything you need. The shower pressure was so lovely you didn't want to get out! The breakfast we p... more


One night

06/03/2018 ,

We came to Nottingham to see Paloma Faith at the Motorpoint Arena. I booked the Bestwood Lodge last minute as we decided not to drive back and have a night away instead. We found the hotel fine, follo... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and for your comments relating to your most recent stay. The road up to the hotel with speed bumps is a public road, therefore, unfortunately we do not have any control over the speed bumps and painting of these, however I am sorry that you found this a nightmare. I am delighted to hear our Reception Team gave you a pleasant check in and that you were directed to your room in a friendly manner - I have passed these comments onto the Reception staff for you. I am also pleased you were impressed with the bar area and our balcony overlooking the foyer lounge bar area. I have passed your comments regarding the room to our housekeeping and maintenance team who will look into this, as we aim to rectify this for future guests. In reference to the housekeeper entering your room, I cannot apologise enough for this, I have spoken with the Head Housekeeper, who will speak to the relevant staff member further. I am delighted to hear that you would stay with us again and enjoy our stunning surroundings. Please contact the hotel direct, prior to booking, and I will personally arrange this return visit for you to ensure your experience is a more pleasant one.

Wedding Reception & general visits

04/03/2018 Gem M, Nottingham

We live near this lodge so often pop by when we go for walks in the woods near it and around the country park. It's set in lovely surroundings. I'll break it into categories. Wedding Reception: We kn... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback following your experience(s) of Bestwood Lodge. It is always great to hear from those who have had a great experience with us and wish to share their comments following a visit. I have passed on your comments to Tanya who is delighted to hear that guests recognise what a 'gem' she is. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

worst two nights in a hotel

04/03/2018 davidalhais, Ipswich, United Kingdom

Our room was freezing cold on arrival, with NO heating in the bathroom, the two small windows were too high to see out of, the décor is old fashioned and damaged, worn out. Fine dining it states in th... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn't to the usual standard which you would expect and I am disappointed that you felt like you had been "punished" for bringing pets with you - this is absolutely no the case. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments and will personally look into the points raised to ensure they are rectified for others guests. Once again, we apologise that you were unhappy with your stay, however thank you for taking the time to feedback this experience to us.

30th birthday

03/03/2018 Tish B,

Stayed here for my sisters 30th birthday, I rang before hand to see if anything could be done for this they had a few ideas but to pricey for what it was so I asked for a ice bucket in the room. the d... more

Owner Response
GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the first room you was allocated wasn't up to the standard you would expect - however I am delighted to hear that our Reception Team were able to move you to a more suitable room. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our stunning bar as much as we do! I apologise that you were unable to get Afternoon Team - I will look into this for you, as this is very unusual. Thank you again for taking the time to review you experience and we hope your sister had a great 30th Birthday