Worst service EVER!
30/08/2018 Canni123, London, United Kingdom
I was highly disappointed by the inadequate service we had received frankly throughout our whole experience with Best Western Atlantic. We initially made contact with the general store manager, in F... more
I was highly disappointed by the inadequate service we had received frankly throughout our whole experience with Best Western Atlantic. We initially made contact with the general store manager, in February via email stating our interesting in booking over 30 rooms (more than half the entire hotel) for our wedding party, including us the bride and groom. Within the same week I called the hotel and was greeted by a single 'hello', I was taken back by such hosting and asked if this was the Best Western hotel I was told 'yes'. I advised I would like to book three rooms and gave my name as a reference as i was told this is what i should do via email correspondence with the manager. The lady explained to me 'she is not allowed' to make this booking and that I would have to wait till Monday for when the manager is in. I raised this as a concern with the manager who apologized on her behalf stating 'they are currently short staffed and the staff member I had spoken to was in experienced and English was not her first language and therefore did not understand what i had asked'. Some weeks after I had asked if an earlier check in could be an option as my wedding was due to start at 3.00pm, I was told again due to having short staff this would not be an option as the cleaning team is small. I felt that despite having booked over half the hotel no compromise was attempted to be reached at all. Closer to the time, once nearly all my guest had booked their rooms and faced difficult communications with staff while trying to book (which i would find myself apologizing for) I revisited the hotel to speak with the manager face to face. I clearly stated my hesitations with how smoothly the day would run given our previous difficulties to which the manager explained she would not be on site the day of our arrival however if my guest 'showed patience' checking in would run smoothly. I felt that attempting to find a healthy balance was impossible at this stage. The manager stated that at breakfast my group booking would be sectioned off in the glass area and I advised her that many of my guest do not eat pork to which she confirmed there was other options available. I had also asked the manager whether cabs could be arranged for my guest to and from the hotel to the wedding venue and was told this was not issue which it later turned out to be.
Our wedding day had fast arrived and some of our guest had attempted to check in before hand. These guest ended up arriving late to our wedding and shared this was due to the slow service they received at the reception from the one staff member there who was struggling to find their bookings despite being provided full names and reference numbers. We later learnt that typos in the way there names were saved onto the system caused confusion for this staff member despite providing reference numbers to which she shared are not of use.
The next morning we learnt that our duplex room had only one coffee capsule and one bottle of water to share between two people. We were hugely disappointing with the choice of breakfast, vegetarian options were not on display but in the kitchen hidden and needed to be asked for. We had asked whether there was any more pastries as the basket was empty even before we was all seated to be told they had ran out and a section was not closed off for our party during breakfast as agreed.
We later learned that a few of our guest had asked for room service to be told this wasn't available, after our guest had used the booklet to show the staff that it clearly states 24 hours room service, the staff replied 'oh you read that, we are short staffed I'm afraid'. Finally, once we had checked out it had come to light that a few items had gone missing from our party, I have emailed the manager twice since and have yet to received a response over a month later. The whole experience was beyond poor and despite the hotels clean and modern interlinear I would never recommend this hotel. I strongly feel that this dampened my wedding experience for both myself and my entire party. Furthermore I feel that as manager, she let down her staff and her guest, this booking was made months in advance and with some more staff members, including herself on site the experience could have been more enjoyable for all involved. less
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review.
Whilst it is your right to write about how you have interpreted your experience with us, my team also encountered many challenges when dealing with you and your party.
We hope and aim to give everyone a positive experience. At times we may fail to achieve our objectives, however I can assure you that the majority of the guests that stay with us have a positive experience and return to our hotel many times which indicates that different types of expectations do exist leading to different experiences.
Whilst my team are here to deal with all sorts of guests, at times is difficult to please when behaviours are beyond what is acceptable and in turn, perhaps my team were not as accommodating as they normally are.
My apologies for not delivering your expectations.
Ricardo Santa Rita / Regional General Manager