Very disappointing stay
18/04/2017 Tasha-Leanne, London, United Kingdom
My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend as we were attending a wedding nearby. Our initial thoughts of the hotel were that it looked like an 'old people’s home' from the outside, a... more
My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend as we were attending a wedding nearby. Our initial thoughts of the hotel were that it looked like an 'old people’s home' from the outside, although not the end of the world.
We were greeted by a grumpy looking receptionist who checked us in and took payment there and then (wishing I had held back payment until departure in hindsight).
My first shocking experience was finding SOMEONE ELSE'S BOXERS!!! Presumably a previous guest’s in the bottom of our wardrobe. We then noticed that our 'King size' bed as advertised was in fact two singles (single beds and single mattresses) pushed together.
I addressed these issues with the reception team who explained all their rooms have 'zip and lock' beds this is standard and they have no other rooms to offer us. On second look, the actual zip and lock part of the bed hadn't even been connected properly so my boyfriend fixed this for us (not his job). There was a minor apology regarding the boxer incident and a member of cleaning staff sheepishly followed me to the room to remove these straight away.
After this great start we had a more thorough look around the room and noticed that it looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for weeks; there were marks on the light switches, cupboards and walls. A carpet tile had been taken up and not put back properly and there were stains on the pillow cases that clearly did not come out in the wash. Just why the hotel is happy to provide guests with stained bedding for their stay is beyond me… The curtains were broken and half hanging down, which would have given the whole car park and high street a view of us getting ready for the wedding/or woken us up very early by daylight shining in, had it not been for my boyfriend who managed to fix them (again not his job!). There was also no iPod dock in the room as stated in the advert for an executive double.
The overall appearance of the room was below average for the amount we paid and I was genuinely upset with the service we received. On check out we were not asked how our stay was, which is (I strongly believe) a standard courteous question that should be asked to all guests when they depart. My only presumption is that the receptionist could not be bothered to hear any more complaints as she knew this is what would be coming.
I would not stay at the Best Western Chelmsford again, nor would I recommend. less
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review
I was very sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your recent stay at the Atlantic Hotel.
We take all our guests comments very seriously indeed, and I was most concerned to hear that the room was not to your expectations. I would like to address a couple of items you mentioned.
Initially when you came to Reception regarding the bed and the items in that had been left in the wardrobe, the Receptionists on duty misheard you, and thought you had said ‘Boxes’ not ‘Boxers’.
Upon the discovery of the items, the Receptionist who was with you was most embarrassed that these items had not been seen/removed by the housekeeping team that day.
We sincerely apologise for this occurrence, and the matter has been addressed with the Head Housekeeper and her team.
We are currently completing a refurbishment program. All our rooms have zip-link beds making them Superking size, which are designed for hotels and usually we get compliments on such.
This offers a very flexible sleeping solution and for this reason they are particularly popular in hotels and guest houses and I am sorry that these were not to your personal liking.
Suffice to say the room you were given was not up to our standards, and we apologise for this.
I know that you have not stayed with us prior, and would like to take the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel.
I would like to invite you for a complimentary stay based on two people staying, with us on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night, Bed & Breakfast within the next six months.
Date is subject to availability. If you wish to take up this offer, simply contact myself when you wish to book.
Ricardo Santa-Rita / Regional General Manager
My direct email address: RSanta-Rita@rose-and-crown.com