We decided for our 2 year anniversary, to go to Milan for a week.
We searched on lastminute.com website for ages, looking at hotels and flights. Eventually, we chose the 4 star Great Western Antares hotel in Milan, based on the pictures and reviews. When we got there, the hotel was not located near many restaurants, shops etc, but it was near a metro which we used a lot. The staff showed us to our room which was old-fashioned and stunk of cigarette smoke. We are both non-smokers so we had to ask for a room change. They swapped the key and gave us another room, however when we got there with our luggage, we found that the room was not ready as it hadn't been cleaned (it was 4pm at this point!)
We decided to leave the hotel and went into the city centre until the evening while our new room was being cleaned. When we got back, it was hot and muggy in the room and we noticed that the air-conditioning wasn't working! We called down to the reception and they sent someone up to fix it. He just about managed to get it working but it was very weak. The unit had also leaked all over the carpet so we had to put towels down as the floor was soaking wet! The small fridge in the room was a waste of time too as nothing in it was cold! We went to bed feeling exhausted and quite disheartened.
At 8am the next morning, we were woken up by loud drilling and banging. I was fuming and phoned reception. They apologised and said they were doing some repairs in the hotel. I told them that it was unacceptable and I wanted to move to another hotel.
The duty manager said they would move us to a higher floor where there would be less noise. So we got moved yet again, this time to the 7th floor. The room was the same old fashioned design as the previous rooms, which was not what we were expecting from the pictures advertised on the website, where the rooms appeared larger and more modern. Again the air-conditioning was very weak and it was unbearable going to sleep as it was so hot in the room. The next morning we told the desk manager about the temperature of the room and when he looked at his computer, he said it had recorded 27.5°c in our room! How is anyone expected to sleep in a room with that temperature? We were unable to change the thermostat as apparently it was controlled by the front desk! The manager could only shrug his shoulders and apologise once again. We were offered a free meal and breakfast in the morning (which was advertisedas being free on the hotel website but not to us as we booked through Last Minute!).
The meal we had in the hotel was poor considering it was meant to be of a 4* standard. I ordered my usual steak which wasn't great, with a few cold boiled potatoes and some cold green beans. My girlfriend is vegetarian and there was a very limited choice for her. She went for a cheese dish which again was pretty poor. During the course of the meal, water dripped from the leaking air-conditioning unit above us, onto my girlfriends arm and head, and onto the French lady next to us in the restaurant. The only positive thing I can comment on was the friendliness of the waiter!
As far as the rooms were concerned, they were old fashioned, dusty, with broken blinds, shocking air conditioning considering it was pretty hot in Milan, and the bar fridge was useless! The bathrooms were clean but there was damage to the wall and black mildew around the bottom of the shower. Additionally, the water was not draining properly so there was a risk of the shower overflowing. The shower itself was tiny. If you were a bigger person, you would have no chance of getting into it! The hairdryer was a joke too! Are these characteristics of a 4* hotel? I think not! Giving it a 3* would be generous!
Then to top off the poor experience, when we handed our key back at the end of our stay, we were told we had to pay a city tax of €60! This had not been mentioned to us before and I didnt see anything on the website stating that that extra cost. All in all, a very bad experience which spoilt our holiday in a beautiful city
stefano p, Direttore at Best Western Antares Hotel Concorde, responded to this review
thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that you did not have a pleasant experience with us and I can assure you I will be personally investigating the matter. Regarding the cigarette smell in the room, I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again. I know our front office team will do everything in their power to assist our guests as best as we can. Unfortunately during your stay, in July, we had some technical problems due to our renovations works, finished at the end of August. So we are really sorry for the inconveniences with the air conditioning and with the noise, we can guarantee you that in a normal situation and period, like now, we don’t have similar troubles.
We take care of the satisfaction of our clients and we have a special attention for the quality and the variety of the products in our breakfast, anyway we will take into account your suggestion, expecially regarding the vegetarian buffet. Let me take the opportunity to say you that we are working on the breakfast service including new products and expanding its variety.
Finally I would like to point out that the city tax is mandatory, it’s applied to all non-city residents staying in Milan by the municipality. According with the law procedure it needs to be paid directly at check-out. We use to inform our clients during check-in and with a dedicated message through the TV Led at the desk.
Our committment to invest in our property will continue after renovations, so we hope to have another opportunity to host you and to show you the changes in the hotel! If you want to discuss direcly please contact me in private, I sincerely hope to find together a point.