Explore Hotel

Hotels in Campbell River are not created equal, and this BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet gives guests a charming environment at a great price.

When searching for hotels in Campbell River, the choice is clear. Were the only Best Western in Campbell River and we offer a deluxe continental breakfast thats always complimentary. Fill up on endless hot eggs and waffles, yogurt and cereals, flaky pastries, fresh fruits, chilled juices and 100 Arabica coffee, thats how mornings are meant to begin.

Other Campbell River motels try to keep up, but weve set the standard in this city. Our waterfront property is breathtaking, and many of our rooms offer a great view. The beauty of British Columbia is right outside your window. Nature lovers delight in the spectacular display and photographers have their work cut out for them.

The John Hart Hydro Electric Dam is a big tourist draw. However, its the unparalleled salmon fishing that keeps guests returning. If youre looking to catch the big one, you just increased your odds at this Campbell River hotel. Explore the local dining options where catch of the day really means something.

We combine the best in service with the best in quality. Youll feel relaxed, pampered and right at home from the moment you arrive. Every staff member is dedicated to making your stay special. Our guests are our top priority and we take hospitality seriously. Enjoy everything this Campbell River hotel has to offer.

Reserve your upcoming vacation at the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet and prepare for some amazing R&R!

Pet-friendly rooms are ground level traditional rooms only. We do NOT have any loft or kitchenette pet-friendly rooms. Enjoy your stay.

View more


462 S Island Highway
Campbell River
British Columbia
V9W 1A5
AAA - 2 Diamond


Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00:00 | 11:00:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type V9W 1A5

Send to Tom Tom

462 S Island Highway
Campbell River
British Columbia
V9W 1A5

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 462 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 99
Rating: 4 187
Rating: 3 119
Rating: 2 36
Rating: 1 21

Excellent Travel Experience

27/09/2016 Rob S, Saskatoon, Canada

With the friendly staff and the stunning location, you will not want to stay anywhere else!! The in house Breakfast is second to none. At home you could not make a better breakfast with a huge, with... more



20/09/2016 John F, Derbyshire, United Kingdom

Room itself was OK, but this hotel is quite tired and dated. Appalling breakfast served on paper plates and plastic cutlery, compounded by a room that is too small to cope with demand. Some rooms are... more

Owner Response
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, we take criticism very seriously to try and improve our hotel and overall service. I am sorry you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel with one particular complaint being our breakfast. Our complimentary continental breakfast has more items then a normal Continental Breakfast so that we can ensure you have a great start to your day with hot items being served as well as your typical continental items such as cereals, toast or bagels. Unfortunately in trying to offer a more then deluxe continental breakfast we do so with limited space and try our best to work around this. Our higher occupancy months occur during summer which give us the added space of our outdoor patio with beautiful ocean view and all guest rooms have a patio or balcony with seating and table for those that want to enjoy breakfast back in their room. We do not have elevators but we have several options for rooms on the ground level or 2nd level that would require no stairs to access with our 2nd level parking. Should stairs be an issue we can certainly provide you with a guest room that would suit this need and some with amazing ocean views! Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate your feedback.

Nice view and room

18/09/2016 Greg P, Calgary, Canada

Room was clean and quiet and the bed is comfortable. There was a great view from the balcony. Morning fog horns were a little interesting but it's not the fault of the hotel. Nice ocean walk right out... more

Owner Response
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review
Thank you for your reply, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as your comfortable bed! The added bonus of a foghorn wakeup call has been a few mornings this past few weeks but so has the site of fog rolling in over the ocean which is nice to watch. Thank you for your comments about our staff, we do try to ensure we provide superior customer service and we appreciate the recognition. Unfortunately there is not much options for close walking distance to other shops or restaurant but Freddie's Pub has a great selection and daily specials to enjoy. Thank you again for your review, we do appreciate it.

What a pity

09/09/2016 Norrie W, Stafford, United Kingdom

The room and facilities in the room were very good, comfortable and relatively quiet. The ocean view from the balcony is stunning and really a bonus. The position of the hotel is on the Island highway... more

Owner Response
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review
Thank you for feedback, I am sorry to hear your frustrations with our toaster! We have looked into this immediately to ensure it is working properly so this is not an issue for further guests. We work our best with the size of our breakfast room, keeping our breakfast open from early to mid-morning so that there is option to avoid the rush times. Our breakfast is quite popular with the extra hot items we offer that go above and beyond your normal complimentary continental breakfast. Thank you again for your feedback, we strive to continue to improve our facility and service.

Island trip

08/09/2016 Bernard R, Toronto, Canada

Very nice hotel with excellent staff and great location. Hotel was recommended to us by friends- we were on a road trip with friends from The Netherlands and they thoroughly enjoyed as well. Would hi... more

Owner Response
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Vancouver Island! We enjoy meeting guests from all over the world and we are happy that we could offer you great accommodations and service during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and thank you for your kind words.