Explore Hotel

With the friendliest staff in Deadwood, this cozy Deadwood, SD hotel provides a convenient location for traveling to the Black Hills, Mt. Rushmore and Sturgis, SD, as well as an exceptional stay.

Nestled in the Black Hills region of South Dakota, this South Dakota Best Western provides affordable and comfortable accommodations, making it the perfect place to stay. Visitors of this Deadwood, SD hotel can experience the breathtaking magnificence of Mount Rushmore, Mickelson Trail, Crazy Horse Memorial, Homestake Gold Mine and Jewel Cave National Monument.

Many visitors of this South Dakota Best Western delight in fishing, hiking and hunting. Others visit during the winter months to snowmobile and ice fishing. Downhill skiing is also nearby at Terry Peak and Mystic Miner. This Deadwood, SD hotel is within several miles of beautiful golf courses, too.

Deadwood is a destination in itself, as the entire town is listed on the National Historic Register. Explore the rich history of this area while taking in the natural wonders when staying at this Deadwood, SD hotel.

The clean, charming rooms at this South Dakota Best Western offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable television with HBO, a coffee maker, a desk and much more. The Hickok House has won numerous awards and is hometown-owned and operated, so guests can rest assured that they will get the cleanliness and great service they come to expect with the Best Western name.

While staying at this Deadwood hotel, guests can also enjoy a business center, cold weather hook-ups, easy access to the Deadwood trolley and free parking. An on-site restaurant, which is also a local favorite, and cocktail lounge are also provided for your convenience at the Hickok House.

For a memorable stay at a hotel in Deadwood, South Dakota with great customer service, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN Hickok House today and save!

View more


137 Charles Street
South Dakota
United States
AAA - 2 Diamond


Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00:00 | 11:00:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type 57732-1304

Send to Tom Tom

137 Charles Street
South Dakota
United States

What's nearby?


  • 3.00 mile(s) from Lead

  • 12.00 mile(s) from Sturgis

  • 15.00 mile(s) from Spearfish

  • 45.00 mile(s) from Rapid City

  • 55.00 mile(s) from Custer

  • 110 mile(s) from Gillette, Wyoming

  • 20.00 mile(s) from Black Hills State University

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 246 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 86
Rating: 4 71
Rating: 3 52
Rating: 2 20
Rating: 1 17

Change of scenery

28/09/2016 Brandi S,

I got sick elsewhere and this is where we relocated to. Mold free (had allergic reaction at last place). Non smoking room but didn't smell that way. Slight burns in curtains only vise able when lig... more


Did not meet expectations

14/09/2016 Kaisereds, Des Plaines, Illinois

My room was dusty, old, small, poorly decorated, and overpriced. Seems like tourist season is over after labor day, but the prices stay inflated. Nothing good to say, heard all the street noises and ... more

Owner Response
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review
We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with us. We want our guests to leave here happy and feeling great about their stay. We clearly failed you. Deadwood is a busy destination year around. We are located just 3/4 of a miles from Main Street. There is trolley service you can use. It does cost $1.00 per person to ride it each time you get on it , if you do not want to walk. There is also several cab companies in town that will be glad to bring you to the hotel for a small fee. We have a full service restaurant on-site that is offers a wonderful breakfast selection. We do feel that a made to order breakfast is the best way to start your day. We do not have fridges or microwaves in our rooms at this time and if this is an important amenity for you I do strongly urge you to make sure the hotel has them available. We have maintenance staff available 24 hours to assist with any heating and cooling issues that could arise. We would have gladly done our best to make your room comfortable for you. I am so sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations but do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Not good

12/09/2016 Cyndy S, Parkville, Missouri

Front desk was nice enough but room was not very clean (bathroom toilet seat was disgusting), parking was tight & the attached restaurant was only fair. Wish we had gone elsewhere, there are probably... more

Owner Response
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review
I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. We are truly embarrassed that your room was not cleaned properly. I can assure you this is being addressed so that it does not happen again in the future.

The breakfast was great... the staff were even better!

05/09/2016 bbrooks4316, Washington DC, District of Columbia

BLUF: Local, Professional, Delicious Stopped in at the local dinner this morning with my family for breakfast. You can tell that it's a local's joint and for good reason. The breakfast was outstandin... more

Owner Response
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review
Thank you for such a warm and wonderful review. It is truly a great feeling when we hear that our guests have the best possible experience with us. We are fortunate to have the staff we do. They all take pride in their jobs and want to make sure our customers leave here happy, full and well rested.

wonderful stay

02/09/2016 Lynda D, lead, United States

We were here to visit family. The staff was very attentive. Room was clean and comfortable. We were able to park in front of our room which was great. We played a bit in the casino and visited with T... more

Owner Response
Scott R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review
Thank you for being our guest. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. We appreciate the wonderful review!