Explore Hotel

Welcome to BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn!

Our Alturas hotel, the BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, puts you in the heart of northern Californias beautiful, mountainous countryside.

Any guest will enjoy first-rate amenities at our attractive, clean, 100 smoke free facility. Cable television is available in every room, featuring flat screen TVs. Meanwhile, there is free high-speed wireless Internet access to keep you connected to everything going on during your travels. We also offer a seasonal outdoor, heated swimming pool for exercise and relaxation right on the grounds of our hotel in Alturas, CA. There is no need to leave the family dog at home, dogs are welcome for a small fee. Last but not least, start each day with our free, expanded continental breakfast in our breakfast room.

Nearby you can find any number of amazing things to do and see in the mountains and forests of our region. The Warner Mountains, a range offering a number of popular summits such as Eagle Peak and Warner Peak, are just a short drive to the east of our northern California hotel. Along with the Modoc National Forest and Modoc National Wildlife Refuge, these beautiful areas offer a wealth of hiking, hunting, fishing and bird-watching options. You can also visit several bodies of water, including the Upper Lakes, for water-based activities.

Guests at our Alturas hotel will also be glad to find shopping, dining and other businesses within easy walking distance. We serve many travelers coming to the area to visit the Bureau of Land Management and the Forest Service, which have facilities nearby. We have on-site business services available to help them get everything done during their stays.

Our Modoc County hotel is also popular among attendees of several local events. Among these are the Fandango Days taking place every Fourth of July and the annual Hot Air Balloon Festival. There is always something interesting happening in Alturas.

Book your visit to the BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, our hotel in Alturas, California and find out what makes us the friendliest lodging option in town! Enjoy your stay.

View more


343 N Main Street
United States
AAA - 2 Diamond


Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00:00 | 11:00:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type 96101-4065

Send to Tom Tom

343 N Main Street
United States

What's nearby?


  • 100 mile(s) from Klamath Falls, Oregon

  • 100 mile(s) from Susanville

  • 148 mile(s) from Redding

  • 168 mile(s) from Reno, Nevada

  • 172 mile(s) from Medford, Oregon

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 168 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 42
Rating: 4 65
Rating: 3 48
Rating: 2 8
Rating: 1 5

Poor Establishment for Business travelers

23/09/2016 Daniel Gene Mr M, Hayward, United States

If you are a business traveler and frequently need to change your plans, don't make a reservation here. They push back if you need change or cancel your reservation. With cancellations, t hey will cha... more

Owner Response
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review
Howdy, Daniel Gene Mr M... I have traveled quite extensively and every hotel with which I have stayed has, like us, a 24-hour advance cancellation policy. It is unfortunate that you didn't cancel your room within the 24-hour window. When we make a reservation, we have take that room out of inventory so as not to disappoint a traveler when they show up expecting the room they booked. When we have to turn away business because we've reserved your room, it is only fair we be compensated. I see that this is your first TripAdvisor review, so it is possible you haven't traveled much. We hope that your future scheduling efforts go much better so this doesn't happen to you again. We wish you the absolute best in the future.


21/09/2016 Sharon S, Washoe Valley

We have used this hotel for a number of years attending a week's car tour. Staff is great, hotel is clean and quiet at night. Breakfast room very small but they told us this time they are going to e... more

Owner Response
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review
Hi, Sharon S... Yes! We're making a lot of updates and thank you for your continued business. It was great having you again this trip and we'll be looking for your return again soon!

Very clean

13/09/2016 Rhonda W, Marysville, California

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. This is our second stay here while visiting family and again we were not disappointed. They offer complimentary breakfast, which we had the first ... more

Owner Response
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review
Hi, Rhonda W... Glad to have you on your recent trip up from Marysville! Your recommendation to other travelers is warmly received and very appreciated. We'll be looking for your return next time you travel by! :-)

Decent p;ace to stay

09/09/2016 762mitziw,

Friendly staff, comfortable beds,older motel showing wear and tear with outside room entry. Not a lot of options in the area, I was glad to find a best western, but I prefer rooms with an inside entry... more

Owner Response
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review
Greetings, 762mitziw... We're stoked to have been your 1st TripAdvisor review. Welcome to the conversation between travelers. We're the oasis between destinations, but I hope you had a chance to check out our little town for shops and restaurants. Hope to have you back every time you travel our way!

Better than sleeping in my car

06/09/2016 Cherdud,

CLEAN: bed and bathroom DIRTY: the carpets, mirror, table (sticky) Internet : limited to one connection per room STAFF: unhelpful and nearly surly This is a small town, not near much of anything and n... more

Owner Response
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, responded to this review
Greetings, Cherdud... Gosh, we were taken aback by your review. Our staff and management are completely dedicated to your rest and comfort. Cleanliness is a huge part of each guest experience and we spare no effort in making sure you have a stellar stay. A quick call to our front desk will bring remedy to anything that a guest finds not to their liking. We wish we could have heard from you while you were here. As for the WiFi, you can have as many log on credentials as you need for each person in your room. We have to limit our WiFi so that only our guests can access it; otherwise, bandwidth will decrease if the general public is accessing it at the same time. We wish you well on all your travels.